Skip to Content

Hispanic Education Advisory Council

///Hispanic Education Advisory Council
Hispanic Education Advisory Council 2019-06-03T09:01:58-07:00
A. The “Hispanic education advisory council” is created as an advisory council to the secretary. The council shall advise the secretary on matters related to improving public school education for Hispanic students, increasing parent involvement and community engagement in the education of Hispanic students and increasing the number of Hispanic high school graduates who succeed in post-secondary academic, professional or vocational education.
B. The secretary shall appoint no more than twenty-three members to the council who are knowledgeable about and interested in the education of Hispanic students, including representatives of public schools; post-secondary education and teacher preparation programs; parents; Hispanic cultural, community and business organizations; other community and business organizations; and other interested persons. The secretary shall give due regard to geographic representation. Members shall serve at the pleasure of the secretary.
C. The council shall elect a chairperson and such other officers as it deems necessary.
D. The council shall meet as necessary, but at least twice each year.
E. The council shall advise the secretary on matters related to Hispanic education in New Mexico.
F. Members of the council shall not receive per diem and mileage or other compensation for their services.
Hispanic Advisory Council Member Email Address
Amanda Aragon (Co-Chair) amanda.aragon@nmkidscan.org
Teresa Brito-Asenap tbrito.asenap@gmail.com
Michael Chávez michael.chavez@demingps.org
David Dominguez David@1017theteam.com
Yvonne Garcia garcia_y@mac.com
Jennifer Gomez-Chavez jengomez@unm.edu
Patricia Jiménez-Latham, EdD (Chair) palatham@nmhu.edu
Diane Leon dleon@questa.k12.nm.us
Julia Rosa López-Emslie, PhD emsliej@juno.com
Rose Marie A. Lopez rlopez@lcps.net
Patricia MacGregor-Mendoza, PhD pmacgreg@nmsu.edu
Ron Martinez ronmartinez@nmhu.edu
Roy B. Martinez roybmartinez@gmail.com
Rick Miera rbmiera@comcast.net
Hope Morales mailto:hmorales@teachplus.org
Ivonne Orozco orozco.ivonne91@gmail.com
Esther Rivera chefesther@comcast.net
Sandra Rodriguez, PhD crodriguez122@comcast.net
David Rogers david@dlenm.org
Alex O. Romero Alex@ahcnm.org
Lawrence Roybal lroybal@unm.edu
Seth Saavedra (Secretary) sasnnm@gmail.com
Page last updated June 3, 2019