
 
NEW MEXICO  

PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT SCHOOL 

TRANSPORTATION BUREAU 
 

SCHOOL BUS DRIVER 
INSTRUCTOR MANUAL 
 
 
 
 
 

 
MANDATORY 

Pre-Service Training 
School Bus Drivers/Activity Drivers 

and Activity Vehicle Drivers 
 



State of New Mexico Public Education Department 
School Bus Driver Pre-Service Training Curriculum 

Instructor Manual Publication # STB 1.3 
May 1, 2014 

 
 

2 
 

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 
 

Introduction          Page 3 
 
Getting Started         Page 4 
 
Training Course Outline        Page 5 
 
Section 1-A  Class Introduction – District/Contractor Policies  

  and Procedures      Page 7 
 
Section 1-B  Overview of Standards for Providing Transportation  
   for Eligible Students 6.41.4 NMAC    Page 9 
 
Section 1-C  CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Procedure   Page 39 
 
Section 1-D  New Mexico School Bus Driver Security Training   
   Program       Page 62 
 
Section 1-E   Safety Equipment, Use of Safety Equipment, and  

Emergency Evacuation Procedures   Page 64 
 
Section 1-F  Mirrors       Page 82 
 
Section 1-G  Reference Point Driving     Page 93 
 
Section 1-H  Passenger Management     Page 116 
 
Section 1-I  Transporting Students with Disabilities   Page 118 
 
Section 1-J  Drug and Alcohol Awareness    Page 136 
 
Section 1-K  Defensive Driving - Coaching the School Bus Driver Page 138 
 
Section 1-L  First Aid/CPR      Page 140 
 
Section 1-M  Guidelines for Providing Behind the Wheel Training 

and Observation Time     Page 142 
 
 
Section 2  Curriculum for Training School Activity Vehicle  

Drivers       Page 152 
 
 
Section 3  School Bus Assistant Training (Alternative Course) Page 174 



State of New Mexico Public Education Department 
School Bus Driver Pre-Service Training Curriculum 

Instructor Manual Publication # STB 1.3 
May 1, 2014 

 
 

3 
 

 

INTRODUCTION 
 

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE SBDI:  
 

� To provide pre-service training to new school bus drivers, activity bus drivers 
and activity vehicle driver’s pursuant to PED regulation 6.41.4.13 NMAC 
relative to Instructional Programs for School Bus Driver’s.  

 
� It is your responsibility to exercise your duties as an SBDI in accordance with 

all state statutes and requirements of the State School Transportation Bureau 
(STB) in order to retain your certification as an SBDI. 

 
SOME QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS FOR SBDI’S: 
 

1. Now that I am an SBDI, will I continue to be required to attend driver in-service 
training sessions in order to retain my certification to drive a school bus? 

 
Yes. You are encouraged to attend workshops or other training sessions that 
will further enhance your knowledge and professional development of issues 
related to school transportation. 

 
2. Is the SBDI the only person who is able to conduct the required 16 hour (8 hour 

per semester) annual driver In-service training sessions? 
 

No. School Districts have the ability to take advantage of any other resources in 
developing topics for driver in-service training sessions. The SBDI IS required to 
conduct all Pre-Service training that is required for drivers who are either being 
certified for the first time, or drivers who have not driven for 2 or more years and 
need to be re-certified. 

 
3. Is the SBDI responsible for approving the in-service training curriculum of 

another trainer or presenter? 
 

No. Each school district has the discretion of deciding what topics they will 
cover for each in-service training session.  

 
4. How often am I required to re-certify as an SBDI?  
 
 The STB will conduct yearly re-certification testing and mandatory refresher 

courses whenever significant changes occur.  You will be notified of these 
courses. 

 
5. If I have a question about any of the regulations, or I am not sure how I should 

present an issue while training, who do I ask for clarification?  
 

If you are in doubt about any issue or regulation related to the SBDI training, you 
should call the STB (505-827-6640) to obtain the correct information.  Do not 
guess. 
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GETTING STARTED: 
 
Materials Needed:  
 
 
Classroom Training: 
 

1. A copy of PED Regulation 6.41.4 NMAC “Standards for Providing 
Transportation for Eligible Students” for each trainee. 

 
2. Copies of handouts for each trainee. 
 
3. Overhead Projector, VCR and TV may be helpful. 

 
 
Hands-On Training: 

 
4. A ball of string is needed to instruct the Reference Point Driving section. 
 
5. 30 traffic cones (These cones will be used in several areas of instruction). 
 
6. Tape measure and grease pencil. 
 
7. Conventional School Bus (65-71 passenger with air brakes). 
 
8. Large parking lot. 
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Training Course Outline 
 

36 Hours of Instruction (Minimum) 
 
 

Section 1   
 
 

1.  CLASS INTRODUCTION – District/Contractor Policies and 
Procedures    (1 Hour of Classroom Instruction) 

 
 

2. OVERVIEW - Standards for Providing Transportation for Eligible 
Students 6.41.4 NMAC                    (2 Hours of Classroom Instruction) 

 
 

3. PRE-TRIP VEHICLE INSPECTION - (CDL)      
     (2 Hours of Classroom/Hands-On Instruction) 

 
 

4. NEW MEXICO SCHOOL BUS DRIVER SECURITY TRAINING 
PROGRAM 

  (2 Hours of Classroom Instruction) 
 
 

5. SAFETY EQUIPTMENT/EMERGENCY EVACUATION PROCEDURES  
 (1 Hour of Classroom/Hands-On Instruction) 

 
 

6. MIRROR Training (2 Hours of Classroom/Hands-On Instruction) 
 
 

7. REFERENCE POINT DRIVING 
  (3 Hours of Classroom/Hands-On Instruction) 

 
 

8. PASSENGER MANAGEMENT (1 Hour of Classroom Instruction) 
 
 

9. STUDENTS with DISABILITIES AWARENESS 
 (1 Hour of Classroom Instruction) 
 
 
 
 



State of New Mexico Public Education Department 
School Bus Driver Pre-Service Training Curriculum 

Instructor Manual Publication # STB 1.3 
May 1, 2014 

 
 

6 
 

 

 
10. DRUG and ALCOHOL AWARENESS 

 (1 Hour of Classroom Instruction) 
 
 
11. DEFENSIVE DRIVING - COACHING THE SCHOOL BUS DRIVER 
 (6 Hours of Classroom Instruction) 
 
 
12. * FIRST AID/CPR   * A state approved course must be completed 

within the first 60 calendar days of employment 
 (6 Hours of Classroom/Hands-on Instruction) 

 
 
13. BEHIND THE WHEEL TRAINING/OBSERVATION TIME 

 
A. 6 Hours of Behind the Wheel Training 

 
� This instruction must be conducted under the supervision of a 

Certified School Bus Driver Instructor (SBDI) with no student 
passengers on board, pursuant to PED regulation 6.41.4.13 NMAC, 
section A 2 (b). 

 
� Instruction must include: Practice of Basic Driving Skills on public 

roadways.   
 

1. Actual/Simulated Railroad Crossing maneuvers/procedures 
 

2. Practice of simulated Student Loading and Unloading 
procedures: 

 
a.) On the traveled portion of roadway  
 
b.) Off the traveled portion of roadway  

 
c.) Loading and Unloading Zones at Schools 

 
B. 2 Hours of Observation Time 

 
� This shall include actual route orientation with a regular licensed 

driver pursuant to PED regulation 6.41.4.13 NMAC, section A 1(c). 
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Classroom Instruction 

 
 
 
 
 

 
SECTION 1-A 

 
Class Introduction 

District/Contractor Policies and Procedures 
 
 

1 Hour of Instruction 
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Classroom Instruction 

 
 
 
 
 

 
SECTION 1-B 

 
Overview of Standards for Providing 

Transportation for Eligible Students 6.41.4 NMAC  
 
 

2.0 Hours of Instruction 
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6.41.4.7 DEFINITIONS 
 

A. Activity Bus Driver – An Individual who meets all state and local criteria to 
drive students on school sponsored activities in a school bus.  

 
B. Activity Driver – An individual who meets all qualifications, licensing 

requirements and local district criteria to drive students on school sponsored 
activities. 

 
C. Bus Route – A designated course regularly traveled by a school bus to pick 

up students and take them to school, or to deliver students from school to 
their homes or designated bus stops that are approved by the local school 
district. Should the number of students on any bus drop below the number of 
ten, it shall be the responsibility of the school district to notify the State 
Transportation Director immediately. 

 
D. Eligible Student  
 

1. Students eligible for transportation service under Federal and State 
Statute or under the Public Education Department’s “Hazardous Walking 
Condition Regulation.” State statute provides that students are eligible 
for transportation services if school bus routes are:  

 
 

(a) One mile one-way for students in grades kindergarten through 6; 
 

(b) One and one-half miles one way for students in grades 7–9, and; 
 

(c) Two miles one-way for students in grades 10–12. 
 

2. Students with special needs are entitled to transportation as defined in 
D.1., or as specified in the definition of “transportation as a related 
service.”  

 
E. Individualized Education Plan (IEP) – A written statement for a student with 

a disability that is developed and implemented in accordance with Federal 
and State Laws and Regulations regarding individuals with disabilities and 
with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, IDEA (Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act) and ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act). The 
IEP serves as a communication tool between parents and the entire 
educational team and enables them as equal participants to decide 
collectively what the student’s specific needs are, what services shall be 
provided to meet those needs, what the anticipated outcomes may be, and 
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how the student’s progress toward meeting the projected outcomes shall be 
evaluated. 

 
F. Individualized Services – Transportation modifications recommended by the 

IEP committee to provide for the individual needs of students.  
 

G. Least Restrictive Environment (LRE) – To the maximum extent 
appropriate, students with disabilities, including those in public institutions or 
placed or referred by public agencies to private institutions or other care 
facilities, are educated with students who are not disabled within the most 
inclusive environment. Special classes, separate schooling, or other removal 
of students with disabilities shall occur only when the nature or severity of the 
disability is such that education in regular classes or other natural 
environments with the use of supplementary aids and services cannot be 
achieved satisfactorily. 

 
H. On-duty Time – Time related to the driving, servicing, or operation of the 

vehicle, or those duties assigned or necessary that are related to a specific 
activity trip such as staying with the bus for security purposes or assisting with 
supervision of students. 

 
I. School Activity Trip – Shall include only transportation of school groups 

when the activity is school sponsored.  
 

J. School Bus – Any motor vehicle with a rated seating capacity of 10 or more 
occupants operating under the jurisdiction of the Public Education 
Department which is used to transport children, students, or teachers to-and-
from school, or to-and-from a school sponsored activity, as defined in the 
Motor Vehicle Code. (Section 66-1-1.16) 

 
K. School Bus Assistant – An individual employed by a school district or 

private contractor who is assigned to an approved route, who is not a driver, 
to help the driver and students.  

 
L. School Bus Driver – An individual employed by a school district or private 

contractor that has completed all certification and licensing requirements and 
is assigned to drive an approved bus route.  

 
M. School Bus Driver Instructor – Any person certified by the School 

Transportation Bureau to provide behind the wheel pre-service training for 
New Mexico School Bus Driver’s.  

 
N. School District Administrator – An individual designated by a local district 

to be responsible for school transportation services and must oversee the 
administration of the pupil transportation program.  
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O. School Owned Vehicle – A vehicle other than a school bus that is used to 

transport students to planned school sponsored activities. 
 

P. Serious Traffic Offense – Means a conviction of any of the following 
offenses contained in the Motor Vehicle Code [Articles 1 through 8 of Chapter 
66 NMSA 1978]: 

 
(1) speeding in excess of 15 miles above any posted speed limit; 
 
(2) reckless driving; 
 
(3) careless driving; 
 
(4) passing a school bus; 
 
(5) following too closely; 
 
(6) operating a commercial motor vehicle without holding a valid commercial 

driver’s license (CDL) along with any endorsements; 
 
(7) racing on a highway; 
 
(8) homicide or great bodily harm by vehicle; 
 
(9) injury to a pregnant woman; 
 
(10) failing to stop after an accident involving death or personal injury; 
 
(11) operating a vehicle after suspension or revocation of a driver’s license. 

 
Q. Substitute Driver – An individual employed by a school district or private 

contractor to operate a school bus on a regular to-and-from route when the 
assigned school bus driver is absent. This person shall meet all certification 
and licensing requirement of the regular school bus driver. 

 
R. Transportation as a Related Service – Transportation modifications and/or 

supportive services specified in the IEP as required, to assist a student with 
disabilities to benefit from educational services in the least restrictive 
environment. If modifications and/or supportive services are not required, 
transportation is not a related service. When the student’s needs do not 
require modifications, transportation is provided as a regular service if the 
student is eligible.  
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S. Transportation Provider – An individual or business that has entered into a 
binding agreement with the local school board to provide school 
transportation services. 

 
T. Transportation Supervisor – An individual, designated by the district 

superintendent, charter school, or district transportation provider, who has 
responsibility to monitor and/or guide the local school transportation program 
and/or drivers and who is required to make daily observations to detect 
reasonable suspicion for alcohol and/or substance  use. [12-31-98; 6.41.4.7 
NMAC - Rn, 6 NMAC 9.5.3.7 & A, 07-01-2001; A, 11-15-05] 

 
 
6.41.4.9.K ACTIVITY TRIPS – SCHOOL OPERATED VEHICLES 
 

Districts shall use an activity school bus any time the school sponsored activity 
involves more than 18 passengers and would require more than two school-owned 
vehicles to transport students during the same time frame to the same destination. 
If a school district chooses to use school owned vehicles, then the drivers of those 
vehicles are required to meet sections 6.41.4.9 (J) (a, b, c, d); 6.41.4.11 and 
6.41.4.13 of this regulation and shall meet the requirements of the Controlled 
Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing in accordance with 49 CFR Part 382.  

 
 

 
 
6.41.4.11  SCHOOL BUS DRIVERS, SUBSTITUTES, AND BUS 

ASSISTANTS RESPONSIBLITIES  
 

B. Accidents and Emergencies:  The term vehicle is used in this section to 
refer to both a school bus and to school owned vehicles used to transport 
students to and from school and school sponsored activity trips.  
 
(1) Reasons for emergency evacuations 

 
(a) Fire or danger of fire. The vehicle shall be stopped and evacuated 

immediately if any portion is on fire. Passengers shall move a safe 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  The above information is to be passed along to school bus 
drivers for informational purposes only.  For Complete regulations – refer to 
Standard for Providing Transportation for Eligible Students 6.41.4 NMAC. 

 
When providing Pre-Service Training for School Activity Vehicle Drivers: Refer to 
page 152 STB 1.3 entitled “Curriculum for Training School Activity Vehicle 
Drivers” for the information that is to be used for training school staff that will be 
operating school activity vehicles other than School Buses. 
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distance away from the vehicle and remain there until the driver of 
the bus has determined that no danger remains.  

 
(b) Unsafe position. If a vehicle is stopped the driver shall determine 

immediately whether it is safe for passengers to remain in the 
vehicle or to evacuate. The driver shall evacuate if:  

 
(i) The vehicle stops in the path of any train.  
 
(ii) The stopping position of the vehicle is subject to change and 

thus increases the danger to passengers. 
 
(iii) The stopping position of the vehicle is such that there is 

danger of collision.  
 

(2) Responsibilities of the driver:  In the case of any accident involving a 
school bus or a school owned vehicle, the driver’s first responsibility is to 
the safety of the passengers.  In addition, the driver shall:  

 
(a) Stop Immediately. 
 
(b) Maintain control of passengers.  
 
(c) Protect the accident scene.  
 
(d) Remain at the scene of the accident and not move the vehicle.  

 
 

 
 

(e) Render reasonable assistance to any person injured in the 
accident. 

 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Emphasize the following points with regard to this 
section: 

1. Inform the new driver’s that fault/cause cannot be established once the 
vehicles have been moved. DO NOT MOVE UNTIL TOLD TO DO SO BY 
THE INVESTIGATING OFFICER. 

2. Moving the vehicles hinders the accident investigation.  
3. Make sure they understand that their first responsibility is to protect the 

passengers, vehicle and accident scene until law enforcement arrives. 
4. Post-Accident Substance Use test pursuant to Federal Regulation 49 CFR 

part 382.303. 
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(f) Notify police and the school district administrator and if appropriate 
the local transportation provider.  

 
(g) If it is necessary to evacuate passengers, make certain that all 

passengers are in a safe location away from traffic and that they 
are not permitted to leave the scene of the accident on their own.  

 
(h) If appropriate, place reflectors to warn traffic.  
 
(i) Obtain information such as names, license numbers, registration 

numbers, location, time, road and weather conditions, and a listing 
of all passengers including their seating locations.  

 
 

 
 

(j) Make NO admission of liability or assume responsibility for the 
accident.  

 
(k) Comply with local policy and procedure in reporting the accident. 
 
(l) Adhere to any vital emergency medical information provided.  
 
(m) Report all school bus accidents in accordance with local district and 

state accident reporting procedures. 
 

C. Student Safety 
 
(1) The driver and/or assistant shall meet all needs identified in a student’s 

IEP. 
 
(2) The driver shall not permit any passengers to occupy any area in front of 

the passenger seating area while the bus is in motion.  
 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: EMPHASIZE THE IMPORTANCE OF CYA  
    (Covering Your Assets) 
 
DOCUMENT AS MUCH INFORMATION AS POSSIBLE – This will aid the 
driver in recalling information and pertinent facts about the accident when filling 
out the accident reporting form.  
Important items to document include; 
� Police Officer’s Name  
� Weather Conditions and Time of accident  
� Students seating positions at time of accident  
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(3) No vehicle shall carry more than the rated seating capacity. All students 
shall be seated when the bus is in motion.  

 
(4) The driver shall not carry on any unnecessary conversations with 

students while driving.  
 
(5) The driver shall have the authority to assign seats. 
 
(6) The driver shall not permit the transportation of firearms, knives, 

explosives, breakable glass, or other dangerous objects, reptiles, or 
animals, except those animals authorized by an IEP. 

 
(7) Be responsible for the safety and orderly conduct of the passengers on 

their assigned bus route.  
 
(8) Report all serious discipline cases to the school district administrator or 

designee in accordance with the local school board’s policy and in 
compliance with this regulation. 

 
D. Daily Driver Pre-Trip/Post-Trip Requirements:  All school bus drivers are 

required at a minimum to perform the following duties: 
 

(1) Safe and efficient operation of the school bus in accordance with 
Federal, State and local statutes and regulations. 

 
(2) A daily, thorough Pre-Trip operational check of the school bus and 

special equipment, unless completed by other qualified personnel.  A 
documented pre-trip inspection shall be conducted which shall cover at a 
minimum: 

 
(a) Outside the Vehicle:  

 
(i) Wheels, tires, lug bolts and nuts for serviceability.  

 
(ii) All exterior lights for serviceability and operation. 

 
(iii) All glass, mirrors, and windshields should be clean, unbroken, and 

adjusted for the driver.  
 

(iv) Exhaust system for leaks, looseness, etc.  
 

(v) Oil, water, and any other fluid leaks (power steering, power 
brakes, transmission, differential, etc.) 

 
(vi) Service door, emergency exits and buzzers.  
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(vii) Stop arm and signs.  

(viii) Engine compartment for serviceability, battery, belts, wiring, 
etc. And proper oil and water levels.

(ix) Lift system for those vehicles equipped. 

(x) Fuel filler cap.  

(b) Inside the Vehicle:

(i) All gauges, seats, and interior lights.

(ii) Horn and windshield wipers.  

(iii) Emergency equipment (i.e.; First Aid kit, fire extinguisher, 
reflectors and body fluid clean up kit). 

(iv) Emergency exits and buzzers. 

(v) Parking brake and service brake.  

(vi) Interior mirror.  

(vii) Cleanliness of vehicle.  

(viii) Heaters and defrosters. 

(3) All activity vehicle drivers are required to perform at a minimum, the 
following duties:

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Emphasize to drivers the importance of making sure that 
all seat cushion bottoms are properly fastened, secure and not loose.  Improperly 
fastened or loose seat cushions could cause serious injury or death in the event of a 
collision.  Loose seat cushions compromise the safety factor achieved by 
compartmentalization.  Pursuant to the School Bus Inspection Guide, section 20.00,  
“Seat cushions not securely fastened…with positive fastening devices” is listed as 
OUT-OF-SERVICE. 
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(a) Safe and efficient operation of the school vehicle in accordance 
with Federal, State and local statutes, regulations and local board 
policies. 
 

(b) A daily, thorough pre-trip operational check of the school vehicle 
and equipment, unless completed by other qualified personnel. A 
documented pre-trip inspection shall be conducted which shall 
cover at a minimum:  
 
(i) Wheels, tires, lug bolts and nuts for serviceability.  
 
(ii) All exterior lights for serviceability and operation.  
 
(iii) All glass, mirrors, and windshields should be clean, unbroken, 

and adjusted for the driver. 
 
(iv) Exhaust system for leaks, looseness, etc.  
 
(v) Oil, water and any other fluid leaks (power steering, power 

brakes, transmission, differential, etc.).  
 
(vi) Engine compartment for serviceability, battery, belts, wiring, 

etc.  Also proper Oil and Water levels.  
 
(vii) Fuel filler cap.  
 
(viii) All gauges, seats and interior lights.  
 
(ix) Horn and Windshield wipers.  
 
(x) Emergency Equipment (ie.; First Aid kit, fire extinguisher, 

reflectors and body fluid clean-up kit if equipped).  
 
(xi) Parking brake and service brake.  
 
(xii) Interior mirror.  

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Be sure to clarify the definition between Activity School 
Bus Drivers and Activity Vehicle Drivers. Cover this section with School Bus 
Drivers so that they are familiar with the regulation for Activity Vehicles, in the 
event they are ever required to transport students in these types of vehicles. When 
training Activity Vehicle Drivers, refer to STB publication 1.3, page 152, for the 
required pre-service training curriculum. 
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(xiii) Cleanliness of vehicle.  
 
(xiv) Heaters and defrosters. 

 
(4) The driver shall not operate any vehicle/bus that does not meet the pre-

trip inspection requirements. The district shall establish written 
procedures for immediate replacement of vehicle/buses, which fail to 
meet pre/post trip inspection requirements.  

 
(5) The driver shall, as part of each post-trip inspection, ensure that no 

student remains on the vehicle/bus at the conclusion of the trip. 
 
(6) Report in writing on the appropriate forms signed by the driver all faulty 

or improperly functioning equipment to the school district administrator, 
his/her designee, or local transportation provider. 

 
 

 
 

D. Physical Qualifications 
 

(1) Before transporting students, a school bus driver, activity driver*, 
substitute driver and bus assistant are required to have a physical 
examination, renewed every 24 months from the date of the last 
examination or before as specified by a licensed physician. School 
bus drivers, activity school bus drivers and substitute school bus drivers 
are required to use the physical examination form established by the 
department of transportation (DOT). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(2) Additional physical examinations shall be required at any other time at 
the request of the local school district, State Transportation Director, or 
local transportation provider. 

 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  All that is required by the state regulations for a proper 
POST-TRIP inspection is that the driver walk to the back of the vehicle/bus and 
make sure no student passengers are left on board at the end of each trip. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: The term activity driver refers to both activity school bus 
drivers as well as activity vehicle drivers.  Please remember to keep these two 
distinctions and their definitions in your “teaching vocabulary.” 
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(3) All physical examinations shall be conducted by a licensed physician.  
 

(4) Controlled Substance and Tobacco Restrictions.  
 

(a) All school buses shall be alcohol, drug and tobacco free areas. 
 

(b) The driver or the bus assistant shall not use alcoholic beverages, 
illegal substances or legal substances prior to or during duty hours 
which would impair the driver’s ability to drive the school bus or the 
bus assistant’s ability to perform their required duties. 

 
E. School Bus Driver License Requirements 

 
(1) Pursuant to the Motor Vehicle Code, an operator of a school bus shall 

possess a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL), Class B with the 
appropriate endorsements (P & S endorsements). 

