New Mexico’s graduation requirements—necessary for students to earn a Diploma of Excellence—provide students with strong preparation for college and career readiness. Currently, far too many students drop out or graduate from high school without the knowledge and skills required for success in the 21st century workplace and/or post-secondary education, closing doors, and limiting future options.
Dropping out of high school is no longer a viable option. High school dropouts in New Mexico face a 13 percent unemployment rate and earn an average annual income of $11,426. Nearly every good job requires some certification, license, apprenticeship, associate’s degree, or other advanced credential. Visit an Education Week article about lifetime income based on college major.
- Statute NMSA 184.108.40.206.: Graduation Requirements
- Statute NMSA 22-2C-4: Statewide Assessment and Accountability System
Course and Assessment Requirements
- Graduation Course Requirements for Students in the Graduating Classes of 2012-2019
- The chart below shows information on graduation course and assessment requirements for the upcoming New Mexico graduating classes.
|Graduating Class Year||Graduation Checklist||Assessment Requirements|
|2021||2021 Graduation Checklist||2021 Assessment Requirements|
|2020||2020 Graduation Checklist||2020 Assessment Requirements|
|2019||2019 Graduation Checklist||2019 Assessment Requirements|
|2018||2018 Graduation Checklist||2018 Assessment Requirements|
|2017||2017 Graduation Checklist||2017 Assessment Requirements|
For years that are not available, please contact Maggie Morrow, Deputy Director, College and Career Readiness Bureau: 505-827-6420.