Skip to Content

NMPED Family Cabinet

NMPED Family Cabinet 2018-01-03T13:17:40+00:00

NMPED Family Cabinet Logo

The New Mexico Public Education Department (NMPED) is proud to announce the new NMPED Family Cabinet. Over 70 applications were received, and 25 people were chosen to be a part of the inaugural NMPED Family Cabinet. The kick-off working session was on Saturday, March 4, 2017.

What is the NMPED Family Cabinet?

The NMPED Family Cabinet is a group of volunteers that will partner with PED to learn about current education initiatives; provide expertise, guidance and insight; share information with their community; and inform the PED about issues impacting New Mexico students.

The NMPED Family Cabinet does not serve a governance function or make policy decisions.

When does the NMPED Family Cabinet Meet?

The Family Cabinet will meet six times between March 2017 and May 2018.

What are the responsibilities of the NMPED Family Cabinet?

  • The cabinet will participate in six intensive working sessions with NMPED staff, educators, and community partners.
  • In addition to the six in-person working sessions, monthly conference calls will help keep members updated and informed.
  • In turn, members will be asked to co-host an information session with the NMPED in their community during their term.

Announcing the Inaugural NMPED Family Cabinet!

The Family Cabinet is composed of parents, foster parents, legal guardians and grandparents of New Mexico public school K-12 students. The NMPED is excited to work with the Family Cabinet to improve communication across the state of New Mexico. The inaugural cabinet includes:

Name District
Alexandra Navarrete Belen
Anna Gilletly Albuquerque
Claudia Rodriguez Gadsden
Dawn Salazar Chama
Erin Middleton Los Alamos
Helen Forte Taos
Jeremy Sment Albuquerque
Jessica Jara Deming
Joaquina DeLara Roswell
Jodi Edens-Crocker Silver City
Karmela Martinez Los Alamos
Kelly Howe Rio Rancho
Kelsey Ragsdale Roswell
Marie Salas Cimarron
MaryBeth Weeks Rio Rancho
Megan Perkins Santa Fe
Michael Pino Sr. Grants
Misti Oracion Albuquerque
Noelle Bartl Portales
Roiba Sanchez Pojoaque
R. Dean Beck Farmington
Sarah McKinney Albuquerque
Sharmila Goradia Albuquerque
Songtree Pioche Bloomfield
Toni Jacquez Gadsden
Page last updated January 3, 2018