 
 

 
 

(2) School bus drivers are required to meet all current Motor Vehicle 
regulations for a license to drive a school bus.  

 
 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Trainees who do not currently possess a CDL License and 
are attending the pre-service training in order to become certified as school bus 
drivers must be made aware of the following: 
� Prior to beginning their Behind-the-wheel training, trainees are required to 

pass all portions of the written CDL test for the Class and endorsements they 
need to receive.  Once this is completed, they will be issued a CDL driving 
Permit allowing them to drive a CDL vehicle (School Bus), with a CDL 
licensed driver. 

 
� As of July 1, 1996, Persons who receive a CDL license for purposes of driving 

a school bus will have a “T” restriction added to their CDL license, which will 
restrict them to ONLY driving a bus. They are NOT licensed to drive any 
other type of Commercial Motor Vehicle. 

 
� Trainees must present a New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division, Vehicle 

Certification Form to the CDL Examiner verifying that they will be driving a 
school bus.  This form must be signed by their Employer. 

 
DO NOT CONDUCT ANY BEHIND-THE-WHEEL INSTRUCTION UNLESS 
THE TRAINEE HAS A VALID CLASS “B” PERMIT IN THEIR POSSESSION. 
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F. Operational Standards for an Initial Driver Applicant 
 

(a) Any person initially applying for full or part time employment with a 
school district or charter school to operate a school bus or a school 
owned activity vehicle used to transport students shall not be eligible to 
operate such a vehicle if he has: 

 
(a) been convicted for driving a vehicle while under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor or drugs (“DWI”) within three (3) years of the date 
of his application;  

 
(b) been convicted for DWI beyond three (3) years from the date of his 

application unless he provides a written verification  from a licensed 
counselor or physician that he has successfully completed an 
alcohol or drug abuse program; 

 
(c) been convicted two (2) or more times for DWI; 
 
(d) had his driver’s license suspended or revoked within the previous 

five years for any serious traffic offense; 
 
(e) been convicted of more than three serious traffic offenses within 

three (3) years since the date of his application; 
 
(f) been convicted of any felony within ten (10) years since the date of 

his application; 
 
(g) a conviction for any violation of the Controlled Substances Act [30-

31-1 to 30-31-25, 30-31-26 to 30-31-28, 30-31-30 to 30-31-40, 
NMSA 1978]; 

 
(h) been convicted of child abuse pursuant to Section 30-6-1, NMSA 

1978; 
 
(i) been convicted of any other criminal offense in which a child was a 

victim as required by the offense. 
 

(2) Any person initially employed or applying for full or part time employment 
with a private entity to operate a school bus to transport public school 
students, or a school owned activity vehicle used to transport public 
school students, shall not be eligible to operate such a vehicle for the 
same reasons listed at Subparagraphs (a) through (i) of Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection F of 6.41.4.11 NMAC. 
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(3) Because they are deemed to have unsupervised access to students at a 
public school, effective January 1, 2006, any person initially employed or 
applying for full or part time employment with a private entity to operate a 
school bus to transport public school students, or a school owned activity 
vehicle used to transport public school students, shall at his own 
expense submit to a fingerprint-based background check in accordance 
with section 22-10A-5, NMSA 1978, provided that: 

 
(a) such background check shall be conducted at the time of that 

individual’s initial employment whether for full or part time to 
operate a school bus to transport public school students or a school 
owned activity vehicle used to transport public school students; 

 
(b) a school district, charter school or transportation provider shall 

maintain an agreement, authorization, waiver and release form, in 
addition to a criminal history affidavit on file for any employee 
employed for full or part time to operate a school bus or a school 
owned activity vehicle. 

 
G. Continuing Standards for Drivers of School Buses or School Activity 

Vehicles 
 

(1) Any individual who currently operates a school bus or a school owned 
activity vehicle used to transport students, shall no longer be eligible to 
operate a school bus or a school owned activity vehicle if after January 
1, 2006, he receives any of the following: 

 
(a) a conviction for driving a vehicle while under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor or drugs; 
 

(b) a suspension or revocation of his driver’s license for any serious traffic 
offense; 

 
(c) convictions for more than three serious traffic offense as defined in 

this rule; 
 

(d) a conviction for any felony; 
 

(e) a conviction for any violation of the Controlled Substances Act [30-
31-1 to 30-31-25, 30-31-26 to 30-31-28, 30-31-30 to 30-31-40, 
NMSA 1978]; 

 
(f) a conviction for child abuse pursuant to Section 30-6-1, NMSA 

1978; 
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(g) a conviction for any other criminal offense in which a child was a 
victim as required by the offense. 

 
(2) The background check requirements set forth at Paragraph (3) of  

Subsection F of 6.41.4.11 NMAC, shall not be imposed on anyone who 
on January 1, 2006, is already engaged in full or part time employment 
to operate a school bus to transport public school students, or a school 
owned activity vehicle used to transport public school students.  This 
paragraph shall not be interpreted as negating or voiding any duly 
adopted school district or charter school policy related to background 
checks of school employees or contractors’ employees. 

[12-31-98; 6.41.4.11 NMAC - Rn, 6 NMAC 9.5.3.11 & A, 07-01-01; A, 11-15-05] 
 
 

6.41.4.12 SCHOOL BUS OPERATIONS AND EQUIPMENT 
 

A. Route Requirements 
 
 

 
 

(1) The driver shall close all doors before the bus is put in motion except 
when crossing railroad tracks. 

 
(2) School buses shall not be driven faster than the posted speed limit.  
 
(3) The driver shall not leave the driver’s seat without stopping the 

engine, setting the park brake, putting the bus in low or reverse 
gear, and removing the keys. If a bus is equipped with a diesel engine 
and/or automatic transmission, the driver shall follow the manufacturer’s 
recommendation for parking in gear.  

 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Be sure to place particular emphasis on bolded portions of 
the following regulations; 

 
On morning routes, a complete stop shall be made at all established school bus 
stops whether students are present or not, unless a parent or guardian, school 
district administrator or transportation provider has notified the driver that the 
student will be absent. The driver shall not wait for students unless they are 
observed making an effort to reach the bus or unless otherwise specified and 
justified in the student’s IEP. The bus shall be brought to a complete stop with the 
park brake activated before taking on or letting off students. The driver shall use 
good judgment and not impede traffic unnecessarily. 
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(4) The driver shall keep the bus clean, well ventilated, and properly heated 
when necessary.  

 
(5) The driver, if traveling in a convoy, shall stay on the same route as the 

lead vehicle and shall maintain proper distance between vehicles. 
 
(6) The driver shall not permit the use of the bus outside regular to-and-from 

transportation or a school-sponsored activity without the approval of the 
school district administrator. 

 
(7) The driver shall obey all traffic laws, ordinances and rules of the road. 

The driver shall not operate the bus in such a manner as to cause on-
board accidents by jerking, stopping suddenly or swerving 
unnecessarily.  

 
(8) Report all hazards, whether potential or existing on the route and all 

causes for failure to operate on schedule to the school district 
administrator or designee. 

 
B. Loading and Unloading on Route 

 
(1) Buses shall be loaded or unloaded at established school bus stops 

only, unless an emergency dictates otherwise. 
 
(2) No school bus stop shall be changed or time schedules altered by the 

school bus driver or contractor without the approval of the school district 
administrator or designee.  

 
(3) Drivers shall not grant permission for a student to load or unload except 

at the student’s regular stop without written approval from the school 
district administrator or designee. 

 
(4) Loading and unloading shall occur, whenever possible, off the 

traveled portion of the roadway and so that students DO NOT have to 
cross the roadway. 

 
(5) When it is impossible for a bus to completely pull off the roadway, the 

driver shall remain on the roadway and use procedures outlined in 
Subsection C. of 6.41.4.12 NMAC. 

 
C. Procedures for Loading or Unloading Students on the TRAVELED 

PORTION of the Roadway 
 

(1) Use rearview mirrors to check traffic. 
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(2) Reduce speed. 
 
(3) Buses shall use the amber flashers in: 

(a) Rural areas – not less than 300 feet, nor more than 1,000 feet in 
rural areas to warn motorists that the bus is about to stop on the 
roadway. 
 

(b) Urban areas – not less than 100 feet, nor more than 300 feet in 
urban areas to warn motorists that the bus is about to stop on the 
roadway. 

 
(4) Bring the bus to a full stop and:  

 
(a) Set the parking brake.  

 
(b) Disengage the gears by shifting to the neutral gear position.  

 
(c) The alternating red flasher lights and stop arm shall be activated 

automatically when the service door is opened after the bus is 
completely stopped. 

 
 

 
 

(5) Check rearview mirrors and make a thorough live sight inspection of all 
traffic lanes to ensure that all required traffic is stopped prior to loading 
or unloading students using the procedures outlined below: 

 
(a) Students required to cross the road shall walk eight to ten feet in 

front of the bus before starting to cross. 
 
(b) The driver shall again check rearview mirrors and all traffic lanes 

to ensure all required traffic is stopped before signaling students 
to proceed.  (See Instructor Note below) 

 
(c) Students shall not cross until they are positioned perpendicular to 

the left front position of the school bus where the driver can see 
them and will not cross until they have checked traffic and the 
driver has indicated it is safe to cross*.  

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  When providing Pre-Service training, it is important to 
teach trainees to apply the parking brake first. Then shift the transmission out of 
gear. This will prevent the bus from inadvertently rolling forward or backward 
when the gears are disengaged. Also instruct the trainees to shift the transmission 
into gear and then release the parking brake. (FIRST ON – LAST OFF) 
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(d) The driver shall check to be sure that all students have crossed 
the roadway safely by using the crossover mirrors and conducting a 
student count. 

 
(6) When all students have completely and safely crossed the roadway or 

are seated in the bus, the alternating RED flashing lights shall be turned 
off and the bus may resume travel. 

 
 

 
 

(7) If a bus is immediately behind or approaching another bus stopped to 
load or unload students, with school bus alternating flashers in 
operation, the bus not unloading or loading students SHALL use 
school bus alternating flashers. 

 
E. Loading and Unloading on Multiple or Divided Roadway 

 
(1) Whenever possible, all loading and unloading shall be done off the 

traveled portion of the roadway.  
 

(2) If stopping on the roadway is necessary, the bus shall stop in the right-
hand or outside traffic lane, using the procedures outlined in 
Subsection C, of 6.41.4.12 NMAC. 

 
(3) When stopped on the roadway, buses shall load or unload in the right 

lane of the roadway. In NO event shall students be loaded or unloaded 
in a designated turn lane or in a lane immediately adjacent to a 
designated turn lane. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTE: When providing instruction on this procedure be sure to 
caution drivers that they should develop a signal* that is understood by both the 
bus driver and students as to when it safe to cross the roadway. Bus Drivers must 
be certain that their passengers understand the meaning of the gesture! 

 
*Caution Drivers that when they are deciding upon a signal, it should not be a 
gesture that could potentially confuse other motorists into thinking that the 
signal or gesture means it is O.K. for them to proceed. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Emphasize that when picking-up students the bus should 
not resume travel until all students are safely seated. 
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(4) On a highway with divided and/or multiple traffic lanes in each direction, 
school buses shall load and unload students ONLY on the side of the 
highway on which they live. 

 
E. Loading and Unloading Students at Schools 

 
(1) The school bus engine must be OFF and the park brake activated 

while students are loading/unloading from school buses. Should the 
driver be required to leave the driver’s seat, the keys shall be removed 
from the ignition switch.  Exception:  School buses with a 
wheelchair lift that meets construction standards requiring a 
vehicle interlock system for school buses built after July 1, 2003. 

 
(2) The driver SHALL NOT back a bus on school grounds unless absolutely 

necessary, and then ONLY with the assistance from a responsible 
individual. 

 
(3) Whenever possible, loading and unloading at schools shall be done on 

school premises:  
 

(a) Away from regular vehicular traffic and playground areas.  
 
(b) All school bus loading zones shall be properly marked by use of 

signs and pavement markings. 
 
(c) The bus loading zone shall be adequately staffed with administrative 

personnel to monitor the loading/unloading of students. 
 

(4) When loading and unloading, it is recommended that buses be parked:  
 

(a) Bumper to bumper (or as close as possible to avoid pupils from 
going between the buses) and in single file.  

 
(b) In loading, buses should be parked prior to dismissal time, if 

possible. 
  
(c) School buses shall be parked into position in the order that they 

arrive at the school. 
  
(d) It is also recommended that the school loading zones be separated 

from general traffic areas whenever possible. 
 

(5) If loading or unloading on the street, the buses shall be stopped parallel 
to the curb, bumper to bumper or as close as possible to avoid pupils 
from going between the buses and single file on the side of the street 
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nearest the school.  Alternating flashers shall not be activated, 
unless the bus is stopped on the traveled portion of the roadway. 

 
F. School Buses Operating on Interstate Highways –  On interstate highways 

school buses shall be operated according to the following procedures:  
 

(1) The bus shall not make any stop except in an emergency,  
 

(a) nor shall any pupil load or unload while the bus is on the 
interstate.  

 
(b) All loading or unloading shall be done at points off the interstate, 

either at an interchange, service, or frontage road. 
 

(2) NO school bus SHALL cross over to the opposite roadway or make any 
other similar maneuver except at interchanges and then only in a 
manner consistent with the proper procedures at any given interchange.  

 
(3) School buses using portions of the interstate shall operate only as 

“express” or “through” buses between two given points.  
 

G. Railroad Crossings 
 

(1) When students are on board, the school bus driver SHALL, BEFORE 
crossing any track or tracks of a railroad: 

 
(a) Activate the four-way hazard flasher lights. (This is to warn 

motorists behind the bus that the bus is about to do something.) 
 

(b) Bring the bus to a full and complete stop not less than 15 feet, or 
more than 50 feet from the rail nearest the front of the bus. 

 
� IF the school bus is required to stop after the school bus has 

crossed the railroad tracks, the rear portion of the school bus 
SHALL NOT be positioned less than 15 feet from the rail 
nearest the bus. 

 
(2) When stopped for a railroad crossing:  
 

(a) The driver SHALL carefully observe traffic and reduce speed in 
advance of the stop.   

 
(b) On multiple lane roadways, ALL stops shall be made in the 

extreme right-hand traffic lane. 
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(3) While completely stopped: (Not less than 15 feet or more than 50 feet) 
 

(a) The driver SHALL fully open the service door.  
 

(b) The driver shall LOOK AND LISTEN in both directions along the 
track or tracks for approaching trains or other vehicles. 

 
(c) The service door SHALL remain open until the rear of the bus 

clears all tracks. 
 
 

 
 

(4) The side window to the driver’s immediate left SHALL be opened, and 
all noisy equipment (radio, fans, etc.) shall be shut off until the bus 
has cleared the railroad crossing. 

 
(5) IF the view in either direction is unclear or is obstructed in any way:  
 

(a) NO portion of the bus shall be moved onto the tracks, until the 
driver is certain that NO TRAIN is approaching. 

 
(b) IN NO INSTANCE SHALL a signal indicating safety be considered 

as conclusive or serve to abrogate this precaution. 
 

NOTE - CALL FOR HELP IF NECESSARY!!!!! 
 

(6) Driver’s SHALL, in every instance, cross in a gear that does not 
necessitate changing gears while traversing the railroad crossing, and 
SHALL NOT under any circumstances shift gears when the bus is 
actually crossing the railroad tracks. 

 
(7) In the event a train has just passed through the crossing, NO BUS 

DRIVER SHALL drive the bus onto the track or tracks until the train has 
sufficiently cleared the crossing and the driver is certain that no other 
train is approaching on an adjacent track. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Three reminder words to pass along to trainees - 
STOP, LOOK AND LISTEN 

 
It is good practice to teach the driver to apply the parking brake if stopped for a 
train at the railroad crossing. This practice helps to avoid becoming “hypnotized” 
by the passing train and thereby reducing the risk of inadvertently “rolling” into 
the moving train. 
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(8) In stopping at any railroad track at which there is in operation flashing 

red lights and/or bell, the driver SHALL NOT PROCEED across the 
track unless by direction from a law enforcement officer or railroad 
personnel.  

 
 

 
 

(9) If a stop and go traffic light controls the movement of traffic at the 
railroad crossing, the driver need not stop unless the traffic light 
indicates to stop.  

 
(10) NO school bus driver shall drive the bus through, around, or under 

any crossing gate or barrier while the barrier is closed or in the 
process of being opened or closed unless instructed to do so by 
the proper authority.  

 
(11) NO part of the bus shall be placed near the tracks until the driver 

knows conclusively that the crossing can be made safely. 
 
(12) When a bus stops adjacent to a railroad track, the driver shall not 

proceed until all passengers are silent. 
 

H. School Bus Alternating Flashers shall Not be Used  
 

(1) When the school bus is completely off the traveled portion of the 
roadway or on school grounds to load or unload students. 

 
(2) At railroad crossings, traffic lights, or at any other time the bus is 

required to stop except to load or unload students on the traveled 
portion the roadway. 

 
(3) NOTE: Pursuant to section 66-1-4. (15N), NMSA, 1978 “roadway” 

means that portion of a highway improved, designed or ordinarily used 
for vehicular traffic, exclusive of berm or shoulder. 

 
I. School Sponsored Activity Trips – The activity driver shall be responsible 

for the vehicle/bus at all times, including its care and operations and has the 
following additional responsibilities:  

 
(1) Compliance with all Federal, State and Local Regulations.  

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: THE DRIVER IS STILL RESPONSIBLE FOR THE SAFE 
MOVEMENT OF THE BUS. 



State of New Mexico Public Education Department 
School Bus Driver Pre-Service Training Curriculum 

Instructor Manual Publication # STB 1.3 
May 1, 2014 

 
 

31 
 

 

 
(2) Completion of a trip ticket approved by the school district administrator 

when one is required. 
 
(3) Assumption of safety responsibilities of all passengers while they are in 

the vehicle/bus.  
 
(4) Obtaining prior approval from the school district administrator or 

designee for any changes in route or itinerary while the activity trip is in 
progress. 

 
(5) Notification to the school district administrator of all emergencies that 

arise.  
 
(6) Maintenance of all records pertinent to the trip, including trip tickets.  
 
(7) Insuring that prior to departure and the return journey, the vehicle/bus is 

clean, completely serviced and inspected, noting the condition in writing 
on the appropriate form and signed by the driver.  

 
(8) Only under exceptional circumstances when it is impractical to unload 

passengers, shall vehicle/buses be fueled while students are on board.  
 
(9) The activity driver shall, upon request, show a properly signed Activity 

Trip Ticket to any State Police Officer, Motor Transportation Officer or 
staff member of the Public Education Department.  

 
J. School Bus Safety Equipment – All school buses used to transport students 

on regular to and from routes and district sponsored activities shall meet New 
Mexico School Bus Construction Standards and the New Mexico School Bus 
Inspection Requirements.  

 
(1) All school bus drivers shall use the seat belt at all times the vehicle 

is in motion. Seat belts are required of students only on buses of Gross 
Vehicle Weight of 10,000 pounds or less, or when specific student needs 
require a seat belt.  

 
(2) Each school bus SHALL carry a first aid kit with contents as specified in 

New Mexico School Bus Construction Standards. 
 
 

 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  For specific information regarding First Aid Kit Contents, 
refer to page 66 of this manual. 
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(3) Each school bus shall be equipped with at least one UL-approved 

pressurized dry-chemical fire extinguisher complete with hose.  
 
 

 
 

(a) The fire extinguisher SHALL have a total rating of 2A10BC or 
greater and meet New Mexico School Bus Construction Standards.  
 

(b) The extinguisher SHALL be kept in the driver’s compartment, fully 
charged and in good working condition. 
 

(c) Each driver SHALL be familiar with operating the fire extinguisher. 
 

(4) Each school bus SHALL be equipped with a minimum of 3 triangular 
reflectors, and the driver SHALL be knowledgeable as to their 
operation and proper placement. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(5) Each driver SHALL use reflectors in the event of prolonged stops on the 

roadway as follows:  
 

(a) One at a distance of approximately 100 feet in front and one 
approximately 100 feet in back of the disabled vehicle in the center 
of the traffic lane occupied by the disabled vehicle. 

 
(b) One at the traffic side of the disabled vehicle, not less than 10 feet 

from the front or rear. 
 

(c) If the vehicle is disabled within 500 feet of a curve, crest of a 
hill or other obstruction to view, the driver SHALL place the 
warning device in that direction to afford ample warning. The 
warning device must in no case be less than 100 feet or more than 
500 feet from the disabled vehicle. 

 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  For specific information regarding Fire Extinguishers 
Refer to pages 68-69 of this manual. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: For specific information regarding proper placement, 
refer to pages 70-73 of this manual. 
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(6) The hazard mode warning lights SHALL be used: 
 

(a) When necessary to stop on the shoulder or the traveled portion 
of the roadway, if the bus is temporarily disabled  
 

(b) Or it is necessary to stop for any reason other than loading and 
unloading operations.  

 
(c) When the speed of the bus is less than one half of the posted 

speed limit. 
 

(7) No item that will block the aisle or exits SHALL be permitted on the bus. 
 

(8) In transporting musical instruments, shop projects or other school 
projects, the following SHALL apply: 

 
(a) No item shall occupy needed seating space. 
 
(b) No item shall be placed in the driver’s compartment. 
 
(c) All items carried by students shall be under their control at all 

times and carried on their laps or between seats. The aisle and 
exits shall not be blocked. 

 
(9) The emergency door and/or windows SHALL NOT be fastened or 

wired in any fashion as to prevent opening from the inside or outside 
while the vehicle is in operation. 

 
(10) Loose items such as tools or brooms, etc. SHALL be securely stored or 

fastened if carried inside the bus. 
 
(11) Trailers SHALL NOT be attached to a school bus at any time. 
 
 

6.41.4.13 INSTRUCTIONAL PROGRAMS FOR SCHOOL BUS 
DRIVERS 

 
A. Certification (Pre-service Training) for First-Time Bus Drivers 
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(1) A School Bus Driver Instructor certified by the State School 

Transportation Director SHALL conduct instruction. 
 
(2) A NEW DRIVER who has NOT been previously employed or certified as 

a school bus driver in New Mexico SHALL be required to successfully 
complete 36 hours of training including instruction on Transportation as a 
Related Service, BEFORE transporting students. 

 
(a) CLASSROOM/HANDS-ON (22 hours total to include at a 

minimum): 
 

(i) District/Contractor Policies and Procedures (1 hour). 
 
(ii) Standard for Providing Transportation Services to Eligible 

Students, PED regulation 6.41.4 NMAC (2 hours). 
 
(iii) Pre-trip Vehicle Inspection (2 hours). 
 
(iv) NM School Bus Driver Security Training (2 hours). 
 
(v) Safety Equipment (1 hour). 
 
(vi) Mirror Adjustment (2 hours). 
 
(vii) Reference Point Driving (3 hours). 
 
(viii) Passenger Management (1 hour). 

 
(ix) Transporting Students with Disabilities (1 hour). 

 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: This regulation must also be applied to drivers who have 
previously driven a school bus in another state and wish to be certified to drive a school 
bus in the State of New Mexico.  
 
� These drivers must be treated as “New Drivers” and must meet the training 

requirements relative to NEW or FIRST TIME DRIVERS. 
 
� Please be sure that these drivers have “P” and “S” endorsements on their (CDL) 

Commercial Drivers License. 
 
� If they have previously taken a nationally recognized First Aid/CPR course, that 

would be recognized as meeting the requirements relative to that portion of the 
training requirement. (PED Regulation 6.41.4.13.2.d NMAC.) 
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(x) Drug and Alcohol Awareness (1 hour). 
 

(xi) Coaching the School Bus Driver (DDC, 6 hours). 
 

(b) BEHIND-THE-WHEEL TRAINING:  6 HOURS 
 
 

 
 

(i) This instruction SHALL be done in the same size and type of 
bus the driver will operate. 

