
 

 

 
 

TRANSFER OF RIGHTS FACT SHEET 
 
What does the law say about the transfer of parental rights to their child at age 
18?  According to 6.31.2.13(K) of the New Mexico Administrative Code (NMAC): 
 
           A person’s age of majority begins on the first instant of his or her 18th birthday  
           and a person who has reached the age of majority is an adult for all purposes 
           not otherwise limited by state law.  A guardianship proceeding under the probate  
           code is the only way an adult in New Mexico can legally be determined to be  
           incompetent and have the right to make his or her own decisions taken away.   
           Public agencies and their Individualized Education Program ( IEP) teams are not            
           empowered to make such determinations under New Mexico law. 

 
           A child, 14 or older, and his or her parents must be notified of the rights that will  
           transfer to the child at age 18, and this must be documented in the child’s 
           (IEP) annually until the child reaches the age of majority (age 18).  Any 
           discussion for obtaining guardianship must also be documented in the child’s IEP. 
 

 Questions and Answers Regarding the Transfer of Rights 
 
Who needs to know about the Transfer of Parental Rights?  -  Prior to age 18 years 
of age, both the parents and the child must be notified of the transfer of rights.  In New 
Mexico, the child and the parents need to be notified when the child turns 14 years of 
age. 
 
What does this mean? -  This means that unless the child is incapable of making his or 
her own educational decisions as determined by a court of law, all rights given to parents 
under the Federal law known as the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 
will transfer to the child, including a child who is in a correctional institution. This means 
that the parents are no longer in charge for their child’s education, including participating 
in the development of their child’s IEP.  Parents may still be invited to their child’s IEP as 
long as their child makes the decision to have his/her parents involved.   
 
When does the school have to notify parents? – Each IEP review for a child who is 
14 or older must include a discussion of the rights that will transfer when the child turns 
18, and as appropriate, a discussion of the parent’s plan for obtaining a guardian before 
that time. 
 
Who are the children who may require a Guardian? – Children who may be severely 
compromised and or “incapacitated” and are unable to make decisions regarding their 

http://www.ped.state.nm.us/seo/index.htm


 

education, health and medical options, financial planning, where they will live, etc., may 
need to have an appointed guardian. 
 
What does the Guardianship mean?  - A guardian is usually a family member or 
someone that is appointed by the court.  There are different types of guardianships 
which are determined based on the person’s ability to manage his or her own needs. 
Usually, the courts will want to assign the least restrictive type of guardianship. Be aware 
that parents do not automatically become their adult child’s guardian and IEP 
Teams cannot make determinations regarding guardianship.    
 
Depending on the individual’s needs, the guardian may assume responsibility for: 
             

- attending IEPs; 
            - making daily living decisions for the individual; 
 - making decisions regarding education, employment, etc. 
 - coordinating and monitoring professional and other services needed; and 
 - making financial, legal, and medical decisions. 
 
Where can I get more information on Guardianship? -  Parents may contact the 
following agencies to obtain more information on guardianship: 
 

 

New Mexico Developmental Disabilities    NM Public Education Department 

Planning Council – Office of Guardianship           Special Education Bureau          

810 W. San Mateo Street, Suite C            120 S. Federal Place, Rm. 205               

Santa Fe, NM  87505-4144      Santa Fe, NM  87501 

Phone 1-888-779-6183 or (505) 476-7332  (505) 827-1457 or (505) 954-0001 (fax) 

Website:  www.nmddpc.com    Website:  www.ped.state.nm.us 

  

New Mexico Division of Vocational Rehabilitation  Parents Reaching Out   

435 St. Michael's Drive Building D    1920 B Columbia Dr. SE. 

Santa Fe, NM 87505      Albuquerque, NM 87106 

1-800-224-7005 (Toll free) (505) 954-8500  1-800 524-5176 or (505) 247-0192 

(505) 954-8562 (fax)     (505) 247-1345 (fax) 

       www.parentsreachingout.org 

The ARC of New Mexico  

3655 Carlisle NE      Education of Parents of Indian Children 

Albuquerque, New Mexico 87110    with Special Needs  

Phone:  505-883-4630 or 1-800-358-6493   P.O. Box 1043  

       Bernalillo, NM  87004 

Guardianship HELP Line-Law Access   (505) 404-2070 or 404-2083 (fax) 

Phone:  1-800-340-9771 (help line)   jeanettet@epicsproject.org 
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