Skip to Content
SBA 2018-03-23T10:06:49+00:00

Standards Based Assessment

SBA with red zia symbol


On an annual basis, New Mexico determines student proficiency in science through the Standards-Based Assessment (SBA). The SBA has been in place since 2005 and currently assesses students in grades 4, 7 and 11. The SBA also assesses Spanish Reading for students eligible to test in Spanish.

In 2014-2015, the state implemented a new set of assessments aligned to the Common Core State Standards. These assessments are developed through New Mexico’s Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Career(PARCC).

For students who have severe cognitive disabilities that cannot complete the SBA, generally comprising about 1% of the student population, there is an alternate assessment available, the New Mexico Alternative Performance Assessment (NMAPA).

Visit the SBA Help Desk for more information about assessments.



Page last updated March 23, 2018