 
(ii) When the driver is expected to operate more than one size 

and type of vehicle, instruction SHALL be given in the 
specific handling characteristics of each vehicle.  

 
(iii) The instruction SHALL be done under the Supervision 

of a school bus driver instructor with no student 
passengers on board. 

 
THE INSTRUCTION SHALL INCLUDE:  

 
(i) Familiarization with the bus and equipment while operating a 

school bus.  
 
(ii) Use of warning and stop lamps and other traffic control 

devices.  
 

(iii) Procedures for loading and unloading students at bus stops.  
 

(iv) Entrance and departure from loading and unloading zones at 
schools.  

 
(v) Railroad Crossing procedures for school buses.  

 
(vi) Actual driving tasks that the driver will experience. 

 
(c) OBSERVATION TIME:  2 HOURS  

 
(i) Observation time includes riding in a school bus with a 

regular licensed school bus driver on a regular route. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Be sure that trainee(s) is fully aware, as well as 
comfortable with the following procedures and regulations BEFORE conducting 
the Behind-the-Wheel Training portion of this course. 
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(ii) OR in observation of other trainees under the supervision of 

a School Bus Driver Instructor.  
 

(iii) This shall also include actual route orientation with a regular 
licensed driver. 

 
(d) COMPLETION OF MINIMUM TRAINING:  

 
Within 60 Calendar Days of Employment, the driver SHALL 
satisfactorily complete an approved First Aid Course, including 
CPR.  (6 Hours Minimum) 

 
B. Training Requirements for School Bus Drivers 

 
(1) A driver who had previous certification and employment experience as a 

school bus driver in New Mexico, but who has not been employed as a 
school bus driver for 2 or more years SHALL take an 8 HOUR refresher 
course to include at a minimum: 

 
(a) Behind-the-Wheel Instruction (2 hours),  
 
(b) Observation time and classroom instruction,  
 
(c) Training on the NM School Bus Driver Security Training  
 
(d) Complete the required 4 hour in-service training per quarter for a 

total 4 – 16 hours of training during the first year of re-employment. 
 

(2) To remain qualified, school bus drivers and/or bus assistants SHALL 
complete a total of:  

 
(a) 8 HOURS in-service training PER semester during the school year 

or 4 hours PER quarter.  
 

(b) In-service training for new drivers should be pro-rated for the 
number of quarters employed during their first year. 

 
Quarters during the year are as follows: 

� January 1 – March 31  
� April 1 – June 30  
� July 1 – September 30  
� October 1 – December 31 
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Drivers or assistants who are disqualified under section B (2) shall 
obtain the required in-service training from the prior semester to re-
qualify. 

 
C. Substitute Bus Drivers – Substitute drivers shall meet all the qualifications, 

training and licensing requirements of the school bus driver. 
 

D. Bus Assistants 
 

(1) A bus assistant SHALL be provided on buses equipped with a wheel 
chair lift, when necessary and/or required by law or regulation.  

 
(2) Bus assistants SHALL complete a course on Providing Transportation 

as a Related Service to Students with Disabilities and an approved First 
Aid/CPR course. 

 
(3) Bus assistants SHALL have a CURRENT First Aid/CPR certification. 
 
(4) Bus assistants SHALL complete 16 hours in-service each year. 

 
E. Qualifications of School Activity Vehicle/Bus Drivers 

 
(1) Activity Bus Drivers: operating a school bus SHALL meet all school 

bus driver qualifications and licensing requirements.  
 

(2) Activity Vehicle Drivers: ARE NOT required to obtain a Commercial 
Driver’s License unless they operate any vehicle that is designed to 
carry ten or more passengers, INCLUDING THE DRIVER. 

 
F. Activity Vehicle Drivers (Coaches, Teachers, etc.):  Activity Vehicle  

Drivers operating a school-owned vehicle for planned* school sponsored 
activities shall comply with the following:  

 
 

 
 

(1) Drivers SHALL be employees of a school district.  
 

(2) Before operating a school owned vehicle, the driver shall comply with the 
requirements of section 6.41.4.9 J (1) (a, b, c).  

 

*INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  The term “PLANNED” does not apply to nurses, 
teachers or other school personnel who need to transport a student home in an 
EMERGENCY. 
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(3) A physical examination in accordance with section 6.41.4.11 D

(4) SHALL meet the requirements of the Controlled Substances and Alcohol 
Use and Testing in accordance with 49 CFR Part 382. 

(5) A new driver who has not been previously employed or certified SHALL
be required to successfully complete a MINIMUM of 12 hours of training. 

(a) CLASSROOM:  4 hours minimum, to include the following: 

 Familiarization with the vehicle and equipment (1 hour 
minimum)

 A review of Standards for Providing Transportation Services to 
Eligible Students (6.41.4 NMAC) 

 New Mexico School Bus Driver Security Training Program 

 District and/or employer safety policies and regulations 

 General motor vehicle operating procedures 

 Passenger management 

(b) ADDITIONAL TRAINING:  Completion of minimum training within
the first year of driving a school owned vehicle, unless 
documentation is provided for previous completion.

(i) Nationally recognized or State approved First Aid Course 
including CPR. (no on-line courses) 

(ii) Nationally recognized or State approved Defensive Driving 
Course.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: An SBDI SHALL conduct the 4-hour classroom instruction 
and the new driver shall have completed this before transporting students. 
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Classroom Instruction

 
 

   

SECTION 1-C

CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Procedure

2-1/2 Hours of Instruction
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INSTRUCTOR OVERVIEW 

Materials Needed:

1. 65–71 passenger Conventional School Bus.  

2. Wheel Chocks.  

Guidelines for Instruction: 

1. This portion of the training is set up for use with a Conventional Type C School 
Bus. If the driver will be driving a Type D bus (pusher or puller), you should still 
conduct the training on a Type C (Conventional) bus, then use a Type D bus to 
illustrate the characteristics particular to Type D buses. 

2. For purposes of maintaining uniformity, you must train new drivers to Pre-Trip in 
the order presented in this manual. 

 Be sure to stress the importance of Seat Cushions being securely 
fastened to seat frames. Unfastened seat cushions compromise the safety 
factor achieved through compartmentalization.

3. The format set forth in this manual for the pre-trip inspection by and large follows 
the format necessary for the CDL Exam.  In some cases, more procedures have 
been added so that the pre-trip taught is in harmony with the pre-trip required of 
school bus drivers pursuant to PED Regulation 6.41.4.11 (C) NMAC.   

4. Stress the importance of conducting a proper and thorough pre-trip inspection to 
reduce the possibility of having a break down on route.

5. The following pages may be reproduced for purposes of providing handouts to 
participants. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: It is suggested that you CHOCK THE REAR WHEELS 
prior to beginning the Pre-Trip Inspection training.
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APPROACH THE FRONT OF THE BUS
Check the following: 

Visible Leaks Engine Oil, Transmission Fluid, Power Steering 
Fluid, Radiator Coolant 

Lights and Reflectors Clean, not broken, cracked or missing lenses or 
light hoods 

Overall Condition of Bus  Bus sits level, not leaning (could indicate 
problems with suspension, low tire) 

   
All Mirrors Securely attached, not broken or cracked 

Crossing Arm (if equipped) Securely attached 

ENGINE COMPARTMENT – SERVICE DOOR SIDE OF THE BUS 
Open hood and check the following: 

Coolant Level  Check: 
CAUTION: DO NOT Remove Radiator Cap if Engine is HOT! 

 Make sure that coolant level shows in the 
sight glass (if equipped). If no sight glass 
remove radiator cap and check level. 

Alternator/Belt Check:
 Alternator belt (identify) and check for signs 

of fraying, loose fibers, cracks and overall 
condition. Should have no more than ½” – ¾” 
of play. 

 Alternator is securely mounted and bracket 
does not have any cracks.

 All wires are securely mounted. 

Shock Absorber Check:
 Securely mounted; no missing bolts, nuts; no 

cracks in the mounting brackets. 
 Not damaged or leaking. 

 Springs Check: 
 No missing, misaligned, shifted, cracked, or 

broken springs; particularly the main spring 
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(this spring extends from eyelet to eyelet and 
supports the rest of the springs). 

 Securely attached to axle with U-Bolts. 
 U-bolts have all nuts present; U-bolts are not 

damaged or cracked. 

 Spring Mounts Check: 
 Securely mounted on all sides.  
 No missing bolts, nuts, or bushings.  
 No cracks in mounting brackets. 
 Spring shackles are present; not missing. 

Hoses/Lines Check:   
 All hydraulic/air hoses/lines are not leaking, 

cracked, worn, or frayed.
 All couplings are secure and not leaking.  

 Brake Chamber Check: 
 Securely mounted.  
 No dents or air leaks.  
 No loose or missing clamps. 

Slack Adjusters & Pushrods Check: 
 Securely mounted. 
 No broken, loose, damaged or missing parts. 
 Not more than 1” of movement. 

 Brake Drum Check:
 No visible signs of contaminants (seeping oil 

or grease). 
 No visible cracks, dents, or holes. 

 Brake Linings Check:  
 No dangerously thin linings.  
 No missing/broken pieces of lining.  
 No signs of contamination (such as oil) which 

could render braking ineffective on that side.

Tire (I–C–D)  Check: 
Inflation

 Proper way to check inflation is with a tire 
gauge. 
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Condition
 No cuts on the tread or sidewall.  
 No bulges or worn spots. 
 No exposed fabric (ply cord).  
 Front tire is NOT recapped or re-grooved.
 Valve cap & stem is present and not 

damaged. 
Depth of tread 

 Tread depth is not less than 4/32”. 
 Proper way to check is with a depth gauge.  

 Rim Check: 
 No repair welds. 
 Not bent, cracked or damaged.  
 No rust trails (may indicate a rim is loose on 

the wheel). 

 Lug Nuts Check:
 All lug nuts are present and match.  
 All studs are present; not cracked or broken. 
 All lug nuts are tight (rings on the rim – 

“halos” or trails – would indicate a lug nut 
may be loose). 

 No signs of distorted holes (elongation 
indicates wheel ran with lug nuts loose for a 
period of time). 

 Hub Oil Seal Check:
 Housing is intact; not cracked or broken.
 Oil is at proper level in sight glass (if 

equipped with self-oiling hubs).
 No signs of excessive oil/grease seepage 

(indicates a defective seal).

ENGINE COMPARTMENT – DRIVER’S SIDE OF THE BUS
 Engine Oil Check: 

 Indicates the location of the dipstick and 
knows how to check. 

 Knows where to add oil if needed. 

 Power Steering Fluid Check:  
 Indicates the location of the dipstick and 

knows how to check.
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 Checks that hose leading from reservoir to 
power steering pump is secure and not 
cracked or leaking. 

 Power Steering Belt Check: 
 Identify and check for cracks, fraying and 

loose fibers.  
 No more than ½” - ¾” of play. 

 Water Pump/Belt Check: 
 Locate and identify pump/belt. 
 Securely mounted. 
 Check for leaks around pump.  
 Check belt for cracks, fraying, and loose 

fibers (overall condition). 
 No more than ½” - ¾” of play in belt. 

Air Compressor/Belt Check:  
 Identify air compressor/belt (unless gear 

driven).
 Securely mounted. 
 No cracked, broken, or loose pulley.
 Identify oil return line and check for any signs 

of leaks.
 Check air lines that are connected to the 

compressor for signs of damage; no kinks or 
audible air loss; tight and proper connections. 

 Check belts for cracks, fraying, and loose 
fibers (overall condition). 

 No more than ½” - ¾” of play in belt. 

Steering Linkage  Check: 
 Steering column linkage (U joints).  
 Drag link, pitman arm, ball joints for 

looseness and signs of wear, missing 
components (nuts, bolts, cotter pins). 

 Tie Rod ends. 
 Ball joints should only have rotational 

movement. Side to side movement indicates 
wear.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Always identify the type of belts or identify as gear driven!
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Steering Box/Hoses Check:  
 Securely mounted; all bolts are present and 

mounting bracket is not cracked.
 Check hoses for any fluid leaks; connections 

are tight and secure. 

Shock Absorber Check:  
 Securely mounted; no missing bolts, nuts; no 

cracks in the mounting brackets. 
 Not damaged or leaking. 

 Springs Check: 
 No missing, misaligned, shifted, cracked, or 

broken springs; particularly the main spring 
(this spring extends from eyelet to eyelet and 
supports the rest of the springs). 

 Securely attached to axle with U-Bolts. 
 U-bolts have all nuts present; U-bolts are not 

damaged or cracked. 

 Spring Mounts Check: 
 Securely mounted on all sides.  
 No missing bolts, nuts, or bushings.  
 No cracks in mounting brackets. 
 Spring shackles are present; not missing. 

Hoses/Lines Check:  
 All hydraulic/air hoses/lines are not leaking, 

cracked, worn, or frayed.
 All couplings are secure and not leaking.  

 Brake Chamber Check:  
 Securely mounted.  
 No dents or air leaks.  
 No loose or missing clamps. 

Slack Adjusters & Pushrods Check:   
 Securely mounted. 
 No broken, loose, damaged or missing parts. 
 Not more than 1” of movement. 

Brake Drum Check:   
 No visible signs of contaminants (seeping oil 

or grease). 
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 No visible cracks, dents, or holes. 

 Brake Linings Check:  
 No dangerously thin linings.  
 No missing/broken pieces of lining.  
 No signs of contamination (such as oil) which 

could render braking ineffective on that side. 

 Tire (I–C–D)  Check: 
Inflation

 Proper way to check inflation is with a tire 
gauge. 

Condition
 No cuts on the tread or sidewall.  
 No bulges or worn spots. 
 No exposed fabric (ply cord).  
 Front tire is NOT recapped or re-grooved.
 Valve cap & stem is present and not 

damaged. 
Depth of tread 

 Tread depth is not less than 4/32”. 
 Proper way to check is with a depth gauge.  

 Rim Check: 
 No repair welds. 
 Not bent, cracked or damaged. 
 No rust trails (may indicate a rim is loose on 

the wheel). 

 Lug Nuts Check:
 All lug nuts are present and match.  
 All studs are present; not cracked or broken. 
 All lug nuts are tight (rings on the rim – 

“halos” or trails – would indicate a lug nut 
may be loose). 

 No signs of distorted holes (elongation 
indicates wheel ran with lug nuts loose for a 
period of time). 

 Hub Oil Seal Check:
 Housing is intact; not cracked or broken.
 Oil is at proper level in sight glass (if 

equipped with self-oiling hubs).
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 No signs of excessive oil/grease seepage 
(indicates a defective seal).

CLOSE & SECURE THE HOOD 

MOVE TO THE DRIVER’S SIDE OF THE BUS 

 Mirrors  Check:  
 Not broken or missing. 
 Securely mounted; no mounting brackets, 

bolts, nuts missing, or broken. 

 Battery/Compartment Check:
 Battery is mounted securely. 
 Cables are securely connected. 
 Insulation on cable intact.
 No signs of excessive corrosion. 
 No visible signs of cracks in battery casing. 
 Cell caps are not missing or broken. 
 Compartment cover or door is secure.

 Stop Arm  Check: 
 Not faded.  
 Securely mounted 
 Extends fully.  
 Lights flash in an alternating pattern.  
 No audible air leaks. 

 Side Windows Check: 
 Not broken. 
 Emergency exits indicated with reflective 

tape.

 Reflective Tape Check: 
 Not faded, missing, or peeling. 

 Clearance Lights &  
 Reflectors Check:   

 Clearance lamps are operational; covers not 
cracked, broken, or missing. 

 3 Reflectors on each side of bus; not 
cracked, broken, or missing. 
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 Proper color:  
 a) Front & Center – AMBER 
 b) Rear – RED  

 Exhaust System Check: 
 Securely mounted.  All brackets/hangers are 

present.
 No signs of exhaust leaks (indicated by black 

smoke marks on pipe). 
 No shiny area around connections of pipe 

(indicates loose connection). 
 No severe dents or damage that would 

restrict exhaust gas flow. 

 Frame Check: 
 No cracks or bends in longitudinal frame 

members.
 No welding repairs in frame members. 
 No missing cross members.  

 Drive Shaft Check: 
 All hangers are present and securely 

mounted.
 Free of foreign objects.  
 No bends or cracks. 

 Rear Tires (I–C–D)  Check: 
Inflation

 Proper way to check inflation is with a tire 
gauge. 

Condition
 No cuts on the tread or sidewall.  
 No bulges or worn spots. 
 No exposed fabric (ply cord).  
 Valve cap & stem is present and not 

damaged. 
Depth of tread 

 Tread depth is not less than 2/32”. 
 Proper way to check is with a depth gauge.  

 Rim Check: 
 No repair welds. 
 Not bent, cracked, or damaged. 
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 No rust trails (may indicate a rim is loose on 
the wheel). 

 Lug Nuts Check:
 All lug nuts are present and match.  
 All studs are present; not cracked or broken. 
 All lug nuts are tight (rings on the rim – 

“halos” or trails – would indicate a lug nut 
may be loose). 

 No signs of distorted holes (elongation 
indicates wheel ran with lug nuts loose for a 
period of time). 

 Axle Seal Check:
 No signs of leaking lubricants.

 Spacers (Budd Wheels) Check:  (If equipped) 
 Spacers are not dented, damaged or rusted. 
 No objects stuck between tires.  

 Splash Guards Check:  
 Mounted securely.  
 Not damaged.  

Shock Absorber Check:  
 Securely mounted; no missing bolts, nuts; no 

cracks in the mounting brackets. 
 Not damaged or leaking. 

 Springs Check: 
 No missing, misaligned, shifted, cracked, or 

broken springs; particularly the main spring 
(this spring extends from eyelet to eyelet and 
supports the rest of the springs). 

 Securely attached to axle with U-Bolts. 
 U-bolts have all nuts present; U-bolts are not 

damaged or cracked. 

 Spring Mounts Check: 
 Securely mounted on all sides.  
 No missing bolts, nuts, or bushings.  
 No cracks in mounting brackets. 
 Spring shackles are present; not missing. 
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 Air Ride Suspension Check (if equipped): 
 Air bags are not torn.  
 No audible leaks (beyond normal inflation 

and deflation to compensate for changes in 
load).

 Mounting brackets are secure; no missing 
nuts and bolts.

Hoses/Lines Check: 
 All hydraulic/air hoses/lines are not leaking, 

cracked, worn, or frayed.
 All couplings are secure and not leaking.  

 Brake Chamber Check:
 Securely mounted.  
 No dents or air leaks.  
 No loose or missing clamps. 

Slack Adjusters & Pushrods Check:
 Securely mounted. 
 No broken, loose, damaged, or missing parts. 
 Not more than 1” of movement. 

 Brake Drum Check: 
 No visible signs of contaminants (seeping oil 

or grease). 
 No visible cracks, dents, or holes. 

 Brake Linings Check:  
 No dangerously thin linings.  
 No missing/broken pieces of lining.  
 No signs of contamination (such as oil) which 

could render braking ineffective on that side.

MOVE TO THE REAR OF THE BUS 

  Lights Check:   
 All lenses clean, not cracked or broken. 

 Clearance (red) 
 Student (red and amber) 
 Turn signals 
 Running 
 Brake 
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 Flashers 
 Reverse 
 Two reflectors (RED) on each side of 

bus

 Rear Windows  Check:   
 Clean, not broken. 
 Seal not torn, damaged. 

 Back Door  Check: 
 Opens/closes easily. 
 Seals on door and/or bus are present and not 

damaged. 
 Locks open and releases. 

 Exhaust System Check: 
 Securely mounted.  All brackets/hangers are 

present.
 No signs of exhaust leaks (indicated by black 

smoke marks). 
 No severe dents or damage that would 

restrict exhaust gas flow. 
 Must not extend more than 1” past bumper 

(or body for side exhaust). 

MOVE TO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE BUS 

 Wheel Chair Lift Check (if equipped): 
 Operational.  

 Clearance Lights & 
 Reflectors Check: 

 Clearance lamp covers and reflectors:  not 
cracked, broken, or missing. 

 Proper color: 
 a) Front & Center – AMBER 
 b) Rear – RED  

 Side Windows Check:   
 Not broken. 
 Emergency exits indicated with reflective 

tape.
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 Reflective Tape Check: 
 Not faded, missing, or peeling. 

 Exhaust System Check: 
 Securely mounted.  All brackets/hangers are 

present.
 No shiny spots on pipe (indicates connection 

is loose). 
 No signs of exhaust leaks (indicated by black 

smoke marks). 
 No severe dents or damage that would 

restrict exhaust gas flow. 

 Rear Tires (I–C–D)  Check: 
Inflation

 Proper way to check inflation is with a tire 
gauge. 

Condition
 No cuts on the tread or sidewall.  
 No bulges or worn spots. 
 No exposed fabric (ply cord).  
 Valve cap & stem is present and not 

damaged. 
Depth of tread 

 Tread depth is not less than 2/32”. 
 Proper way to check is with a depth gauge.  

 Rim Check: 
 No repair welds. 
 Not bent, cracked or damaged. 
 No rust trails (may indicate a rim is loose on 

the wheel). 

 Lug Nuts Check:
 All lug nuts are present and match.  
 All studs are present; not cracked or broken. 
 All lug nuts are tight (rings on the rim – 

“halos” or trails – would indicate a lug nut 
may be loose). 

 No signs of distorted holes (elongation 
indicates wheel ran with lug nuts loose for a 
period of time). 
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 Axle Seal Check: 
 No signs of leaking lubricants. 

 Spacers (Budd Wheels) Check (if equipped): 
 Spacers are not dented, damaged or rusted. 
 No objects stuck between tires.  

 Splash Guards Check:  
 Mounted securely. 
 Not damaged. 

Shock Absorber Check:  
 Securely mounted; no missing bolts, nuts; no 

cracks in the mounting brackets. 
 Not damaged or leaking. 

 Springs Check: 
 No missing, misaligned, shifted, cracked, or 

broken springs; particularly the main spring 
(this spring extends from eyelet to eyelet and 
supports the rest of the springs). 

 Securely attached to axle with U-Bolts. 
 U-bolts have all nuts present; U-bolts are not 

damaged or cracked. 

 Spring Mounts Check: 
 Securely mounted on all sides.  
 No missing bolts, nuts, or bushings.  
 No cracks in mounting brackets. 
 Spring shackles are present; not missing. 

 Air Ride Suspension Check (if equipped):   
 Air bags are not torn.  
 No audible leaks (beyond normal inflation 

and deflation to compensate for changes in 
load).

 Mounting brackets are secure; no missing 
nuts and bolts.

Hoses/Lines Check:
 All hydraulic/air hoses/lines are not leaking, 

cracked, worn, or frayed.
 All couplings are secure and not leaking.  
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 Brake Chamber Check:   
 Securely mounted.  
 No dents or air leaks.  
 No loose or missing clamps. 

Slack Adjusters & Pushrods Check:
 Securely mounted. 
 No broken, loose, damaged or missing parts. 
 Not more than 1” of movement. 

 Brake Drum Check: 
 No visible signs of contaminants (seeping oil 

or grease). 
 No visible cracks, dents, or holes. 

 Brake Linings Check:  
 No dangerously thin linings.  
 No missing/broken pieces of lining.  
 No signs of contamination (such as oil) which 

could render braking ineffective on that side.

 Frame Check: 
 No cracks or bends in longitudinal frame 

members.
 No welding repairs in frame members. 
 No missing cross members.  

 Drive Shaft Check: 
 All hangers are present and securely 

mounted.
 Free of foreign objects. 
 No bends or cracks. 

Fuel Tank  Check:  
 Fuel cap is present and secure. 
 No signs of leaking around/underneath fuel 

tank (puddles on ground below tank). 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:   PAY CLOSE ATTENTION TO THE FUEL CAP AND 
TANK.  IF YOU FEEL SOMEONE HAS TAMPERED WITH THE FUEL – DO 
NOT START THE BUS.  CONTACT YOUR SUPERVISOR IMMEDIATELY!!!!!!
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Mirrors  Check:  
 Securely mounted.  
 Glass not broken/missing.  
 No mounting brackets, bolts, nuts missing or 

broken.

