Skip to Content

Language Arts

Language Arts 2018-01-03T15:47:26+00:00

20     Language Arts

Language Arts: includes poetry, theatre, rhetoric, literature, writing, communication, composition, drama, English grammar, speech, journalism, English linguistics, and reading, English as a second language, public speaking, and handwriting.


Middle Level grades 5-9 license

Click here for CKA: Middle Level Language Arts Exam


Secondary (7-12) and Specialty (Pre K-12) license

Click here for CKA: Language Arts Exam



  • Beginning teachers adding the endorsement to an initial license must satisfy the requirements for the license which include 24-36 semester hours in language arts and pass the Content Knowledge Assessment (CKA) in Language Arts.

  • Teachers seeking to add the endorsement to an existing NM teaching license of any level can either:

    • Pass the CKA in Language Arts; predecessor or comparable exam; or
    • Earn 24-36 semester hours of credit in language arts (12 of the hours must be upper division credit if adding the endorsement to a secondary or pre k-12 specialty license); or

    • Be certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards in language arts.



Language Arts NMAC
Page last updated January 3, 2018