Service Door Check: 
 Door glass is clean; not broken.  
 Door/window seals are not damaged. 
 Door opens & closes properly; unobstructed.
 Door handle and connecting rod (if equipped) 

are securely mounted and operational. 

Passenger Entry Check: 
 Handrail is secure.  
 Rubber molding is not loose or missing.  
 Stair treads are secured to the floor. 
 No obstructions in step well area.  
 Step well light lens is not cracked or missing. 

Emergency Equipment Check: 
 FIRE EXTINGUISHER  

1. Correct rating (2A10BC or greater). 
2. Charged. 
3. Hose attached. 
4. Securely mounted. 

 REFLECTORS (Triangles) 
1.  Containment box securely mounted. 

 2. Three (3) present. 

 FIRST AID KIT 
1.  Securely mounted. 
2.  Identified by label. 
3.  In a dust-proof container.
4. All contents accounted for. 

 BODY FLUID CLEAN-UP KIT 
1.  Securely mounted. 
2.  Identified by label. 
3.  In a dust-proof container.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:   Driver must use the handrail when entering and exiting the bus.
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ADJUST DRIVER’S SEAT

Driver’s Seat Belt Check:   
 Securely mounted. 
 Not frayed or cut. 
 Latches securely.  

 Driver Mirrors Check:   
 Clean. 
 Properly adjusted. 
 Unobstructed view (no stickers, etc.). 

 Student Mirror Check: 
 Clean. 
 Securely attached. 
 Properly adjusted. 
 Not broken. 

 Windshield Check: 
 Clean. 
 Unobstructed view.  
 No cracks over 2” long.  
 No intersecting cracks. 
 No pits larger than the size of a quarter. 

Close service door – prepare for engine start 
Start Engine to check gauges; engine off when not necessary

ABS Check: 
Indicator illuminates then turns off. 

Gauges Check: 
 Oil Pressure – Builds to normal range; 

warning light goes off.
 Temperature - Registers cold to normal 

range.
 Voltmeter/Ammeter - Registers battery 

charge; needle does not flutter. 
 Air Pressure - Registers air pressure. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Driver shall never leave the driver’s seat with the engine running.
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Steering Wheel Check:  
 Check free play of steering wheel.  
 20” steering wheel has less than 2” of play. 

Horn Check: 
 Operational.  

Exterior Light Indicators Check (on dashboard):
(L R 4 H) 

Left – Right – 4 way hazard flashers – High
beam indicator (headlights). 

 Leave 4 way hazard flashers operating as the 
pre-trip inspection continues.

  Wipers/Washers Check:  
 Securely mounted. 
 Overall blade/rubber condition.
 High/Low/Intermittent is operational. 
 Washer fluid – works when activated. 

  Heaters Check: 
 Operational; check each fan blower speed 

individually (Low – Med – High). 

 Defrosters Check: 
 Operational; check each fan blower speed 

individually (Low – Med – High). 

 Fans Check: 
 Operational; check each speed individually 

(Low – High). 

 Dome Lights Check: 
 Operational. 
 None of the lenses are cracked, broken or 

missing.

 8-way flasher indicators Check: 
 Activate. 
 Indicator (pilot) lamp operational for Ambers.  
 Check that Amber flashers are operational in 

front of bus. 
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Seats Check: 
 Seat cushion securement (backs and 

bottoms).
 No torn upholstery.  
 No broken seat frames.  

 Emergency Exits 
 (Rear/side/windows/roof) Check:  

 Labeled. 
 Glass not cracked or broken. 
 Operating instructions present. 
 Unobstructed. 
 Open and close smoothly. 
 Warning buzzer operational. 
 Padded headed (entry, rear, and side doors). 
 While checking exits, open rear door and 

check that Amber flashers are operational. 

RETURN TO THE FRONT OF THE BUS 

PREPARE TO EXIT THE BUS FOR THE LIGHT CHECK OR  
REQUEST ASSISTANCE 

Step well lamp  Check:
 Operational.  

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Always check for seat cushion securement from the aisle 
side of the seat towards the rear of the cushion. Never stick your hands into the 
crack of the seat.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Do NOT teach automatic light check system (if equipped).  

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Some light checks may require help from another person. 
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FRONT OF THE BUS 

 Exterior Lights 
(L – R – 4 – H)  Check: 

Left – Right – 4 way hazard flashers – 
Headlights (high/low beam); all operable.

 8-way flashers  Check: 
 Operable and flash in an alternating pattern.

 Clearance/Turn Signal Check:   
 All operable. 

DRIVER’S SIDE OF THE BUS

Stop Arm  Check: 
 Not faded.  
 Securely mounted.  
 Extends fully.  
 Lights flash in an alternating pattern.  
 No audible air leaks. 

 Clearance/Turn Signal Check:   
 All operable. 

REAR OF THE BUS 

  Exterior Lights 
  (L – R – 4) Check: 

Left – Right – 4 way hazard flashers; all 
operable.

 Turn signals operable.
 Tail lights operable. 
 Clearance lights operable. 
 Brake lights operable.  
 8-way flashers operable and flash in an 

alternating fashion. 
 Reverse lights operable (using gear). 



State of New Mexico Public Education Department
School Bus Driver Pre-Service Training Curriculum

Instructor Manual Publication # STB 1.3
May 1, 2014

60 – Revised June 2017

PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE

Clearance/Turn Signal Check:
All operable.

RE-ENTER THE BUS

Air Brake Check: Make sure rear wheels are chocked, air pressure 
is between 100 - 125 psi and the engine is OFF.

AIR PRESSURE LOSS RATE:

1) Turn key to the “On” or “Accessories” position 
(do not start).

2) Release the parking brake.
2) Unapplied service (foot) brake – Time for one 

minute, air loss should not be more than 2 psi. 
4) Apply service (foot) brake – Hold application for 

one minute, air loss must not be more than 3 psi.

LOW AIR PRESSURE BUZZER & LIGHT: 

1) “Fan” service brake until air pressure drops 
to approximately 60 psi.

2) Warning buzzer must activate as well as the 
warning light indicator on the dashboard.

EMERGENCY/SPRING BRAKE VALVE ACTIVATION:

1) Continue to “fan” service brake until air pressure 
drops to approximately 20 - 40 psi.

2) The parking brake knob should pop out. This will 
cause the spring brakes to activate. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: The air brake check is broken up into three sections or parts.

Special Note: Settings for activation of the low air pressure Warning Buzzer and Warning 
Light as well as the activation of the Emergency/Spring Brake will vary slightly from 
vehicle to vehicle.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Have trainee repeat the Air Brake Check until they can perform it 
flawlessly.
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REMOVE THE WHEEL CHOCKS

PARKING BRAKE TEST 
1) Start the engine.
2) Let the air pressure build to operational range.
3) Depress the service brake (pedal).
4) Shift the transmission into a forward gear.
5) Apply slight pressure on the accelerator.
6) Bus should not move which confirms the parking 

brake is holding.  

SERVICE BRAKE TEST
1) Release the parking brake, move the bus 

forward slowly (about 5 MPH).
2) Apply slight but enough pressure on the foot 

brake to stop the bus.  Note any “pulling” to one 
side, unusual feel or delayed stopping action. 

3) Secure the bus.

HYDRAULIC BRAKE CHECK PROCEDURE

Pump the brake pedal three times; hold it down for five seconds. The brake pedal 
should not move during the five second period. 

If equipped with hydraulic brake reserve (back-up) system, with key off, depress (apply) 
the brake pedal and listen for the sound of the reserve system electric motor.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: “Hydraulic Brakes” may be used on smaller class A buses.
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Classroom Instruction

 
 

   

SECTION 1-D

New Mexico School Bus Driver Security 
Training Program

1 Hour of Instruction
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Classroom/Hands-On 

Instruction 
 

 
 
 
 

 
SECTION 1-E 

 
Safety Equipment,  

Use of Safety Equipment, and 
Emergency Evacuation Procedures 

 
1 Hour of Instruction 
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INSTRUCTOR OVERVIEW 
 

Materials Needed:  
 

1. Fire Extinguisher w/hose (Rated 2A10BC) 
2. First-Aid Kit  
3. 3 Reflective Triangles  
4. Handouts for trainees  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
OBJECTIVES:  
 

1) Trainee should know where each of the emergency equipment items may be 
located in various types/sizes of school buses.  

 
2) Provide trainee instruction on general guidelines on using a fire extinguisher 

and the proper use and placement of reflective triangles. (Use of overhead 
and diagram transparency may be helpful in providing this instruction) 

 
3) Trainee should be familiar with the contents of the First-Aid Kit. 
 
4) Provide trainee instruction on emergency evacuation procedures and explain 

the four (4) different types of evacuations. (Use of overhead projector and 
diagram transparencies provided in this manual, may be helpful in providing 
this instruction) 

 
 

HANDOUTS  (Pages 70-73)  
 
Proper reflective triangle placement diagrams  
 
 
6.40.2.10 BUS BODY STANDARDS 

P. EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT 

(1) Fire Extinguisher (for proper operating procedure refer to pages 68-69.) 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Any of the following pages may be reproduced for use as 
handouts or transparencies. 
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(a) The bus shall be equipped with at least one UL-approved 
pressurized, dry chemical fire extinguisher.  

(i) Extinguisher shall be mounted in a bracket, located in the 
driver compartment and readily accessible to the driver and 
passengers.  
 

(ii) A pressure gauge shall be mounted on the extinguisher and 
be easily read without moving the extinguisher from its 
mounted position. 

(b) The fire extinguisher shall have a total rating of 2A10BC or 
greater.  The operating mechanism shall be sealed with a type of 
seal which will not interfere with the use of the fire extinguisher. 

(2) First-Aid Kit 

(a) The bus shall have a removable moisture-proof and dust-proof first 
aid kit in an accessible place in the driver compartment.  

(i) It shall be properly mounted and identified as a first aid kit.  
 

(ii) The location for the first aid kit shall be marked.  
 

(iii) Contents of first aid kit shall be in compliance with the 
following standards. 

(b) A first-aid kit for all school buses is described as follows: 

� 2 - 1 inch x 2 1/2 yards adhesive tape rolls 
� 24 - sterile gauze pads 3 inches x 3 inches 
� 100 - 3/4 inch x 3 inches adhesive bandages 
�  8 - 2 inch bandage compress 
� 10 - 3 inch bandage compress 
� 2 - 2 inch x 6 yards sterile gauze roller bandages 
� 2 - non-sterile triangular bandages approximately 40 inches 

x 36 inches x 54 inches with 2 safety pins 
� 3 - sterile gauze pads 36 inches x 36 inches 
� 3 - sterile eye pads 
� 1 - rounded-end scissors 
� 1 - pair of medical examination gloves 
� 1 - mouth-to-mouth airway 
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(3) Body Fluid Clean-Up Kit 

(a) Each bus shall have a removable and moisture-proof body fluid 
clean-up kit accessible to the driver.  
 

(b) It shall be properly mounted and identified as a body fluid clean-up 
kit.  

 
(c) Contents of body fluid clean-up kit shall include: 

� 1 - Disposable bag with securement device 
� 1 - Scoop 
� 1 - Scraper 
� 1 - Disinfectant (Lysol® type wipes) 
� 1 - Surface wipe (paper towels) 
� 1 - Pair of medical examination gloves (minimum) 

 
(4) Warning Devices 

 
(a) Each school bus shall contain at least three (3) reflectorized 

triangle road-warning devices mounted in an accessible place.  
 
(b) These devices must meet requirements in 49 CFR 571.125 

(FMVSS) and must be mounted in an accessible location in the 
driver compartment. 

(5) Any of the Emergency Equipment May be Mounted in an Enclosed 
Compartment Provided:  

(a) The compartment is labeled in not less than one inch letters, stating 
the piece(s) of equipment contained therein.  
 

(b) The enclosed compartment shall be located in the driver 
compartment. 

 
(6) Fusees (a friction match with a large head capable of burning in a wind) 

are NOT permitted. 
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EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT 

 
FIRE EXTINGUISHERS:   

 
Classifications of Fires 
Accepted standard practices separate fires into three general classes.   
 
Class A – Fires of ordinary combustible material where the “quenching” and 
“cooling” effects of water (or solutions containing large quantities of water) is of 
importance. Examples:  fires in wood, textiles, fabrics, rubbish, etc. 
 
Class B – Fires of flammable liquids, petroleum products, etc., where the blanketing 
or extinguishing agent is of first importance.  Examples:  fires in gasoline, oils and 
greases in tanks or containers, open vats or running freely on floors or ground. 
 
Class C – Fires involving electrical equipment where the use of a “non-conductor” 
extinguisher is of first importance.  Examples:  fires involving electrical switchboards, 
motors, or wiring. 
 
Dry-powder Extinguisher (CO-2 Pressurized) 
The dry-powder type of extinguisher consists of a charge of specially prepared dry 
powdered sodium bicarbonate with a cartridge of inert gas, such as carbon dioxide, 
to provide the expelling force.  Discharge is in the form of a cloud of powder together 
with gas. 
 
The range of the cloud may extend up to 25 feet horizontally depending on size of 
extinguisher and type of nozzle.  In contact with fire, the powder gives off additional 
carbon dioxide gas with its smothering effect.  Discharge should be directed at the 
base of the flames.  On flammable liquid fires, best results are obtained when the 
discharge is directed in a sweeping motion as with carbon dioxide extinguisher. 
 
Dry chemical extinguishers are effective on small fires of Class B, on electrical fires 
of Class C, and may be effective on small surface fires of Class A.  Again, it is best 
to be upwind whenever possible so as to get greater coverage and protection for the 
operator. 
 
Dry Chemical Extinguisher (Air Pressurized) 
There is another type of dry chemical extinguisher which is commonly used.  Again, 
they are filled with dry powder, finer than face powder in some cases.  A gauge is 
mounted at the top of the extinguisher indicating the air pressure.  The gauges are 
usually divided into two areas of green and red indicating low and high pressure.  If 
the needle on the indicator stays in the green area, it is properly charged. 
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Getting Fire Extinguishers Serviced 
 
Fire extinguishers should be serviced each year preferably before school starts.  The 
servicing must be done by a properly licensed person. 

 
 

FIRE EXTINGUISHER OPERATING DIRECTIONS 
Follow the directions on the extinguisher or the following; 

 
1. Remove from bracket. 
 
2. If possible, stand upwind from burning material to prevent standing in smoke and 

heat. 
 
3. Hold extinguisher in UPRIGHT position. Due to construction of cylinder, 

extinguisher should not be laid on side to operate. 
 
4. Remove safety lock pin by breaking seal. 
 
5. Push lever down to break seal in cartridge. 
 
6. Squeeze nozzle handle.  Direct the flow of chemical to the base of the fire. 
 
7. Do not walk onto unburned material that could catch fire in a back flash and 

cause injury to you. 
 
8. Use fire extinguisher at will and release and re-squeeze nozzle as needed. 
 
9. Replace safety pin. 
 
10. Replace or recharge immediately after use. 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Any fire extinguisher, regardless of how long or how 
much discharge was used out of it should be recharged or replaced with a 
substitute after use.
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REFLECTOR TRIANGLE PLACEMENT 
 
 

6.41.4.12 SCHOOL BUS OPERATIONS AND EQUIPMENT 
 

J. SCHOOL BUS SAFETY EQUIPMENT  
 

(5) Each driver SHALL use reflectors in the event of prolonged stops on the 
roadway as follows:  

 
(a) One at a distance of approximately 100 feet in front and one 

approximately 100 feet in back of the disabled vehicle in the center 
of the traffic lane occupied by the disabled vehicle. 

 
(b) One at the traffic side of the disabled vehicle, not less than 10 feet 

from the front or rear. 
 
(c) If the vehicle is disabled within 500 feet of a curve, crest of a 

hill, or other obstruction to view, the driver SHALL place the 
warning device in that direction to afford ample warning. The 
warning device must in no case be less than 100 feet or more than 
500 feet from the disabled vehicle. 

 
(6) The hazard mode warning lights SHALL be used when: 
 

(a) Necessary to stop on the shoulder or the traveled portion of the 
roadway, if the bus is temporarily disabled  
 

(b) Or it is necessary to stop for any reason other than loading and 
unloading operations.  
 

(c) Hazard mode warning lights SHALL also be used when the speed 
of the bus is less than one half of the posted speed limit. 
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REFLECTOR PLACEMENT 
 
 

. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

NON-DIVIDED HIGHWAY 

TWO LANE (traffic side) 

 

Front of Vehicle 100 Feet 

Rear of Vehicle 10 Feet 

Rear of Vehicle 100 Feet. 

10 Feet 

100 Feet 

100 Feet 
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REFLECTOR PLACEMENT 
 

ONE-WAY DIVIDED 
HIGHWAY 
Front of Vehicle none 

Rear of Vehicle 10 Feet 

Rear of Vehicle 100 Feet 

Rear of Vehicle 200 Feet 

10 Feet 

200 Feet 

100 Feet 
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Proper placing of the triangles when parked on a hill. 
 
 

 
Proper placing of triangles on a blind curve. 

 
CURVE/HILL 

Front of Vehicle 100 Feet 

Rear of Vehicle 10 Feet 

Rear of Vehicle 100-500 Feet 
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EVACUATION GUIDELINES 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
6.41.4.11 SCHOOL BUS DRIVERS, SUBSTITUTES, AND BUS 

ASSISTANTS RESPONSIBILITIES 
 

A. Accidents and Emergencies:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(1) Reasons for emergency evacuation: 
 

(a) Fire or danger of fire.  The vehicle shall be stopped and evacuated 
immediately if any portion is on fire.  Passengers shall move a safe 
distance away from the vehicle and remain there until the driver of 
the bus has determined that no danger remains. 
 

(b) Unsafe position.  If a vehicle is stopped the driver shall determine 
immediately whether it is safe for passengers to remain in the the 
vehicle or to evacuate.  The driver shall evacuate if: 

 
(i) The vehicle stops in the path of any train; 
 
(ii) The stopping position of the vehicle is subject to change and 

thus increases the danger to passengers;  
 
(iii) The stopping position of the vehicle is such that there is 

danger of collision. 
 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: REMEMBER that in these situations it is safer for the 
students to evacuate than remain on the bus.  

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: In deciding whether or not to evacuate your school bus, 
keep in mind that your primary responsibility is for the safety and well-being of 
you and your passengers.  Knowing the proper procedures as well as the different 
types of evacuations will help you in making a good, well informed decision that is 
in the best interests of your passengers.  The following are some guidelines that will 
help you in making an informed decision in any situation. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  The term vehicle is used in this section to refer both to a 
school bus and to school-owned vehicles used to transport students to and from 
school and school-sponsored activity trips. 
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(2) Responsibilities of the driver:  In the case of any accident involving a 
school bus or a school-owned vehicle, the driver’s first responsibility is to 
the safety of the passengers.  In addition, the driver shall: 

 
(a) Stop immediately; 
 
(b) Maintain control of passengers; 
 
(c) Protect the accident scene; 
 
(d) Remain at the scene of the accident and not move the vehicle; 
 
(e) Render reasonable assistance to any person injured in the 

accident; 
 

(f) Notify police and the school district administrator and if appropriate 
the local transportation provide; 
 

(g) If it is necessary to evacuate passengers, make certain that all 
passengers are in a safe location away from traffic and that they 
are not permitted to leave the scene of the accident on their own; 

 
(h) Place reflectors appropriately to warn traffic; 

 
(i) Obtain information such as names, license numbers, registration 

numbers, location, time, road and weather conditions, and a listing 
of all passengers including their seating locations; 
 

(j) Make no admission of liability or assume responsibility for the 
accident; 
 

(k) Comply with local policy and procedure in reporting the accident; 
 

(l) Adhere to any vital emergency medical information provided; 
 

(m) Report all school bus accidents in accordance with local 
district/contractor and state accident reporting procedures. 
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FOUR TYPES OF EMERGENCY EVACUATIONS 
 

 
FRONT OR REAR DOOR 

 
1) Open door – Stand – Face Students (to get their attention) 
 
2) Inform passengers that you will be evacuating the bus through the FRONT 

door.  
 
3) Remind students to leave all belongings behind and to listen carefully to 

all directions. 
 
4) Assign at least one (1) dependable student to lead students a minimum of 

100 feet away from the bus. Instruct the students to remain there until help 
arrives.  

 
5) Depending on the type and location of the emergency, you must decide 

which students to evacuate first. Remind students to remain calm and 
start with the students in the front or the rear of the school bus and 
continue until everyone is safely off the bus. 

 
6) The driver must confirm that no students are left on the school bus before 

exiting. 
 
7) If possible, the driver should take the student roster and first aid kit when 

exiting the bus. 
 
8) Stay with the students to ensure their safety. 

 
 

FRONT & REAR DOOR EVACUATION 
 

Use this method when you need to get students off the bus quickly, AND both doors 
are accessible. 
 

1) Make the middle of the bus the dividing point.  
 
2) Students in front of the dividing point exit through the front service door.  
 
3) Students behind the dividing line exit through the rear emergency exit.  
 
4) Move students a minimum of 100 feet away from the bus to a safe location 

and remain there for help to arrive. 
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ROOF VENTS AND EMERGENCY WINDOWS  
 

Use this method in severe accidents ONLY, when exit doors are blocked or 
inaccessible, or bus has overturned. 
 

1) Instruct students on operation of roof hatches and emergency windows. 
 

• ROOF HATCH – Turn RED knob and push out.  
• EMERGENCY WINDOW – Pull up on RED handle and push out. 

  
2) Caution students to be extremely careful when dropping to the ground. 

 
FURTHER GUIDELINES:  
 

� Remember that your FIRST responsibility is for the safety of all your 
passengers.  

 
� Ensuring that all your passengers have been removed from the danger is 

your priority!  
 
� Once the evacuation has been accomplished, you may begin administering 

first aid to injured passengers.  
 
� If the bus is on fire – Remove all passengers to a safe location.  
 

� Do Not attempt to extinguish the fire.  
 

� You may however use the fire extinguisher to aid you in removing 
passengers safely (such as extinguishing small fires that block the aisle 
or exits.) 

 
PLAN AHEAD:  
 

1) You shall review emergency evacuation procedures with your student 
passengers at least once per semester, and on activity trips. Show them 
how to open emergency exits, so that they are prepared in the event an 
emergency situation arises. 

 
2) In the event you are physically unable to move or have been rendered 

unconscious, you should pick a reliable student and make sure they know 
how to properly secure the bus: 

 
a) Apply Parking Brake  
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b) Shift transmission to NEUTRAL or PARK  
 

c) Turn OFF the engine/Open the door  
 

d) Lead passengers a minimum of 100 feet away from the bus to a safe 
location. 
 

e) Obtain help for the driver and other students. 
 
 

3) In case of an accident involving other vehicles – follow accident 
procedures: 

 
� STAY CALM  
� Notify district officials  
� Turn on Hazard Flashers  
� Set out warning devices (if possible) 
� Secure the accident scene  
� Ensure the safety of your passengers 
� Never admit fault 
� Obtain all pertinent information (license numbers, insurance 

information, time, location, and passenger seating information.) 
 
Most importantly before making a decision to evacuate, remember that in 
some cases it could be safer to keep students on the bus.  
 
In the final analysis, it’s your call. Above all, make a well informed decision 
relying on your training, common sense and good judgment. 
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LIFTING TECHNIQUES FOR STUDENTS WITH SPECIAL NEEDS 
 
 

The purpose of lifting properly is to keep from causing injury to the student or 
yourself when faced with having to move a student. 
 
BASIC RULES: 
 
1. Tell the student what you are going to do. 
 
2. Estimate the weight of the student.  NEVER lift a person or student by yourself 

who weighs more than half your weight. 
 
3. Ask for help if you have any doubts about your ability to lift the student. 
 
4. Plan ahead.  How you will lift the student and where you will go? 
 
5. For good balance, stand with both feet firmly planted about shoulder width apart 
 with one foot slightly in front of the other. 
 
6. Always bend from the knees, not the back, use your thigh muscles rather than 

your back muscles to do the lifting. 
 
7. When lifting and carrying, keep the student close to your own body. 
 
8. Shift the position of your feet to move.  Do not twist your body.  Take small steps 

to turn. 
 
 
SINGLE PERSON LIFT: 
 
1. Follow the Basic Rules 1-8.  Most strains, fatigue, and back injuries are caused 
by  lifting using the wrong muscles.   
 
2. Keep equal weight on both feet and lower yourself to the level of the student by 
 bending your knees before lifting. 
 
3. Once in position, put one arm around the upper back and the other under both 
 knees. 
 
4. Hold the student close to your body, bend at the knees and lift with your leg 

muscles. 
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TWO PERSON LIFT: 
 
1. Follow the Basic Rules 1- 8. 
 
2. To lift from a wheelchair: 
 
 a. To save time and congestion, leave the chair where it is secured and carry 

the student to the exit. 
 
 b. One person stands in front of the student.  The other person stands at the 

back to the side of the student. 
 
 c. The person in back removes the arm rest if easily detachable. 
 
 d. The person in front folds up the footrest and removes the seatbelt and any 

other positioning device. 
 
 e. The person in front, bending from the knees, lowers him/herself to place 

his/her arms under the students’ knees. 
 
 f. The person in back places his/her arms under the student’s armpits, reaching 

forward to grasp both of the student’s wrists, firmly.  Your right hand should 
grasp the student’s right wrist, your left hand to the students left wrist. 

 
 g. Lift together on the count of three; remember to use your legs to lift. 
 
 h. Walk to the area where the student is to be placed and lower him/her on the 

count of three.  Remember to bend from your knees. 
 
 
TO LIFT FROM A BUS SEAT: 
 
1. Use the same procedures as above, but first, slide the student to the edge of the 
 bus seat near the aisle before lifting. 
 
2. The weight of the student will determine whether a one or two person lift is used.  
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BLANKET DRAG: 
 
1. Fold a blanket in half, place on floor as close to the child as possible. 
 
2. Follow the basic rules 1 – 8 then lower the student to the blanket. 
 
3. For one person lift, place the students head toward the direction of the exit, lift 

the blanket from the head end and slide to safety. 
 
 
NO BLANKET DRAG: 
 
If a blanket is not available, jackets or coats may be used. 
 
1. The person doing the drag should position themselves at the student’s head, 

squat down, and place hands, palm up, under student’s arms. 
 
2. Put elbows together so that the student’s head can rest against forearms. 
 
3. Gently drag the student to the nearest exit. 
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Classroom/Hands-On 
Instruction

 
 
 

SECTION 1-F
Mirrors

2 Hours of Instruction
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SECTION OVERVIEW

MATERIALS NEEDED:

1. 65-71 passenger Conventional School Bus with air brakes

2. Large parking lot or open area

3. 25-30 traffic cones (depending on size)

4. 25’-100’ tape measure

5. For ease of training, permanent markings for cone placement.  Ask permission
before marking.

OBJECTIVES:

1) Trainee will learn proper driver’s seat adjustment, steering wheel hand 
placement, and proper steering method.

2) Trainee will learn where the blind spots and danger zones are around the bus.

3) Trainee will learn proper mirror adjustment and how to use mirrors to minimize 
the risk of incidents.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: If different types of 65-71 passenger school buses are 
available (square nosed vs. angled), it would help in demonstrating how blind spots are 
different based on body style.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: All Objectives will be used in Reference Point Driving.
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PROPER SEAT ADJUSTMENT

Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat. The seat must be adjusted so that the trainee 
does not have to unnaturally extend (overextend) their leg to fully apply the service 
brake or accelerator. At this point have them buckle the seat belt. Emphasize the 
importance of wearing a seat belt at all times.

1. Seat height:

Raise or lower seat to where the trainee’s feet rest flat on the floor of the bus. 

2. Position of seat to steering wheel:

Ask the trainee to grab the steering wheel at the 5 o’clock position with their 
right hand. Adjust the seat forward or back until the right elbow is 
approximately 2-3 inches from the seat back. 

STEERING WHEEL HAND PLACEMENT

1. Have the trainee grip the steering wheel, placing their hands at either 10 & 2 
o’clock position or 9 & 3 o’clock position.  Their elbows should touch the 
sides of their body.  This provides an extra measure of bracing in the event of 
an emergency such as a front tire blowout.

2. The trainee should have their thumbs either on top or outside of the steering 
wheel.  

PROPER STEERING METHOD

Use the PUSH–PULL method of steering:  One hand pulls, the other pushes. The 
"hand over hand" method is not acceptable because the driver’s hands may catch in 
clothing, a watch, a bracelet, etc., which are hazards to steering.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Park the bus in a large enough open area to accommodate 
all of the cones that will be placed around it (see Diagram B).



State of New Mexico Public Education Department
School Bus Driver Pre-Service Training Curriculum

Instructor Manual Publication # STB 1.3
May 1, 2014

85 – Revised June 2017

IDENTIFYING BLIND SPOTS and “DANGER ZONES”

A driver completes the pre-trip inspection and finds that everything is in safe operating 
order.  Or is it? What about the mirrors?  Better sit in the driver’s seat and check them.
The following exercises will help the trainee understand the importance of having the 
mirrors properly adjusted and then using them.

SSEEING IS BELIEVING…

1) Park the bus in a large open area. 

2) Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat.  If more than one trainee, have the 
shortest one do this exercise.  Begin with proper seat adjustment.

3) The instructor – standing outside the driver window with a cone near the ground
– asks the trainee turn their head to the left and look out the driver window 
focusing their attention at the bottom of the window but looking at the ground.
Have the trainee indicate when they can see the base of the cone (Cone 1 in 
Diagram A) at the bottom of the window as the cone is slowly moved outward
from the bus body.

4) Continue this method of cone placement as in Diagram A (Cones 2-8). The 
trainee should not use any mirrors for this exercise.

5) This exercise demonstrates how large the blind spot is in the front and front 
sides of the bus without the use of mirrors. All of the area between the bus and 
the cones is a blind spot.

6) If a child is in front of the bus and has bent down to pick up something, would a 
driver see the child without using the mirrors?  NO!!

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: The following is an exercise to help trainees understand 
exactly how large of a blind spot is in the front and front sides of the bus when 
mirrors are not used. Diagram A shows an example of how the cones will be 
arranged after the exercise is completed. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Emphasize the need to use mirrors.
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Diagram A – Front and Front-side Blind Spots
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WALKING AREA 

10 Feet

10 Feet

10 Feet

Danger Zones Extend 10 feet around the bus 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Discuss the following diagram with the trainee.
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Mirror Numbering

1
(Flat)

3
(Crossover)

4
(Crossover)

5
(Convex)

6
(Flat)

7
(Interior/
Student)

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Federal regulation FMVSS 111 requires that mirrors provide 
seven (7) specific views.

2
(Convex)

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: It may be helpful to identify mirrors by number.
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PROPER MIRROR ADJUSTMENT

How to Properly Adjust Flat and Convex Mirrors:

The top (flat) mirrors (#1 and #6) should reflect the top back corner of the bus in the
inside top corner of the mirror.  The mirrors should give site to the driver up to 200 feet 
behind the bus on each side. The trainee should also be able to see Cones A and V in 
Diagram B.

The bottom (convex) mirrors (#2 and #5) should reflect a small amount of the side of the 
bus up to the mounted mirror, the rear tires touching the ground and at least one traffic 
lane.

How to Properly Adjust Crossover Mirrors:

Mirrors and mirror brackets should be at a 45 degree angle from the bus hood (see 
Diagram C).

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Teach the trainee to move their body ("Rock-n-Roll") in the 
driver’s seat to enable them to see all areas of the danger zones in the mirrors. If they 
remain stationary while checking mirrors, they could miss some areas in the Danger 
Zones!!

*** REMEMBER: Mirrors cause blind spots! ***

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Set up the training exercise using Diagram B.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Because of the number of students killed by snagging 
clothing, drawstrings and backpack straps getting caught in the service door or 
handrails, Diagram B has additional cones set at the service door outward to 10 feet.
If the cone at 10 feet (Cone S in Diagram B) cannot be seen, slightly adjust the right 
cross-over mirror while maintaining the view of the cones in front of the bus.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Check the adjustments:  Stand at the driver’s window and 
confirm with the trainee, section by section, that all cones in Diagram B are visible by 
moving their body (Rock-n-Roll) while using the mirrors.
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Diagram B – Mirror Check Station

K L M

O

W

T

ND

E G

B VC UA

1’            6’              12’ 
Measured from center of 
wheel and bus to center 
of cone

12’                 6’                1’
Measured from center of 
wheel and bus body to 
center of cone

F

H I J

12’ measured from 
bumper to center of 
cone

6’ measured from 
bumper to center of 
cone

At bumper

P Q R S

10’ from service door 
outward

X 200’ behind

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: FMVSS 111 requires that a view of 200 feet to the rear of the bus 
be maintained when mirrors are adjusted correctly.  

1’ measured from 
center of wheel 
to center of cone

1’ measured from 
center of wheel 
to center of cone

At rear 
bumper
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Classroom/Hands-On 
Instruction

 
 
 

SECTION 1-G
Reference Point

3-1/2 Hours of Instruction
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SECTION OVERVIEW

MATERIALS NEEDED:

1. 65-71 passenger Conventional School Bus with air brakes

2. Large parking lot or open area

3. 20-30 traffic cones

4. 25’-100' tape measure

5. For ease of training, permanent markings for cone placement.  Ask permission 
before marking.

6. 10’ piece of string

7. 50’ piece of string or grease pencil

8. 1 coin or small cone

OBJECTIVES:

Trainee will learn how to:

1) Determine their depth perception

2) Determine their Over-the-Hood reference point

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Depending on the size of training class, it may be helpful to use 
a second bus. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: The main purpose of this section is to provide trainees with the 
maneuvering skills they will need to safely drive a school bus by correctly using mirrors 
and reference points thereby reducing the risk of wrecking the bus.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: It is highly recommended that you familiarize yourself with 
each exercise and maneuver prior to instructing them.
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3) Perform maneuvers to understand the following:

Pivot Point (for executing proper left & right hand turns)

Forward and Backward Serpentine

Reference Point Backing

Tail Swing

Backing into a Stall (Alley Dock) – Passenger and Driver side

Parallel Parking – Passenger and Driver side

EXERCISE DIRECTIONS: DEPTH PERCEPTION

1) Give the trainee (Person 1) and another person (Person 2 – another trainee,
another driver, or a helper) a piece of string 10 feet in length.

2) Have Person 1 hold one end of the string around their finger and up to their 
nose so that the string is touching their nose. Nothing should block their line 
of sight.

3) Have Person 2 hold the opposite end of the string.  The string must be tight,
level to the nose of Person 1 and parallel to the ground.

4) Ask Person 1 how many strings they see. The answer will almost always be 
two.

5) If Person 1 sees two strings and they appear to cross or become one, find 
that point for them by:

a) Placing your finger (Person 3) about midway down the length of the string
– but not touching the string – and moving your finger along the string 
and away from Person 1. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Become familiar with all of the steps involved before teaching 
this. It takes three people to do this exercise.  Be sure the trainee remembers their 
depth perception reference point.  If more than one trainee, explain the meaning of the 
exercise once all trainees have completed it.
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b) Asking Person 1 to tell you when your finger reaches the point where the 
strings appear to them to cross or become one.

c) Noting the distance from that point to the end of the string being held by 
Person 2.

d) Repeat this procedure for each trainee. 

6) If Person 1 sees only one string, ask them which side the string appears to be 
coming from.

If they say “From the left side,” it indicates that the right eye is dominant, 
because the string is too far left of that eye. The left eye is not being 
used.  This is known as “suppression.”

If they say “From the right side,” it indicates that the left eye is dominant 
(converse of the above). Recommend they see an eye doctor.

7) If Person 1 sees two strings, but they come and go, this situation causes 
errors in judging distance while driving and they should be advised to see an 
eye doctor for further diagnosis.

Explanation of Exercise:

If Person 1 sees the string appearing to cross at the opposite end of the ten foot string: 

Then: they are seeing 10 feet for 10 feet and their depth perception is exact.

If Person 1 sees the string appearing to cross one foot from the end of the ten foot 
string: 

Then: their depth perception is off by 10% 
• Two feet = 20% 
• Three Feet = 30% and so forth

Why is it important to understand depth perception?  How does it affect driving?  

Understanding depth perception will help a driver judge distance when approaching a 
stationery object such as a vehicle that has stopped in front of them, when turning in 
front of an approaching vehicle, the first rail at a railroad crossing and when having to 
back a bus.  How far away is that object?  It could be closer if the depth perception is 
off.  The trainee should keep this in mind when driving.
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EXERCISE DIRECTIONS:  OVER-THE-HOOD REFERENCE POINT

1) Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat with it properly adjusted and safety belt 
fastened.

2) Place the end of the tape measure directly under the center of the front bumper. 
Reel out the tape measure about 25 feet along the ground straight out in front of 
the bus and place a cone on the ground at this spot.

3) Instruct the trainee to fixate their vision at the center edge of the bus hood – this 
area is the over-the-hood reference point.

4) Move the cone toward the bus – keeping it close to the ground – and along the 
tape measure.

5) Instruct the trainee to indicate to you when the base of the cone lines up with the 
center edge of the bus hood.

6) When the location has been determined, inform the trainee the measurement.  
This is the over-the-hood reference point.

Explanation of Exercise: 

A driver can use the over-the-hood reference point to determine how far away they are 
from a fixed object in front of the bus – such as a stopped car or the first rail at a railroad 
crossing.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Be sure the trainee remembers their Over-the-Hood reference 
point; it will be used in the Behind-the-Wheel Section.
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*****   MANEUVERS *****

FINDING THE PIVOT POINT

When making a turn, the front wheels turn instantly but the back wheels must travel 
some distance before they begin to change direction.  The pivot point is where this 
change begins. You may also hear this referred to as “off tracking”.  Because buses 
will have different handling characteristics, the pivot point may be different – even if it is 
the same model of bus.

Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat making sure it is properly adjusted, the mirrors 
are properly adjusted, the safety belt is fastened and the service door closed. Have the 
trainee drive the bus around the four cones in the same direction several times until 

INSTRUCTOR NOTES:
1. Instruct the maneuvers in the order shown on the following pages.
2. It may be helpful to the trainee if you drive through the maneuver yourself 

first.  Have the trainee view from a position so that they can watch what you 
are doing.

3. Explain to the trainee that “securing the bus” means:
a. Setting the Park brake.  Instruct that the Park brake is always

FIRST on, LAST off.
b. Shifting the transmission to Neutral.
c. Turning off the engine.
d. Removing the key.

4. NEVER approach the bus until you are sure the bus has been properly 
secured and there is no possibility of unintended movement.

5. Reinforce the skills learned in each maneuver through repetition.
6. Trainees must be able to successfully execute each maneuver before 

advancing to the next; ALL maneuvers must be mastered before moving on to 
the Behind-the-Wheel Section of training.  

7. The following maneuvers may be used as in-service training.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Set up the maneuver by placing four cones in a large square
with approximately 50 feet between cones. The trainee will need to drive straight a 
short distance and then sharply turn to pivot the rear wheel around the next cone.
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they understand where the pivot point is on the rear wheel.  In other words, the trainee 
needs to determine when the steering wheel should be turned in order to pivot around –
get close but not hit – the cone.  They should steer the rear wheel near the cones; 
between 12 and 18 inches away. When the trainee does well with one direction, set the 
bus for them in the opposite direction and have them drive the course several times.

Have the trainee secure the bus and honk the horn twice to indicate the maneuver has 
been completed.

FORWARD and BACKWARD SERPENTINE

Although this type of maneuver will not necessarily be encountered in real world 
situations, it allows for more practice and mastery of pivot points – especially when 
backing since it is a more challenging maneuver to master. The skill learned will help 
the trainee to master the "backing into a stall" maneuver more easily.

1) Position and park the bus so that it lines up 18” to the RIGHT side (or LEFT) of 
the first cone and parallel to all three cones.

2) Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat making sure it is properly adjusted, the 
mirrors are properly adjusted, the safety belt is fastened and the service door 
closed.

3) Instruct the trainee to slowly drive forward.  The distance between the LEFT (or 
RIGHT) rear wheel of the bus and the cone should be approximately 18” inches.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Set up the maneuver using the diagram.  Measure the length of 
the bus – bumper to bumper – and add 6 feet.  Place the center cone first. Place one 
cone forward of the center cone and one cone rearward of the center cone.

INSTRUCTOR NOTES:

1. Explain the maneuver in the classroom, using the diagram.
2. Be sure the trainee understands the steps associated with the maneuver before

performing it.
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When the pivot point and the 1st cone line up, instruct the trainee to stop.  Hard 
steer to the LEFT (or RIGHT) and continue forward, pivoting around the cone.  

4) The trainee should watch for the 2nd (middle) cone to become visible in the 
LEFT (or RIGHT) crossover mirror.  Instruct the trainee to stop.  Straighten the 
wheels and continue forward.  The bus should become parallel to the three 
cones.

5) The distance between the RIGHT (or LEFT) rear wheel of the bus and the 
2nd cone should be approximately 18” inches.  When the pivot point and the 2nd

cone line up, instruct the trainee to stop.  Hard steer to the RIGHT (or LEFT)
and continue forward, pivoting around the cone.

6) The trainee should watch for the 3rd (last) cone to become visible in the RIGHT 
(or LEFT) crossover mirror.  Instruct the trainee to stop.  Straighten the wheels 
and continue forward.  

7) The distance between the LEFT (or RIGHT) rear wheel of the bus and the 3rd

cone should be approximately 18” inches.  When the pivot point and the 3rd cone 
line up, instruct the trainee to stop.  Hard steer to the LEFT (or RIGHT) and 
continue forward, pivoting around the cone.  When the bus becomes parallel to 
the three cones, instruct the trainee to continue slowly forward until the back 
bumper is past the 3rd cone.

8) Instruct the trainee to shift the transmission into reverse, activate the 4-way 
hazard flashers and honk the horn twice.

9) Instruct the trainee to slowly drive backward.  The distance between the LEFT
(or RIGHT) rear wheel of the bus and the 3rd cone should be approximately 18” 
inches.  When the pivot point and the 3rd cone line up, instruct the trainee to 
stop.  Hard steer LEFT (or RIGHT) and continue backing, pivoting around the 
cone.

10) Instruct the trainee to watch the RIGHT (or LEFT) side mirror for the center cone 
to appear.  When it does, instruct the trainee to stop, straighten the wheels and 
continue backing.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Shifting the transmission into reverse, activating the 4-way 
hazard flashers and honking the horn twice are good safety procedures to use in 
preparation for backing.
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11) The distance between the RIGHT (or LEFT) rear wheel of the bus and the 
2nd cone should be approximately 18” inches.  When the pivot point and the 2nd

cone line up, instruct the trainee to stop, hard steer RIGHT (or LEFT) and 
continue backing, pivoting around the cone.

12) Instruct the trainee to watch the LEFT (or RIGHT) side mirror for the 1st cone to 
appear.  When it does, instruct the trainee to stop, straighten the wheels and 
continue backing.  

13) The distance between the LEFT (or RIGHT) rear wheel of the bus and the 1st

cone should be approximately 18” inches.  When the pivot point and the 1st cone 
line up, instruct the trainee to stop, hard steer LEFT (or RIGHT) and continue 
backing.  

14) The distance between the LEFT (or RIGHT) front wheel of the bus and the cone 
should be approximately 18” inches.  When the bus is parallel to the row of 
cones, instruct the trainee to straighten the wheels and continue backing until 
the front wheel of the bus and the 1st cone line up.  Instruct the trainee to stop.  

15) Secure the bus and honk the horn twice to indicate the maneuver has been 
completed.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Have the trainee practice this maneuver several times so they 
understand using the mirrors and pivot points.  As the trainee becomes more 
experienced, the distance between the cones can be decreased - move the outer cones 
toward the center cone - thereby making the maneuver more challenging.
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DIAGRAM:  FORWARD and BACKWARD SERPENTINE

3

2

No more 
than 18”

No more 
than 18”

No more 
than 18”

1
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REFERENCE POINT for BACKING

Pursuant to PED regulation 6.41.4.12.E.2 NMAC: The driver SHALL NOT back a bus 
on school grounds unless absolutely necessary, and then ONLY with the assistance 
from a responsible individual.

Remember:  If the trainee’s depth perception was off by as little as 10%:

They will be off when estimating the available space to the rear of the bus by as 
much as 10% of the length of the vehicle. On a 35 foot bus that is equivalent to 
3-1/2 feet. 

Therefore, it may appear to them that there is enough room and back more than 
room allows. If this is the case, they could hit an object behind the bus.

It’s safer to use reference point for backing.

Using a reference point for backing a bus is a simple and effective way to help prevent 
accidents.

1) Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat making sure it is properly adjusted, the 
mirrors are properly adjusted, the safety belt is fastened and the service door 
closed.

2) Make sure the trainee can see Cone A in the left side FLAT mirror (#1) without 
leaning. 

3) Instruct the trainee to look for an identifiable point on the side of the bus which 
lines up with the BASE of Cone A. THIS POINT ON THE BUS WILL BE THEIR
REFERENCE POINT FOR BACKING.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Instruct the trainee to remember their reference point for 
backing.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Set up the maneuver: Place Cone A one foot away from the left 
side of the back bumper of the bus.  Place Cone B at the center edge of the back bumper 
of the bus (this marks the original position of the bus).  
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4) When the trainee is certain that they have found their reference point for backing, 
instruct them to do the following:

Slowly drive the bus forward about 5 feet and stop;

Shift the transmission into reverse, activate the 4-way hazard flashers, honk 
the horn twice and slowly begin backing.

Back until the reference point for backing and the BASE of Cone A line up.

Secure the bus and honk the horn twice to indicate the maneuver has been 
completed.

TAIL SWING

One of the main causes of school bus accidents is tail swing.  The bus is too close to
objects – either on the right side or the left side – when making turns.  This maneuver 
will demonstrate the use of a reference point when making left turns.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: A good example of an identifiable point on the bus would be 
the edge of the wheel well or something on the stop sign. Regardless of what point is 
chosen, be certain the trainee can still identify the point once the bus is moved 
forward.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: The rear bumper should be directly over Cone B.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Set up the cones (see Side View of the diagram):  Place the 
center of one cone at the edge of the bus at the right back wheel behind the mud flap; the 
center of another cone at the corner of the right back bumper.  

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: This maneuver should be repeated several times until the 
trainee masters the use of the reference point for backing.  You may also try placing 
Cone A on the right side of the bus.  This could be helpful, since not all obstacles may 
be visible in the left mirror.
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Instructions:

1) Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat making sure it is properly adjusted, the 
mirrors are properly adjusted, the safety belt is fastened and the service door 
closed.

2) Have the trainee start the engine, shift the transmission to a forward gear, and 
release the park brake.

3) Have the trainee turn the steering wheel hard LEFT and slowly drive forward 
watching for your signal to stop – about one foot.  

4) Signal the trainee to stop the bus.

5) Place the center of a cone at the corner of the bumper.

6) Continue in this manner until the cone being placed meets up with the cone that 
was at the back tire.

7) Have the trainee secure the bus and join you.

8) Measure the distance from the center of the cone at the back wheel to the center 
of the last cone placed after the bus was driven forward; it’s usually about three 
feet. That means anything within that three feet will be hit when turning left.

9) Measure from the service door outward that same distance plus one foot (in this 
example, 4 feet) and place a cone. The base of the cone that is facing the bus 
should measure four feet from the side of the bus.

10)Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat again with the service door shut.

11)Slide your finger down the service door and have the trainee indicate to you 
when your finger lines up with the base of the cone.  Mark that spot on the door 
(small piece of tape, grease pencil).

Explanation: If an object (a car’s tire where it touches the pavement or the base of a 
pole) is within that 4 foot area, it will be hit by the tail swing of the bus.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Demonstrate how tail swing can hit an object within this area.  
Reposition the bus.  Place a cone or stack of cones within three feet of the bus just behind 
the service door.  Set up the demonstration and drive it again, but this time continue 
forward until the rear of the bus has made contact with the cone or stack of cones.
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DIAGRAM:  TAIL SWING

Side View:

Top View:

Original cone 
at back wheel
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BACKING INTO A STALL (ALLEY DOCK) – PASSENGER SIDE

Instructions:

1) Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat making sure it is properly adjusted, the 
mirrors are properly adjusted, the safety belt is fastened and the service door 
closed.

2) Instruct the trainee to slowly drive forward so that the front tire will continue to be 
about one foot away from Cones A and B and remain parallel to them.

3) Stop when the center of the right front wheel lines up with Cone B.

4) Turn the wheels all the way to the LEFT, maintaining constant pressure. The 
steering wheel can be turned even more after moving forward a short distance.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Set up the maneuver using the diagram.  Position the bus 
approaching Cone A, one foot to the left, and parallel to Cones A and B and park it.  The 
directions given for this maneuver are as if the trainee will be backing into the stall from 
the passenger side of the school bus.  

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: This reference point may need to be adjusted slightly because 
the turning radius of each bus can be different – even in the same model of bus.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: It is important that the bus be completely stopped when the 
wheels are turned. Moving forward while turning the wheels will alter the approach by 
several feet, requiring jockeying the bus into position, meaning driving forward and 
backing several times. This negates the entire principal of using reference points. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: SPECIAL NOTE:  Encourage the trainee to secure the bus and
get out – during any of the following maneuver and at any time – and walk around the 
bus to physically see the position of the bus in relation to the cones. 
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5) Drive forward slowly toward the Row C line of cones watching the RIGHT side 
mirrors (#5 & #6) that the tail swing does not make contact with Cone A –
including the base.

6) Stop when the front bumper is about one foot away from the base of the cones of 
Row C – not including the crossover mirror.

7) Shift the transmission into reverse gear, activate the 4-way hazard flashers and 
honk the horn twice.  

8) Begin backing the bus slowly and tightly pivoting the rear tire around Cone B.

9) Continue backing into the stall making appropriate steering adjustments and
being careful not to encroach on any cones – including the base.

10)Bring the bus within ONE foot of the rear barrier of cones.

11)Secure the bus and honk the horn twice to indicate the maneuver has been 
completed.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: The bus should now be at about a 45 degree angle between the 
Row C line of cones and the stall or alley. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Remind the trainee to use their reference point from the 
“Reference Point for Backing” maneuver.
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BA

DIAGRAM:  BACKING INTO A STALL (ALLEY DOCK) – PASSENGER SIDE

12 feet
Measure from inside edge of 
cone to inside edge of cone.

Bus length PLUS 4 feet

Measure from top edge of 
Cone B to top edge of 
back barrier cone.

Bus length PLUS 4 feet

Measure from bottom
edge of cone in Row C to 
top edge of Cone A.

1 foot line

Measure from bottom
edge of cone to top edge 
of cone.

Tire and Cone B should be 
1 foot apart; bus parallel to 
Cones A & B.
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BACKING INTO A STALL (ALLEY DOCK) – DRIVER SIDE

Instructions:

1) Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat making sure it is properly adjusted, the 
mirrors are properly adjusted, the safety belt is fastened and the service door 
closed.

2) Instruct the trainee to slowly drive forward while remaining parallel to the Row C
cones and at least two feet away from them.

3) Stop when the back bumper has passed Cone A.

4) Shift the transmission into reverse gear, activate the 4-way hazard flashers and 
honk the horn twice.  

5) Begin backing the bus slowly, tightly pivoting the left rear tire around Cone A.

6) Continue backing into the stall making appropriate steering adjustments and 
being careful not to encroach on any cones – including the base.

7) Bring the bus within ONE foot of the rear barrier of cones.

8) Secure the bus and honk the horn twice to indicate the maneuver has been
completed.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Set up the maneuver using the diagram.  Position the bus 
parallel to and at least two feet left of the Row C cones and park it.  The directions given 
for this maneuver are as if the trainee will be backing into the stall from the driver’s side 
of the school bus.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Remind the trainee to use their reference point from the 
“Reference Point for Backing” maneuver.
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BA

DIAGRAM:  BACKING INTO A STALL (ALLEY DOCK) – DRIVER SIDE

Bus should be parallel to and at 
least 2 feet away from Row C cones.

Bus length PLUS 4 feet

Measure from bottom
edge of cone in Row C to 
top edge of Cone A.

Bus length PLUS 4 feet

Measure from top edge of 
Cone B to top edge of 
back barrier cone.

1 foot line

Measure from bottom
edge of cone to top edge 
of cone.

12 feet
Measure from inside edge of 
cone to inside edge of cone.
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PARALLEL PARKING – PASSENGER SIDE

Instructions:

1) Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat making sure it is properly adjusted, the 
mirrors are properly adjusted, the safety belt is fastened and the service door 
closed.

2) Instruct the trainee to slowly drive forward while remaining parallel to Cones A and
B and about one foot away from them.

3) Stop when the right rear wheel’s pivot point is lined up with Cone A.

4) Turn the wheels all the way to the RIGHT, maintaining constant pressure.  

5) Shift the transmission into reverse gear, activate the 4-way hazard flashers and 
honk the horn twice.  

6) Begin backing the bus slowly. The steering wheel can be turned even more after 
moving backward a short distance.

7) Monitor only the LEFT side mirrors (#1 and #2).

8) Stop when the corner cone (Cone X in the diagram) becomes visible.

9) While stopped, straighten the wheels.

10)Begin backing the bus slowly while continuing to see Cone X in the LEFT side 
mirrors (#1 and #2).

11)Stop when Cone A appears in the forward service door window.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Set up the maneuver using the diagram.  Position the bus left of 
Cone B and parallel to both Cones A and B and park it.  The directions for this 
maneuver are given as if the trainee will be backing into the parking space from the 
passenger side of the school bus.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: This reference point may need to be adjusted slightly because 
the turning radius of each bus can be different – even in the same model of bus.
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12)While stopped, turn the wheels all the way to the LEFT, maintaining constant 
pressure.  Begin slowly backing.  Again, the steering wheel can be turned even 
more after moving backward a short distance.

13)Continue slowly backing the bus and monitoring the RIGHT crossover mirror,
making appropriate steering adjustments to avoid Cone A.

14)When clear of Cone A, watch the cones behind the bus using the LEFT side mirrors 
(#1 and  #2).  The cones will begin to disappear.

15)Stop when only Cone B remains visible.

16)Secure the bus and honk the horn twice to indicate the maneuver has been 
completed.
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DIAGRAM:  PARALLEL PARKING – PASSENGER SIDE

(Position of bus after step 1 of instructions.)

A

XB

12 feet
Measure from left edge of cone 
A to left edge of corner cone.

Bus length PLUS 
10 feet

Measure from 
bottom edge of 
top cone to top
edge bottom 
cone.
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DIAGRAM:  PARALLEL PARKING – PASSENGER SIDE (continued)

Cone A

X
Cone B

Cone A

X
Cone B
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DIAGRAM:  PARALLEL PARKING – PASSENGER SIDE (continued)

Cone A

X
Cone B

Cone A

X
Cone B
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PARALLEL PARKING – DRIVER SIDE

Instructions:

1) Have the trainee sit in the driver’s seat making sure it is properly adjusted, the 
mirrors are properly adjusted, the safety belt is fastened and the service door 
closed.

2) Instruct the trainee to slowly drive forward while remaining parallel to Cones A
and B and about one foot away from them.

3) Stop when the left rear wheel’s pivot point is lined up with Cone B.

4) Turn the wheels all the way to the LEFT, maintaining constant pressure.  

5) Shift the transmission into reverse gear, activate the 4-way hazard flashers and 
honk the horn twice.  

6) Begin slowly backing the bus.  The steering wheel can be turned even more after 
moving backward a short distance.

7) Monitor only the RIGHT side mirrors (#5 and #6).

8) Stop when the corner cone (Cone X in the diagram) becomes visible.

9) While stopped, straighten the wheels.

10)Begin slowly backing the bus while continuing to see Cone X in the RIGHT side 
mirrors (#5 and #6).  

11)Stop when Cone B is at the center of the driver’s window.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Set up the maneuver using the diagram or, if after Parallel 
Parking – Passenger Side, simply reverse the direction of the bus.  Position the bus to the 
right of Cone A and parallel to both Cones A and B and park it.  The directions for this 
maneuver are given as if the trainee will be backing into the parking space from the 
driver side of the school bus.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: This reference point may need to be adjusted slightly because 
the turning radius of each bus can be different – even in the same model of bus.
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12)While stopped, turn the wheels all the way to the RIGHT, maintaining constant 
pressure.  Begin slowly backing.  Again, the steering wheel can be turned even 
more after moving backward a short distance.  

13)Continue slowly backing the bus and monitoring the LEFT crossover mirror, 
making appropriate steering adjustments to avoid Cone B.

14)When clear of Cone B, watch the cones behind the bus using the RIGHT side 
mirrors (#5 and #6).  The cones will begin to disappear.

15)Stop when only Cone A remains visible.

16)Secure the bus and honk the horn twice to indicate the maneuver has been 
completed.
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DIAGRAM:  PARALLEL PARKING – DRIVER SIDE

Cone B
(Position of bus after step 1 of instructions.)

X

Cone A

Cone B

X

Cone A
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DIAGRAM:  PARALLEL PARKING – DRIVER SIDE (continued)

Cone B

X
Cone A

Cone B

X
Cone A
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Classroom Instruction 

 
 
 
 
 

 
SECTION 1-H 

 
Passenger Management 

 
 

1 Hour of Instruction 
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SECTION 1-I 

 
Transporting Students with Disabilities 

 
 

1 Hour of Instruction 
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Section 1 – TERMS, DEFINITIONS, AND MEDICAL CONDITIONS 
 
1.1 ACRONYMS 
 
The following are acronyms that are frequently used in Pupil Transportation. 
 
AAP American Academy of Pediatrics 
 
ADA Americans with Disabilities Act 
 
DOJ Department of Justice 
 
DOT Department of Transportation 
 
EHA Education of the Handicapped Act 
 
FAPE Free Appropriate Public Education 
 
FERPA Federal Education Rights and Privacy Act 
 
FHWA Federal Highway Administration 
 
FMCSR  Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
 
FMVSS  Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards 
 
IDEA Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 
 
IEP Individualized Education Program 
 
IFSP Individual Family Service Plan 
 
LRE Least Restrictive Environment 
 
MDC Multidisciplinary Plan 
 

MTD Motor Transportation Department 
 
NAPT National Association of Pupil Transportation 
 
NASDPTS National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation 
 
NHSTA  National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
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OCR Office of Civil Rights 
 
OSERS  Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services 
 
OSEP Office of Special Education Programs 
 
OSHA Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
 
PL  Public Law 
 
PTSI Pupil Transportation Safety Institute 

 
 
1.2 STANDARDS FOR PROVIDING TRANSPORTATION FOR ELIGIBLE 

STUDENTS 
 

6.41.4.7 NMAC DEFINITIONS 
 

F. Individualized Education Plan (IEP) – A written statement for a student 
with a disability that is developed and implemented in accordance with 
Federal and State Laws and Regulations regarding individuals with 
disabilities and with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, IDEA 
(Individuals with Disabilities Education Act) and ADA (Americans with 
Disabilities Act). The IEP serves as a communication tool between 
parents and the entire educational team and enables them as equal 
participants to decide collectively what the student’s specific needs are, 
what services shall be provided to meet those needs, what the 
anticipated outcomes may be, and how the student’s progress toward 
meeting the projected outcomes shall be evaluated. 

 
G. Individualized Services – Transportation modifications recommended 

by the IEP committee to provide for the individual needs of students.  
 
H. Least Restrictive Environment (LRE) – To the maximum extent 

appropriate, students with disabilities, including those in public 
institutions or placed or referred by public agencies to private institutions 
or other care facilities, are educated with students who are not disabled 
within the most inclusive environment. Special classes, separate 
schooling, or other removal of students with disabilities shall occur only 
when the nature or severity of the disability is such that education in 
regular classes or other natural environments with the use of 
supplementary aids and services cannot be achieved satisfactorily. 
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R. Transportation as a Related Service – Transportation modifications 
and/or supportive services specified in the IEP as required to assist a 
student with disabilities to benefit from educational services in the least 
restrictive environment. If modifications and/or supportive services are 
not required, transportation is not a related service. When the student’s 
needs do not require modifications, transportation is provided as a 
regular service if the student is eligible.  

 
 
1.3 DEFINITIONS OF DISABILITIES 

 
ACTING OUT – overt expression of strong feelings, the nature of which is not 
always understood by the child. 
 
AGGRESSION – a forceful action, usually directed toward another, often 
unprovoked, and out of proportion to the situation. 
 
ANTISOCIAL – behavior that is hostile to the well being of society. 
 
ANXIETY – a feeling of apprehension, the source of which is frequently 
unrecognized. 
 
APHASIA – a defect of loss of power of expression by speech, writing, or signs, or of 
comprehending spoken or written language, due to injury or disease of the brain 
centers. 
 
ATTENTION DEFICIT DISORDER (ADD) 
ATTENTION DEFICIT HYPERACTIVITY DISORDER (ADHD) – a term used to 
describe a group of students who share several common problems caused by a 
dysfunction in the central nervous system.  Many will exhibit behavior characteristics 
such as poor memory problems, disorganization, hyperactivity and short attention 
spans. 
 
AUTISM – a developmental disability significantly affecting verbal and nonverbal 
communication and social interaction, generally evident before age 3 that adversely 
affects a child's educational performance.  Irregularities with communication, 
engagement in repetitive activities, and stereo type movements, resistance to 
environmental change or change in routines and unusual responses to sensory 
experiences.  
 
BIRTH INJURIES – injuries occurring in the child at birth.  The central nervous 
system is more commonly affected, but bones and joints may be involved. 
 
BLIND – see visual impairments. 
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BRAIN INJURED CHILD (STRAUSS SYNDROME) – a child who before, during or 
after birth has received injury to or suffered infection of the brain.  As a result of such 
organic impairment there may or may not be defects of the neuro-motor system but 
this child may show disturbance in perception, thinking, and emotional behavior.  
These disturbances may occur alone or in combination. 
 
C.N.S. – Central Nervous System 
 
CEREBRAL PALSY – a condition resulting from neurological damage occurring 
before, at, or shortly after birth, which interferes with normal control of the motor 
system. 
 
CHRONICALLY ILL – a term for temporary or permanent health conditions which 
are otherwise not categorized but which make it impractical for the student to receive 
adequate education through the regular school program.  Conditions include 
tuberculosis, epilepsy, cardiac conditions, leukemia, asthma, malnutrition, 
pregnancy, and other disabilities. 
 
CONVULSION – Violent involuntary contraction of muscles. 
 
DEAFNESS – see hearing impairment. 
 
DISTRACTIBILITY – abnormal variation of attention.  Inability to fix attention on any 
one subject for an appropriate amount of time, due to central nervous system 
impairment that prohibits necessary monitoring of stimuli. 
 
DOWN SYNDROME (MONGOLISM) – this is the largest single syndrome that is 
accompanied by severe retardation.  It occurs in all levels of society.  It is caused by 
a genetic malformation at conception.  Downs' children are usually short with a 
small, wide face and slated, almond shaped eyes that give them a slightly oriental 
appearance that led to the no longer used term "Mongoloid."  The down's child has a 
special reputation for being much happier, friendlier, and more easily managed than 
other retarded children.  
 
DULL-NORMAL CHILD – an individual at the lower end of the average range of 
intelligence.  Can function as majority of children except in academic subjects.  
Usually 1 - 2 years retarded according to age grade level. 
 
DYSLEXIA – impairment in one's ability to read. 
 
EDUCABLE MENTALLY RETARDED – mentally retarded children whose retardation 
ranges from mild to moderate.  Usually have IQ scores between 50 - 75.  Most of these 
children can be taught useful reading and number skills and some academic content.  
Usually will not achieve beyond 4th or 5th grade academically.  Capable of integration 
in society and becoming at least partially self-sustaining. 
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EMOTIONAL DISORDER (ED) – students whose behavior is dangerous to 
themselves or others, or which seriously interferes with their learning are classified as 
E.D.  The causes may be genetic, biological, learned behavior, or a combination of 
factors.  Two to three percent of a school's population may be E.D. 
 
ENCEPHALITIS – inflammation of the brain.  There are many types, most of which 
are due to virus infections and which can damage one or many parts of the brain.  It 
is a frequent cause of learning and behavior disorder of the resultant brain 
dysfunction. 
 
EPILEPSY – a chronic functional nervous disorder, characterized by attacks of 
unconsciousness or convulsions or both. 
 
EXCEPTIONAL CHILD – term refers to a child who is different from the average 
child.  A child showing abnormality either physical or mental could be considered in 
this category.  Sometimes the term "exceptional" is used to designate a child of 
more than usual ability.  May include the handicapped and gifted who deviate from 
the average to such an extent that they require specialized treatment. 
 
GUILLAIN-BARRE – extreme muscular weakness which may progress to paralysis. 
 
HEARING IMPAIRMENT – sensory neuro loss resulting in slight to profound hearing 
loss and learning difficulties.  The hearing loss is often associated with language 
retardation and speech difficulties. 
 
HYDROCEPHALUS (A CLINICAL TYPE) – an enlarged cranium is a clinical sign of 
this condition which involves an accumulation of cerebro-spinal fluid, within the 
ventricles of the brain.  Degree of mental defect depends upon degree of cortical 
destruction, not size of skull.  May be caused by genetic factors, accidents, or 
infection. 
 
HYPERACTIVE (HYPERKINESIS) – a characteristic of brain injured children.  
Abnormally increased motor activity. 
 
INTELLIGENCE QUOTIENT (IQ) – expressed mental development in relation to 
chronological age; obtained by dividing mental age by the chronological age and 
multiplying by 100.  The chronological age is often fixed at a certain maximum, most 
commonly 16 years, when growth of intelligence due to maturation has been 
assured to cease; this may vary in different tests, however, from 14 to 18 years. 
 
INTELLECTUALLY DISABLED – significantly below average general intellectual 
functioning existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive behavior and manifest 
during the developmental period that adversely affects a child's educational 
performance. 
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KINESTHETIC – pertaining to the sense by which muscular motion, weight, position, 
space orientation, etc. are perceived. 
 
LATERALLY – the tendency, involuntary motor acts, to use preferentially the organs 
(hands, feet, ears, eyes) of the same side. 
 
MENTAL AGE (MA) – the level of a person's mental ability expressed in terms of 
norms based on the median mental age of a group of persons having the same 
chronological age; thus, if a child's mental ability is equal to that of the average nine-
year old, he has a mental age of nine years, regardless of his actual chronological 
age.  In class, the teacher should teach on basis of MA not IQ. 
 
MENTALLY RETARDED – usually considered a general term meaning all degrees 
of mental retardation from profound mental deficiency to borderline mental defect or 
to upper limits of dull normalcy.  Frequently considered a synonym for mentally 
handicapped. 
 
MICROCEPHALY – characterized by a small skull, and small brain.  Severe 
retardation is usually associated with Microcephaly.  Apparently results from either 
inherited cause, prenatal factors, including massive doses of radiation, or injuries at 
birth such as the cut off of oxygen. 
 
MINIMAL BRAIN DYSFUNCTION – this diagnostic category refers to children of 
average or above general intelligence with learning and/or behavior difficulties 
ranging from mild to severe, which are due to subtle deviations arising from genetic 
variations, perinatal brain insults, metabolic imbalances, biochemical irregularities, 
and/or illness and injuries sustained during the years critical for the development and 
maturation of those parts of the central nervous system having to do with perception, 
language, inhibition of impulses and motor control. 
 
MONGOLOID CHILD – (MONGOLIS, a clinical type of feeble-minded person or child 
with Downs Syndrome.)  Physically and mentally defective at birth. 
 
MULTIPLE-DISABLED – a child who has two or more disabilities. 
 
MULTIPLE SCLEROSIS (MS) – a progressive disease of the central nervous 
system.  Wide-ranging systems include tremor and shaking of limbs, paralysis and 
poor balance. 
 
MUSCULAR DYSTROPHY (MD) – involves the deterioration and wasting away of 
muscle tissue on the outside of the body frame.  Usually begins in the shoulders and 
hips and progresses out to the hands and feet.  Children usually walk until age 8 or 9 
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when weakness forces them into a wheelchair.  For Duchene’s, the most common 
type, the life span is 14 to 18 years. 
 
NYSTAGMUS – an involuntary rapid movement of the eyeball, which may be 
horizontal, vertical, rotary, or mixed, i.e., of two varieties. 
 
ORTHOPEDICS – branch of medicine dealing with deformities and diseases of the 
bones and joints. 
 
OSTEOGENESIS IMPERFECTA (Brittle Bone Disease) – may suffer from multiple 
fractures if minor pressure or stress is imposed. 
 
OTHER HEALTH IMPAIRED – having limited strength, vitality, or alertness due to 
chronic or acute health problems such as a heart condition, tuberculosis, rheumatic 
fever, nephritis, asthma, sickle cell anemia, hemophilia, epilepsy, lead poisoning 
leukemia, or diabetes, that adversely affect a child's educational performance. 
 
PERCEPTUAL COMMUNICATIVE DISORDER (PC) – something, perhaps slight 
brain damage, interferes with the individual's learning process.  These people will 
look "normal" but may be aggressive, irritable, hyperactive, very distracting, too silly, 
pushy, etc.  They can learn and sometimes quite well.  Dyslexia is one type of 
learning disorder. 
 
PERCEPTUAL DISTURBANCES – a characteristic of brain injured children who are 
attracted to the details of an object rather than the whole object.  May occur in 
visual-perceptual field, tactual field, and auditory field.  Requires special educational 
procedures. 
 
PERSEVERATION – a perceptual disturbance occurring in brain injured children 
may be present when child continually repeats what he/she has done, like repeating 
the same word, letter, action, or number over and over again.  Requires specific 
educational procedures to aid child. 
 
SENSE TRAINING – games, exercises, and materials to develop those senses 
relating to sight, hearing, muscular coordination, taste, touch, and smell. 
 
SERIOUSLY EMOTIONALLY/BEHAVIORALLY DISTURBED (SE/BD) - a condition 
exhibiting one or more of the following characteristics over a long period of time and 
to a marked degree that adversely affects a child's educational performance. 
 

1. An inability to learn that cannot be explained by intellectual, sensory, or health 
problems. 

 
2. An inability to build or maintain satisfactory interpersonal relationships with 

peers or teachers. 
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3. Inappropriate types of behavior or feelings under normal circumstances, such 

as general evasive mood of happiness or depression. 
 

4. A tendency to develop physical symptoms or fears associated with personal 
or school problems. The term includes schizophrenia.  The term does not 
apply to children who are maladjusted, unless it is determined that they have 
a serious emotional disturbance. 

 
SIGNIFICANTLY LIMITED INTELLECTUAL CAPABILITY (SLIC) – these students 
are not classified as mentally retarded, but most have an IQ of 50-79 or even lower.  
They lack the ability to live independently and\or are very slow learners in the 
classroom.  Their mental size does not match their physical size. 
 
SPECIAL CLASSES (HOMOGENEOUS) – a segregated class in a regular grade 
school organized according to a range of chronological age and mental age abilities. 
 
SPECIFIC LEARNING DISABLED (SLD) – a disorder in one or more of the basic 
psychological processes involved in understanding or in using language spoken or 
written, that may manifest itself in an imperfect ability to listen, think, speak, write, 
spell, or to do mathematical calculations.  The term includes such conditions as 
perceptual disabilities, brain injury, minimal brain dysfunction, dyslexia and 
developmental aphasia. 
 
SPEECH/LANGUAGE IMPAIRMENT – a communication disorder such as stuttering, 
impaired articulation, a language impairment, or a voice impairment that adversely 
affects a child's educational performance. 
 
SPINA BIFIDA – a genetic condition present at birth.  The infant is born with a spinal 
lesion, or an opening in the spine.  Though the lesion can be closed, there is little or 
no feeling below the opening. 
 
STRABISMUS – deviation of the eye which the individual cannot overcome.  The 
visual axes assume a position relative to each other different from that required by 
the psychological conditions.  Squint or crossed eyes. 
 
TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY – an acquired injury to the brain caused by an external 
physical force, resulting in total or partial functional disability or psychosocial 
impairment, or both, that adversely affects a child's educational performance. 
 
VISUALLY DEFECTIVE – one whose sight is imperfect. 
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1.4 EMERGENCY MEDICAL CONDITIONS 
 
The Following Conditions Require Immediate Medical Attention 
ANAPHYLACTIC SHOCK – This is a major medical emergency.  Extreme allergic 
reaction to bee stings, medicines, etc.  The smooth muscles in the respiratory 
system close off so the victim is not able to get air in and out of lungs. 
 
ASTHMA – Can be serious medical emergency.  An asthma attack can sometimes 
be brought on by excitement.  Passenger needs good ventilation while in transit. 
 
CYSTIC FIBROSIS – These people may have breathing and heart problems.  If they 
sweat a lot, they will suffer serious salt depletion, which is a medical emergency. 
 
DIABETES – An insulin reaction is a serious medical emergency.  Symptoms are 
anxiety, headache, blurred vision, hunger, abdominal pains, profuse perspiration, 
tremulousness, disorientation, slurred speech, and seizures.  If the person appears 
to be going into insulin shock, some form of easily digestible sugar should be given, 
for example, sugar orange juice, soda pop or candy. 
 
HEART, CONGENITAL MALFORMATION – plan for emergency transit or 
assistance if heart fails.  Impaired walls or valves of heart cause malfunction and 
progressive damage. 
 
HEMOPHILIA – Disease of the blood where it fails to clot and abnormal bleeding 
occurs.  When a head or neck injury is sustained, this becomes a top medical 
priority.  Passenger may stop breathing or rapidly sustain brain damage. 
 
JUVENILE ARTHRITIS – Will not have good protective reflexes when they fall.  
Slower blood clotting time as well as possible heart failure. 
 
KIDNEY & URINARY TRACT DISEASES – If the passenger is on dialysis they 
should be not be given any fluids and may be on a special diet.  Be aware of shunt 
drainage tubes that may not be exposed. 
 
LEUKEMIA – May have tendency to vomit while on chemotherapy.  Tend to be 
anemic and bleed easily.  Bones may be more fragile. 
 
SHUNT – A tube in the head, neck or other part of the body that drains excess fluid.  
Serious medical problems may arise if shunt is bumped or pressure applied to area.  
 
TRACHEOTOMY (TRACH) – If the tube becomes plugged, person will not be able 
to breath.  Try to get them to cough up.  If possible, keep passenger away from area 
where there is likely to be a lot of dust or debris in air.  If artificial respiration is 
required, breathe into the tracheal tube and close mouth and nose 
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Section 2 – DO NOT RESUSCITATE (DNR) 
 
 Cover District/Contractor Policies and Procedures with regard to this 

section. 
 
 
Section 3 – CONFIDENTIALITY 
 

� Discussion of students should be carefully monitored and avoided outside the 
work area.   

 
� Students name and phone numbers should not be repeated over any two-way 

radio. 
 

� Students receiving Transportation as a Related Service will have IEP 
paperwork on file in the district office (Student Services).   

 
� The Transportation Office will also have some type of paperwork (medical 

card, transportation form, etc.) on file in their office.  
  

� School bus drivers and assistants should have some type of paperwork kept 
on the bus. 

 
� In addition, any information on medical cards and medical alert cards is 

confidential and should not be given out or openly discussed. 
 

� Be careful and considerate of the family’s feelings and the student’s feelings. 
 
 
 

***ALWAYS REMEMBER*** 
 
 

“A CHILD IS A CHILD BEFORE THEY ARE 
CHILDREN WITH DISABILITIES” 
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Section 4 – UNIVERSAL PRECAUTIONS 
 
This is an aggressive, standardized approach to infection control. According to the 
concept of Universal Precautions, you should treat all human blood and certain body 
fluids as if they are known to contain HIV, HBV, or other blood borne pathogens. 
 
MATERIALS THAT REQUIRE UNIVERSAL PRECAUTIONS 
 

* BLOOD  
* SEMEN 
* VAGINAL SECRETIONS 
* CEREBROSPINAL FLUID 
* SYNOVIAL FLUID 
* PLEURAL FLUID 
* ANY BODY FLUID WITH VISIBLE BLOOD 
* ANY UNIDENTIFIABLE BODY FLUID 
* SALIVA FROM DENTAL PROCEDURES 

 
 
PREVENTIVE MEASURES 
 

� *Wear protective gloves, mask, and gown when cleaning up spills 
. 

� *Receive Hepatitis B immunization 
 

� *Use BIOHAZARD bags and/or containers. 
 

� *Wash hands!!!!!  Immediately following contact with possible blood borne 
pathogens, even if gloves were used. All buses will be equipped with body 
fluid kits. Disposable towels should be used when possible. 

 
 
4.1 BLOOD BORNE PATHOGENS 
 
A disease-causing microorganism that may be present in human blood. They may 
be transmitted with any exposure to blood or OPIM (other potentially infectious 
materials). 
 
Two pathogens of significance are Hepatitis B Virus (HBV) and Human 
Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV). 
 
A number of blood borne diseases other than HIV and HBV exist, such as Hepatitis 
C, Hepatitis D, and syphilis. 
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4.2 COMMUNICABLE DISEASES 
 
A course of illness which is transmittable to others. 
 
Always remember to wash your hands. 
 
Be careful, knowledgeable, and be prepared concerning the handling of students 
who may have infectious diseases. 
 
Examples: 
Strep throat 
Pink eye 
Impetigo 
Ring worm 
Lice 
Scabies 
Diarrheal Diseases 
Mononucleosis 
 
 
Section 5 – OPERATION AND CARE OF SPECIALIZED EQUIPMENT 
 
5.1 WHEELCHAIR TYPES 
 
 A. MANUAL - Pushed by self or other. 
 
 B. ELECTRIC - Battery powered. Wheelchairs in which the batteries project 

above the level of the seat, and which are not securely connected to the 
wheelchair frame. 

 
 Examples: 

� Mobility carts for children. 
 
� Wheelchairs with reclining backrests. 
 
� Wheelchairs that fold to be placed on a car seat. 
 
� Lightweight "stroller" types - Wheelchairs with many tube ends 

projecting above seat height, and a weak component between 
wheels and seat. Wheelchairs with a plastic seat suspended on a 
single post. Scooter type with a front projection. Wheelchairs with a 
very low backrest. 
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5.2 WHEELCHAIR LIFTS  
 

A. Line bus lift door up with sidewalk, driveway, walkway 
 
B. Team effort--1 inside/1 outside--work together  
 
C. Greet family and student 
 
D. Load chair onto lift according to lift manufacturer recommendations -- 

(student facing toward the bus or student’s back toward bus) 
 
E. Turn off power on electric chairs. Engage brakes. 
 
F. Communicate with student. (Are you ok? Going up. Going down, etc.) 
 
G. Hold the armrest of chair 
 
H. Give the student reassurance; show the family you are a professional who 

knows how to do the job. 
 

1. Once inside, help student place the chair and give oral directions. 
Tape marks on the floor to let students know where to stop. 

 
2. Wheelchairs shall be forward facing. 
 
3. Turn off the power on electric chairs. 
 
4. Always use a 4 point tie down system. 

 
I. Both front and rear tie down sites should be just below the seat at welded 

sites.  Tie down sites must not be on removable parts of the wheelchair 
such as armrests, leg rests, and removable wheels. 

 
 
5.3 WHEELCHAIRS – PLACEMENT AND SECUREMENT  
 

A. Tie down sites must not be on the crossbar; that allows most wheelchairs 
to collapse.  Axles are not the first choice, and should only be used if 
hardened steel bolts are present. (Note: Most chairs are equipped with 
removable axles-which are hollow.) 

 
Note: most chairs are equipped with removable axles-which are hollow. 
 
B. Straps should be at a 45-degree angle from the floor. 
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C. Headrests should be utilized to minimize risk of neck injury. 
 

D. Remove lap trays and store them securely on the bus.  
 

E. Tie down straps should never be crossed or twisted. 
 

F. Keep tie down straps in matched sets.  Do not mix and match. 

 

 
 
5.4 OCCUPANT RESTRAINT TYPES 
 

A. INTEGRATED RESTRAINT SYSTEM – One which anchors the occupant 
restraint to either the wheelchair or the wheelchair tie down system. 

 
B. INDEPENDENT RESTRAINT SYSTEM - One which is anchored to the 

vehicle separately from the wheelchair. 
 

1. The lap belt should be positioned across the pelvic bone, not across 
the abdomen. 

 
2. The shoulder strap should be positioned directly over the shoulder, 

and the length of the strap should be minimized. 
 
3. Lap belt should be at 45-degree angle across the occupant's pelvis.  

When using an integrated system (in which the occupant restraint is 
attached to the rear tie downs of the wheelchair securement system), 
the rear tie down site must be selected with this in mind. 

 
4. No sense in securing wheelchair to the bus if you don't secure 

student to wheelchair. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Special note: Placing the rear securement points above the wheel chair 
center of gravity leads to a backward rotation of the wheelchair and 
occupant during a frontal crash. Locating the rear securement points at the 
same level as the center of gravity provides the most controlled crash 
response. Locating the rear securement points below the center of gravity 
produces a forward rotation of the wheelchair and occupant. 

*Cleaning and care for all tie downs, occupant restraints, and lifts are essential to 
keep them in working order. Follow the manufacturer directions on how to care for 
these items. 
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5.5 CHILD SAFETY SEAT TYPES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A. INFANT SEAT 
 
B. CONVERTIBLE OR INFANT/TODDLER SEAT 
 
C. HIGH BACK BOOSTER 
 
D. BOOSTER SEAT 
 
E. BUILT IN OR INTEGRATED SEAT 
 
F. HARNESS/SAFETY VEST 
 
G. SPELL CAST 

 
H. TRAVELING BED 

 
 

5.6 CHILD SAFETY SEAT GUIDELINES 
 

A. Child safety seats should never be placed in any automobile seat that is 
equipped with an air bag. 

 
B. Children with tracheotomies should avoid using safety seats with a 

harness/tray shield combination or an armrest.  These could clog trach 
tube. 

 
C. Children with poor neck/head control should use a safety seat that reclines 

slightly in the forward facing position.  Soft padding can be used to help 
with alignment of head. 

 
D. Lateral support may be provided with rolled blankets or towels. 
 
E. A foam roll or rolled blanket may be placed under a child's knees to inhibit 

hyper tonicity or opisthotonic positioning. 
 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: A student’s IEP will dictate when a student is to be secured 
in a child safety seat. Pursuant to state law, school buses and public transportation 
are exempt from the law requiring children to be transported in child safety seats. 
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F. Crotch roll may be added between the child's leg and crotch strap to keep 
hips against the back of the seat and the child positioned upright. 

 
G. Secure child safety seat according to manufactures directions. 
 
H. Pull top of safety seat forward, if seat can be pulled more than 3 inches 

from back of seat, the safety seat could topple over forward and injure the 
child in a quick brake situation and injure the child in the seat. 

 
I. Place hands on both sides of safety seat and try to tip the seat over. 
 

 

 
 

J. Ask yourself 
 

1. Is the child facing the right direction for both age and weight? 
 
2. Is the shoulder harness snug, does it stay tight on their shoulders? 
 
3. Is the seat belt in the right place and pulled tight?  (The seat-belt that 

secures the safety seat to car/bus seat.) 
 

K. Seat belts attaching the safety seat to the bench seat should be checked 
daily to ensure the tightness of the seat belt. Seatbelt slippage can occur 
over time. 

 
1. Safety seats should be cleaned between students if more than one 

student uses a safety seat.  Cleaning should be done weekly with a 
bleach and water solution. 

 
2. Use manufactures directions for cleaning. 

 
PLEASE INSERT ANY ADDITIONAL MATERIAL OR INFORMATION 

YOUR DISTRICT/CONTRACTOR MAY PROVIDE FOR SPECIFIC 
STUDENT NEEDS 

 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  If there is a lot of movement side to side, the safety seat 
could tip over during a turn and injure the child in the seat. 
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Classroom Instruction 

 
 

 
 
 
 

 
SECTION 1-J 

 
Drug and Alcohol Awareness 

 
 

1 Hour of Instruction 
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Each employer must provide and discuss educational material regarding 
the requirements of the employer, 6.41.4 New Mexico Administrative Code 
(NMAC), and the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) 
Regulation 49 Code of Federal Requirements (CFR) Part 382 as they 
pertain to drug and alcohol awareness and their duties as a driver.  

Requirements of the Employer:

Insert Employer information.

6.41.4 NMAC:

6.41.4.11 SCHOOL BUS DRIVERS, SUBSTITUTES, AND BUS 
ASSISTANTS RESPONSIBILITIES

D. Physical qualifications (buses drug-free area)
F. Operational standards for an initial driver applicant (pre-

employment)

FMCSA:

Five reasons for testing:

382.301 – Pre-employment
382.303 – Post accident
382.305 – Random
382.307 – Reasonable suspicion
382.309 – Return to duty

Commercial Driver License Manual:

CDL Licensing Information (page before Table of Contents); review “Implied 
Consent” with trainee.  

Page 1-4 under 1.3.2, paragraph 2 and 1st point

Page 1-4 under 1.3.2, paragraph 6.
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Classroom Instruction 

 
 
 
 
 

 
SECTION 1-K 

 
Defensive Driving  

Coaching the School Bus Driver 
 
 

6 Hours of Instruction 
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PAGE LEFT BLANK 
 

PLEASE INSERT THE 
 

“COACHING THE SCHOOL BUS DRIVER” 
 

TRAINING PROGRAM HERE 
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Classroom/Hands-On 

Instruction 
 

 
 
 
 

 
SECTION 1-L 

 
First Aid/CPR 

 
 

(Minimum 6 Hour Course) 
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PAGE LEFT BLANK 
 

PLEASE INSERT THE  
 

FIRST AID/CPR TRAINING 
 

PROGRAM THAT YOUR 
 

DISTRICT/CONTRACTOR RECOMMENDS 
 
 

The course must be nationally recognized 
and approved by the STB 

(No On-Line Training Courses) 
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Hands-On Instruction
 

 
 
 

SECTION 1-M
Behind-the-Wheel

6 Hours of Instruction

Observation Time
2 Hours of Training
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Behind-the-Wheel Training Activities

BACKING PROCEDURES

Activate hazards
Honk the horn twice 
Select reverse gear
USE EXTREME CAUTION
When possible, have a spotter assist that is on the outside of the bus 
DO NOT back a bus on school grounds unless absolutely necessary and then 
only with assistance from a responsible individual

CURVE PROCEDURES

Check traffic in all directions
Reduce speed by braking and, if necessary, lowering the gear before entering 
the curve so that further braking is not required in the curve 
Maintain speed during the curve 
Keep all wheels in the driving lane
Frequently check traffic and lanes on all sides during the curve
Make no strong accelerations
After concluding curve, resume travel in appropriate gear

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: To give the trainee practice, have them complete a full pre-trip 
inspection before each session of Behind-the-Wheel training.  The time, however, does 
not count toward the Behind-the-Wheel training time.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Set up a training route.  Start out in a residential area and let 
them get comfortable before advancing to business areas or highways.  The following 
training activities (basic driving skills) may be in any order on the route but the route
must include ALL of the activities – either real or simulated.  Include several lane 
changes.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Instruct the trainee on all procedures.  Before taking the 
trainee out on public roads, have the trainee verbalize the procedures to demonstrate 
their comprehension.
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DOWNGRADE OR UPGRADE PROCEDURES

Move into or stay in right-hand lane
Select a safe speed before entering grade
Select proper gear
Increase following distance
If downgrade, brake properly (brake until below safe speed, release brake; 
repeat as necessary)
Frequently check traffic
Hazards:  use appropriately.  If upgrade, use hazards if bus speed is ½ of the 
posted speed limit
After concluding grade, resume travel in appropriate gear

EXPRESSWAY OR RURAL HIGHWAY PROCEDURES

Before entering the expressway, check traffic
Activate turn signal
Merge smoothly into traffic and in appropriate lane
Maintain lane, speed, and following distance
When exiting, check traffic
Activate turn signal
Decelerate smoothly
Maintain lane and following distance

GENERAL DRIVING BEHAVIOR

Brakes:  DO NOT ride or pump brakes; brake smoothly by applying steady 
pressure
Lanes:  DO NOT put bus over curbs, sidewalks, or lane markings; moves or 
remains in right-hand lane when appropriate
Stops:  behind stop signs or lines or crosswalks painted on pavement
Turns:  in proper lane (left turn, in the lane directly to the right of the center line; 
right turn, in the right-most lane)
Steering:  keeps both hands on steering wheel at all times
Traffic checks:  performs regular traffic and mirror checks while driving
Turn signals:  uses and cancels turn signal when required and at appropriate 
times 
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LANE CHANGE PROCEDURES

Check traffic before, during and after lane change--all mirrors and blind spots
Activate turn signal
When safe to do so, change lanes
No sharp steering
Maintain speed 
Cancel turn signal
Maintain a proper following distance

PARK ON A DOWNGRADE OR UPGRADE PROCEDURES

Check traffic
Activate turn signal
Take foot off accelerator
Brake and slow bus smoothly
DO NOT allow bus to coast
Bring bus to a full stop
Stop parallel to roadway
Apply Park brake
Shift transmission to Neutral gear
Turn steering wheel appropriately to secure the bus
Cancel turn signal 
Activate hazards

POST TRIP INSPECTION PROCEDURE

Walk to back of bus checking that no students are on board.

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Stress the importance of the post trip inspection.
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RAILROAD CROSSING PROCEDURES

Check mirrors
Check traffic
If necessary, move into the far right-hand lane
Activate hazard warning flashers while approaching the crossing
Slow down gradually
Bring bus to a full stop 15-50 feet before the first rail (use the Over-the-Hood 
Reference Point)
Open the service door
Open the driver window
Turn off all noise-making items such as radios, heaters, defrosters, fans
Quiet the students
Scan the track/s in both directions
When determined safe to do so, drive slowly and cautiously across the track/s
DO NOT allow the gears to shift while crossing the track/s
After the rear of bus has cleared the track/s, close the service door and the driver 
window
Resume operation of noise-making items
Turn off hazard lights after regaining speed
If the bus is required to stop after having crossed the track/s, the rear portion of 
the bus shall not be positioned less than 15 feet from the rail nearest the bus. 

RIGHT/LEFT TURN PROCEDURES

Check mirrors
Check traffic
Activate the turn signal well in advance of the turn to give notice of maneuver
Reduce speed by braking steadily
Maintain the bus in the driving lane
Check for clear right-of-way such as traffic signals, vehicles, pedestrians and 
signs
Check side mirrors before and during the turn
Execute the turn slowly – 5 mph – using push/pull steering
Gears should not shift during a turn
Enter the closest lane
Steer the wheels back into position; DO NOT let the steering wheel spin back in 
position
Make sure the turn signal canceled
Check mirrors
Check traffic
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ROAD SIGNS

Be prepared to identify and explain road signs such as an overpass clearance 
height, road or bridge weight limit, pedestrian crossing, etc.

ROADSIDE STOP PROCEDURES

Prepare for stop:
Check traffic
Activate turn signal
Brake smoothly
DO NOT allow bus to coast
Bring bus to a full stop parallel to shoulder of road and out of traffic flow
DO NOT block driveways, fire hydrants, etc.
Set Park brake
Switch gear to neutral
Cancel turn signal
Activate hazards

Prepare to resume:
Check traffic
Cancel hazards
Activate turn signal
Switch gear to driving gear
When traffic permits, release Park brake
Accelerate smoothly and drive straight ahead
Check traffic and when safe to do so, steer into the first driving lane 
Cancel turn signal

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: To confirm that the trainee is watching the road signs, ask 
them at various locations along the route to tell you what sign was just passed.  They 
should not call out every sign that is passed as they drive along.
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RURAL PROCEDURES

Watch for hazards at road side
Use the right-hand lane
Keep within the driving lane; DO NOT accidentally cross over the lane markings
Follow the speed limit signs
Scan ahead for hazards to see them in time to react appropriately and to avoid 
sudden stops or jerking in the steering
Maintain a proper following distance:
       4 seconds minimum when driving at speeds less than 40 MPH
       5 seconds minimum when driving at speeds over 40 MPH

START ON A DOWNGRADE OR UPGRADE PROCEDURES

Cancel hazards
Activate turn signal
Switch gear into driving gear
When traffic permits, release Park brake
Accelerate smoothly and drive straight ahead
Check traffic and when safe to do so, steer into the first driving lane
Cancel turn signal

STOP INTERSECTION PROCEDURES

Check traffic in all directions at the intersection
Use the side mirrors to check traffic to the rear of the bus
Reduce speed by braking steadily
Stop so that the front bumper of the bus does not encroach on a stop sign, a 
white stop line or crosswalk painted on the road; or where rear tires of the vehicle 
in front can be seen
Bring bus to a full stop
The bus should not roll forward or backward
Yield to pedestrians or other vehicles that have the right-of-way
Check side mirrors
Check traffic to the left, then to the right, and then to the left again
Accelerate as needed 
DO NOT change lanes in the intersection
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STUDENT LOADING OR UNLOADING PROCEDURES

Student loading and unloading on TRAVELED portion of roadway
Use extreme caution when approaching the school bus stop
Reduce speed
Check traffic – both vehicular and pedestrian
Activate alternating amber flasher lights
Bring bus to a full stop; it is recommend at least eight to ten feet away from 
students at the stop
Set the Park brake
Switch gear to neutral
Check traffic
If not automatically activated, activate alternating red flasher lights
Load/unload, crossing students correctly
Frequently check mirrors and traffic while loading
Make sure all students are seated or, if unloading, have safely cleared the 
area – count the students
Close the service door
Check mirrors and traffic
Switch to a driving gear
Release the Park brake
If not automatically canceled, cancel alternating red flasher lights
Check mirrors and traffic
Resume travel on route

Student loading and unloading on MULTIPLE or DIVIDED roadway
Whenever possible, OFF the traveled portion of the roadway
Follow same procedure as TRAVELED portion of roadway
DO NOT load/unload in a designated turn lane or adjacent to one
If on a highway, load/unload students on the same side of the highway on 
which they live

Student loading and unloading at SCHOOLS
Use caution when entering loading/unloading area
Check mirrors
Park bumper to bumper whenever possible
Bring bus to a full stop
Secure the bus (set Park brake, switch gear to neutral and turn engine off)
Load/unload

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: At the first three bus stops, give verbal directions on proper 
loading and unloading procedures as discussed in 6.41.4.12 NMAC, sections A., B., C., 
and D).



State of New Mexico Public Education Department
School Bus Driver Pre-Service Training Curriculum

Instructor Manual Publication # STB 1.3
May 1, 2014

148-B – Revised June 2017

THRU INTERSECTION PROCEDURES 

Check traffic in all directions prior to entering the intersection
Use the side mirrors to check traffic to the rear of the bus
Cover brake if entering an intersection controlled by a traffic light
Accelerate as needed
DO NOT change lanes in the intersection

URBAN (City or Town) PROCEDURES

Use right-hand lane
Scan ahead for hazards to see them in time to react appropriately and to avoid 
constant braking/accelerating
Keep within the driving lane; DO NOT accidentally cross over the lane markings
Keep up with the flow of traffic but DO NOT exceed posted speed limit
Maintain a proper following distance: 
       4 seconds minimum when driving at speeds less than 40 MPH
       5 seconds minimum when driving at speeds over 40 MPH



State of New Mexico Public Education Department
School Bus Driver Pre-Service Training Curriculum

Instructor Manual Publication # STB 1.3
May 1, 2014

148-C – Revised June 2017

Observation Time

A trainee shall observe a minimum of two hours of school bus 
routes being driven.  It would be good to document when a 
trainee observes a route by noting the date, time spent observing, 
the driver’s name and what type of route was observed.  To 
provide variety, include routes of all grade levels, routes that have 
special education students, and routes where a variety of student 
behavior may be observed.  







150-A – Revised May 2015 

The Driver 
Comprehension

Test shall be 
administered after

all Pre-Service 
training has been 
completed (except 
for First Aid/CPR). 
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Classroom/Hands-On 

Instruction 
 

 
 
 
 

 
SECTION 2 

 
Curriculum for Training 

School Activity Vehicle Drivers 
 
 

4 Hours of Instruction 
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INSTRUCTOR INTRODUCTION 

This manual is designed for the Certified School Bus Driver Instructor to provide the 
mandatory 4-hour pre-service training requirements for school employees who will 
be driving school owned activity vehicles to planned*, school sponsored activities. 

*NOTE: Planned school sponsored activity means:  

� A trip that is pre-planned.  
� This regulation does not apply to school personnel such as nurses or others 

who would, on occasion, transport a student home or to the doctor because of 
illness or other emergency situation. 

Per regulation, the 4-hour training must, at minimum address the following topics: 

1) Review of Standards for providing Transportation Services to 

Eligible Students (6.41.4 NMAC ) 

� Section 6.41.4.9, sections J, K   

� Section 6.41.4.11, sections A, B, C(3),D  

� Section 6.41.4.12, section G, I, J,  

� Section 6.41.4.13, section E, F  

2) Vehicle Pre/Post Trip Inspection Requirements/General motor 

vehicle operating procedures  

3) School Bus Driver Security Training Program 

4) Passenger Restraint Legislation  

5) District Policies and Procedures  

6) Passenger Management 
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6.41.4.9 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION RESPONSIBILITIES 

J. School Bus Driver Selection 

(1) The school district administrator or local transportation provider shall 
adhere to all applicable federal and state employment requirements 
when employing, re-employing or retaining a school bus driver. The 
employer shall maintain records verifying completion of the following 
procedures in their files: 

(a) Completion of an application form that meets or exceeds State and 
Federal requirements. 

 
(b) A check of the applicant's driving record through the New Mexico 

Motor Vehicle Division, or the National Driver Register or other 
states' Motor Vehicle Divisions. Driver record checks shall be made 
annually. 

 
(c) A criminal background check in accordance with section 22-10A-5 

NMSA, 1978; to determine if the applicant has a record of criminal 
convictions. The school district and transportation provider shall 
maintain an Agreement, Authorization, Waiver and Release form, in 
addition to a Criminal History Affidavit on any new employee 
working with children. 

 
(d) Satisfactory completion of a department of transportation (DOT) 

physical examination; 
 

(2) Each employer shall make available to each bus driver at the time of 
hiring the Standards for Providing Transportation for Eligible Students 
and any local handbooks.  

 
K. Activity Trips - School Operated Vehicles 

 
� Districts SHALL use an activity school bus any time the school-

sponsored activity involves more than 18 passengers; 
 

� And would require more than two school-owned vehicles to transport 
students during the same time frame to the same destination.  
 

� If a school district chooses to use school owned vehicles, then the 
drivers of those vehicles are required to meet sections 6.41.4.9 J (1) 
(a,b,c,d); 6.41.4.11 and 6.41.4.13 of this regulation and shall meet the 
requirements of the Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing 
in accordance with 49 CFR Part 382. 
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(1) School Activity Vehicles 

 
(a) A school bus assigned to a regular bus route during route times 

shall not be diverted to provide transportation for activity purposes. 
 
(b) Activity transportation shall be scheduled at times which shall not 

conflict with school buses fulfilling the primary obligation of 
providing transportation to and from school. 

 
(c) Overcrowding of regular school buses shall not be permitted in 

order to free certain vehicles for activity trips. 
 
(d) Vehicles purchased for the purpose of transporting students on 

school sponsored activities shall meet applicable United States 
Department of Transportation Federal Motor Vehicle Safety 
Standards. 

 
(e) All vehicles with a rated seating capacity of 10 or more occupants 

used on activity trips shall meet New Mexico Minimum Standards 
for School Buses. 

 
(f) School-owned vehicles with a rated seating capacity of 9 or fewer 

which are used to transport students on school-sponsored activity 
trips are not required to meet federal and state standards for school 
buses. 

 
(g) A vehicle other than a school bus that is used to transport 

students to school sponsored activities and meets the 
following criteria: 

 
(i) May not accommodate more than 9 people including the 

driver. 
 
(ii) All occupants must have seat belts available and are required 

to wear them while the vehicle is in motion. 
 
(iii) A cargo net or other adequate securement tie-down, SHALL 

BE USED or items shall be carried in an external cargo 
carrier. Under no conditions shall the weight of the passengers 
and luggage exceed the manufactures Gross Vehicle Weight 
Rating (GVWR) as specified on the vehicle license and 
registration form. 
 

(iv) Acceptable vehicles include six to nine passenger models.  
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(v) When school owned vehicles are used for student 
transportation, school districts shall comply with all applicable 
state statutes and comply with child restraint 
recommendations from the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration (NHTSA).  
 

(vi) Local Board of Education shall adopt policy which defines the 
replacement cycle for school owned vehicles. 
 

(vii) Unacceptable vehicles are vans and/or mini-vans.  

(2) Maximum Driving Time (EMPHASIZE THIS SECTION) 

� The following maximum driving and on-duty time shall apply to 
drivers of school-sponsored activity vehicles: 

(a) A driver operating a motor vehicle for the purpose of transporting 
students to or from a school sponsored activity 

� Shall not have more than 10 hours total driving time; 
 

� Or more than 8 hours continuous driving time.  
 

� A driver shall not be permitted to be on-duty a total of more than 
15 hours in a 24-hour period. 

(b) The following conditions shall be met in order for a driver to be 
considered "off duty": 

(i) The driver is relieved of duty and all responsibility for the care 
and custody of the vehicle, its accessories, or any cargo or 
passengers. 

(ii) The duration of the driver's relief from duty is a specified, 
adequate period of time to allow the driver to rest and to 
pursue activities of his/her choosing off the premises where 
the vehicle is situated. 

 
(3) Responsibilities of Sponsors:  Activity sponsors shall be responsible for 

students on and off the vehicle and for the following: 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Examples of vehicles that meet this regulation are:  
Large Sedans, Station Wagons, Suburbans, and Expeditions. 
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(a) Preparation and submission of trip requests in accordance with the 

local board of education's policies. 
 
(b) Notification to the school district administrator or designee of any 

schedule changes. 
 
(c) Assurance that students are at the departure points at the 

appointed time. 
 
(d) Supervision of the loading and unloading of the vehicle. 
 
(e) Assurance of the orderly conduct and discipline of students during 

the trip. 
 
(f) In an evacuation of the vehicle, supervision of students and 

maintain control of student passengers. 
 
(g) All arrangements on overnight trips for meals and lodging, including 

the driver. 
 
(h) Provision for adequate rest stops. 
 
(i) Maintenance of a student roster and taking roll each time students 

disembark and return to the vehicle. 
 
(j) The Person Responsible For The Group Or Activity Shall Not 

Have The Additional Responsibility Of Driving The School 
Activity Bus.  

 
(4) Funding:  School activity trips shall be paid from budgeted school activity 

funds, and not from to and from transportation funds.  
 
(5) Activity Trip Tickets:  Any school vehicle/bus used to transport pupils on 

school-sponsored activity trips outside the school district's boundaries 
shall carry: 
 
(a) An Activity Trip Ticket.  

 
(b) School districts are not required to have an Activity Trip Ticket if a 

commercial common carrier is used to transport students on the 
activity trip; however, the school district shall maintain a copy of the 
contract for the transportation services for the sponsored activity.  
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6.41.4.11 SCHOOL BUS DRIVERS, SUBSTITUTES, AND BUS 
ASSISTANTS RESPONSIBILITIES 

 
(A) Accidents and Emergencies:  The term VEHICLE is used in this section to 

refer both: 
 

� A school bus.  
 

� School-owned vehicles used to transport students to and from school 
and school-sponsored activity trips.  

 
(1) Reasons FOR Emergency Evacuation: 

 
(a) Fire or Danger of Fire:  
 

� The vehicle shall be stopped and evacuated immediately if any 
portion is on fire.  
 

� Passengers shall move a safe distance away from the vehicle 
and remain there until the driver of the bus has determined that 
no danger remains. 
 

(b) Unsafe Position: 
 

� If a vehicle is stopped the driver shall determine immediately 
whether it is safe for passengers to remain in the vehicle or to 
evacuate.  
 

� The Driver Shall Evacuate If: 
 
(i) The vehicle stops in the path of any train.  
 
(ii) The stopping position of the vehicle is subject to change 

and thus increases the danger to passengers.  
 
(iii) The stopping position of the vehicle is such that there is 

danger of collision.  
 

(2) Responsibilities of the Driver:  In the case of any accident involving a 
school bus or a school-owned vehicle, the driver's first responsibility 
is to the safety of the passengers.  In addition, the driver shall: 
 
(a) Stop immediately. 

 
(b) Maintain control of passengers.  
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(c) Protect the accident scene. 

 
(d) Remain at the scene of the accident and not move the vehicle. 
 
(e) Render reasonable assistance to any person injured in the 

accident. 
 
(f) Notify police and the school district administrator and if appropriate 

the local transportation provider. 
 
(g) If It Is Necessary To Evacuate Passengers,  

 
� Make certain that all passengers are in a safe location away 

from traffic and that they are not permitted to leave the 
scene of the accident on their own. 

 
(h) Place reflectors appropriately to warn traffic. 
 
(i) Obtain information such as: 

 
� Names, license numbers, registration numbers, location, 

time, road and weather conditions. 
 
� A listing of all passengers including their seating locations. 
 

(j) Make No Admission Of Liability Or Assume Responsibility For The 
Accident. 

 
(k) Comply with local policy and procedure in reporting the accident. 
 
(l) Adhere to any vital emergency medical information provided. 
 
(m) Report all school bus accidents in accordance with local district and 

state accident reporting procedures. 
 

(B) Student Safety: 
 
(1) The driver and/or assistant shall meet all needs identified in a student's 

IEP. 
 

(2) The driver shall not permit any passengers to occupy any area in front of 
the passenger seating area while the bus is in motion. 

 
(3) No vehicle shall carry more than the rated seating capacity. All students 

shall be seated when the bus is in motion. 
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(4) The driver shall not carry on any unnecessary conversations with 

student while driving. 
 

(5) The driver shall have the authority to assign students to seats. 
 

(6) The driver shall not permit the transportation of firearms, knives, 
explosives, breakable glass, or other dangerous objects, reptiles, or 
animals, except those animals authorized by an IEP. 

 
(7) Be responsible for the safety and orderly conduct of the passengers on 

their assigned bus routes. 
 

(8) Report all serious discipline cases to the school district administrator or 
designee in accordance with the local school board's policy and in 
compliance with this regulation. 

 
(C) Daily Driver Pre-Trip/Post-Trip Requirements:   

 
(3) ALL ACTIVITY VEHICLE DRIVERS ARE REQUIRED TO PERFORM, 

AT A MINIMUM, THE FOLLOWING DUTIES: 
 

(a) Safe and efficient operation of the school vehicle in accordance 
with Federal, State, and Local Statutes and Regulations and local 
board policies. 

 
(b) A daily, thorough pre-trip operational check of the school vehicle 

and equipment unless completed by other qualified personnel.  A 
Documented Pre-Trip Inspection SHALL be conducted which shall 
cover at a minimum: 

 
(i) Wheels, tires, lug bolts and nuts for serviceability. 

 
(ii) All exterior lights for serviceability and operation. 
 
(iii) All glass, mirrors, windshields (clean and unbroken and 

mirrors adjusted for the driver). 
 

(iv) Exhaust system for leaks, looseness, etc. 
 
(v) Oil, water, and any other fluid leaks (power steering, power 

brakes, transmission, differential, etc.) 
 
(vi) Engine compartment for serviceability (battery, belts, wiring, 

etc.); and proper oil and water levels. 
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(vii) Fuel filler cap. 
 
(viii) All gauges, seats, and interior lights. 
 
(ix) Horn and windshield wipers. 
 
(x) Emergency equipment i.e. First Aid kit, fire extinguisher, 

reflectors, and body fluid clean-up kit if equipped. 
 
(xi) Parking brake and service brake. 
 
(xii) Interior mirror. 
 
(xiii) Cleanliness of vehicle. 
 
(xiv) Heaters and defrosters.  

 
(4) The driver shall not operate any vehicle/bus that does not meet the pre-

trip inspection requirements.  
 

� The district shall establish written procedures for immediate 
replacement of vehicle/buses, which fail to meet pre/post trip 
inspection requirements.  
 

(5) The driver shall, as part of each post-trip inspection, ensure that no 
student remains on the vehicle/bus at the conclusion of the trip.  
 

(6) Report in writing on the appropriate forms signed by the driver all faulty 
or improperly functioning equipment to the school district administrator, 
his/her designee, or local transportation provider.  

 
(D) Physical Qualifications: 

 
(1) Before transporting students, a school bus driver, activity driver, 

substitute driver and bus assistant are required to have a physical 
examination, renewed every 24 months from the date of the last 
examination or before as specified by a licensed physician. School bus 
drivers, activity school bus drivers and substitute school bus drivers are 
required to use the physical examination form established by the 
Department of Transportation (DOT). 

 
(2) Additional physical examinations shall be required at any other time at 

the request of the local school district, State Transportation Director, or 
local transportation provider. 

 
(3) All physical examinations shall be conducted by a licensed physician.  
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(4) Controlled Substance and Tobacco Restrictions: 

 
(a) All school buses shall be alcohol, drug and tobacco free areas. 
 
(b) The driver or the bus assistant shall not use alcoholic beverages, 

illegal substances, or legal substances prior to or during duty hours 
which would impair the driver’s ability to drive the school bus or the 
bus assistant’s ability to perform required duties. 

 
F. Operational Standards for Initial Driver Applicant: 
 

(1) Any person initially applying for full or part time employment with a 
school district or charter school to operate a school bus or a school 
owned activity vehicle used to transport students shall not be eligible to 
operate such a vehicle if he has: 

 
(a) been convicted for driving a vehicle while under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor or drugs (“DWI”) within three (3) years of the date 
of his application;  

 
(b) been convicted for DWI beyond three (3) years from the date of his 

application unless he provides a written verification from a licensed 
counselor or physician that he has successfully completed an 
alcohol or drug abuse program;  

 
(c) been convicted two (2) or more times for DWI; 
 
(d) had his driver’s license suspended or revoked within the previous 

five years for any serious traffic offense; 
 
(e) been convicted of more than three serious traffic offenses within 

three (3) years since the date of his application; 
 
(f) been convicted of any felony within ten (10) years since the date of 

his application; 
 
(g) a conviction for any violation of the Controlled Substances Act [30- 

31-1 to 30-31-25, 30-31-26 to 30-31-28, 30-31-30 to 30-31-40, 
NMSA 1978]; 

 
(h) been convicted of child abuse pursuant to Section 30-6-1, NMSA 

1978; 
 
(i) been convicted of any other criminal offense in which a child was a 

victim as required by the offense. 
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(2) Any person initially employed or applying for full or part time employment 

with a private entity to operate a school bus to transport public school 
students, or a school owned activity vehicle used to transport public 
school students, shall not be eligible to operate such a vehicle for the 
same reasons listed at Subparagraphs (a) through (i) of Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection F of 6.41.4.11 NMAC. 

 
(3) Because they are deemed to have unsupervised access to students at a 

public school, effective January 1, 2006, any person initially employed or 
applying for full or part time employment with a private entity to operate a 
school bus to transport public school students, or a school owned activity 
vehicle used to transport public school students, shall at his own 
expense submit to a fingerprint-based background check in accordance 
with section 22-10A-5, NMSA 1978, provided that: 

 
(a) Such background check shall be conducted at the time of that 

individual’s initial employment whether for full or part time to 
operate a school bus to transport public school students or a school 
owned activity vehicle used to transport public school students; 

 
(b) A school district, charter school or transportation provider shall 

maintain an agreement, authorization, waiver and release form, in 
addition to a criminal history affidavit on file for any employee 
employed for full or part time to operate a school bus or a school 
owned activity vehicle. 

 
G. Continuing Standards for Drivers of School Buses or School Owned 

Activity Vehicles 
 

(1) Any individual who currently operates a school bus or a school owned 
activity vehicle used to transport students, shall no longer be eligible to 
operate a school bus or a school owned activity vehicle if after January 
1, 2006, he receives any of the following: 

 
(a) a conviction for driving a vehicle while under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor or drugs; 
 
(b) a suspension or revocation of his driver’s license for any serious 

traffic offense; 
 
(c) convictions for more than three serious traffic offense as defined in 

this rule; 
 
(d) a conviction for any felony; 
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(e) a conviction for any violation of the Controlled Substances Act [30-
31-1 to 30-31-25, 30-31-26 to 30-31-28, 30-31-30 to 30-31-40, 
NMSA 1978]; 

 
(f) a conviction for child abuse pursuant to Section 30-6-1, NMSA 

1978; 
 
(g) a conviction for any other criminal offense in which a child was a 

victim as required by the offense. 
 

(2) The background check requirements set forth at Paragraph (3) of 
Subsection F of 6.41.4.11 NMAC, shall not be imposed on anyone who 
on January 1, 2006, is already engaged in full or part time employment 
to operate a school bus to transport public school students, or a school 
owned activity vehicle used to transport public school students.  This 
paragraph shall not be interpreted as negating or voiding any duly 
adopted school district or charter school policy related to background 
checks of school employees or contractors’ employees. [12-31-98; 
6.41.4.11 NMAC - Rn, 6 NMAC 9.5.3.11 & A, 07-01-01; A, 11-15-05] 

 
 
6.41.4.12 SCHOOL BUS OPERATIONS AND EQUIPMENT 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(G) Railroad Crossings:  The following procedures shall apply at railroad 
crossings: 

 
(1) When students are on board the school bus driver shall, before crossing 

any track or tracks of a railroad, activate the four-way hazard lights and 
shall bring the bus to a full and complete stop not less than 15 feet or 
more than 50 feet from the rail nearest the front of the bus. If the school 
bus is required to stop after the school bus has crossed the railroad 
tracks, the rear portion of the school bus shall not be positioned less 
than 15 feet from the rail nearest the bus. 

 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Rail Road Crossing procedures DO NOT apply to school 
activity vehicles. 
School Activity Vehicle Drivers should be made aware of these procedures as a 
precautionary measure ONLY, to make them aware of the dangers that exist when 
crossing railroad tracks. 
ADVISE THESE DRIVERS: If they see a "main-line" railroad crossing that does 
not have a crossing control arm, they should make their district transportation 
personnel aware and in turn district transportation personnel should alert the 
State School Transportation Unit. 
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(2) When stopped for a railroad crossing, the driver shall carefully observe 
traffic and reduce speed in advance of the stop. On multiple lane 
roadways, all stops shall be made in the extreme right traffic lane. 

 
(3) While completely stopped, the driver shall fully open the service door 

and shall listen and look in both directions along the track or tracks for 
approaching trains or other vehicles. The service door shall remain open 
until the rear of the bus clears all tracks. 

 
(4) The side window to the driver's immediate left shall be opened, and all 

noisy equipment (radio, fans, etc.) shall be shut off until the bus has 
cleared the railroad crossing. 

 
(5) If the view in either direction is unclear or is obstructed in any way, no 

portion of the bus shall be moved onto the tracks. The driver must be 
certain that no train is approaching. In no instance shall a signal 
indicating safety be considered as conclusive or serve to abrogate this 
precaution. 
 

(6) Drivers shall, in every instance, cross in a gear that does not necessitate 
changing gears while traversing the railroad crossing, and shall not 
under any circumstances shift gears when the bus is actually crossing 
the railroad tracks. 
 

(7) In the event a train has just passed through the crossing, no bus driver 
shall drive the bus onto the track or tracks until the train has sufficiently 
cleared the crossing and the driver is certain that no other train is 
approaching on an adjacent track. 

 
(8) In stopping at any railroad track at which there is in operation flashing 

red lights and/or bell, the driver shall not proceed across the track unless 
by direction from a law enforcement officer or railroad personnel. The 
driver is still responsible for the safe movement of the bus. 

 
(9) If a stop and go traffic light controls the movement of traffic at the 

railroad crossing, the driver need not stop unless the traffic light 
indicates to stop. 

 
(10) No school bus driver shall drive the bus through, around, or under any 

crossing gate or barrier while the barrier is closed or in the process of 
being opened or closed unless instructed to do so by the proper 
authority. 

 
(11) No part of the bus shall be placed near the tracks until the driver knows 

conclusively that the crossing can be made safely. 
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(12) When a bus stops adjacent to a railroad track, the driver shall not 
proceed until all passengers are silent. 

 
(I) School Sponsored Activity Trips:  The activity driver shall be responsible 

for the vehicle/bus at all times, including its care and operations and has the 
following additional responsibilities: 

 
(1) Compliance with all Federal, State, and Local Regulations. 
 
(2) Completion of a trip ticket approved by the school district administrator 

when one is required. 
 
(3) Assumption of safety responsibilities of all passengers while they are in 

the vehicle/bus. 
 
(4) Obtaining prior approval from the school district administrator or 

designee for any changes in route or itinerary while the activity trip is in 
progress. 

 
(5) Notification to the school district administrator of all emergencies that 

arise. 
 
(6) Maintenance of all records pertinent to the trip, including trip tickets. 
 
(7) Insuring that prior to departure and the return journey, the vehicle/bus is 

clean, completely serviced and inspected, noting the condition in writing 
on the appropriate form and signed by the driver. 

 
(8) Only under exceptional circumstances when it is impractical to unload 

passengers, shall vehicle/buses be fueled while students are on board. 
 
(9) The activity driver shall, upon request, show a properly signed Activity 

Trip Ticket to any: 
 

(a) State Police Officer 
 
(b) Department of Transportation Officer  
 
(c) Staff member of the New Mexico Public Education Department.  

 
(J) School Bus Safety Equipment:  All school buses used to transport students 

on regular to and from routes and district sponsored activities shall meet New 
Mexico School Bus Construction Standards and the New Mexico School Bus 
Inspection requirements.  
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(1) All school bus drivers shall use the seat belt at all times the vehicle is in 
motion. Seat belts are required of students only on buses of Gross Vehicle 
Weight of 10,000 pounds or less or when specific student needs require a 
seat belt.  

 
(2) Each school bus shall carry a first aid kit with contents as specified in New 

Mexico School Bus Construction Standards.  
 
(3) Each school bus shall be equipped with at least one UL-approved 

pressurized dry-chemical fire extinguisher complete with hose. The fire 
extinguisher shall have a total rating of 2AlOBC or greater and meet New 
Mexico School Bus Construction Standards. The extinguisher shall be 
kept in the driver's compartment, fully charged, and in good working 
condition. Each driver shall be familiar with operating the fire extinguisher.  

 
(4) Each school bus shall be equipped with a minimum of 3 triangular warning 

reflectors, and the driver shall be knowledgeable as to their operation and 
proper placement.  

 
(5) Each driver shall use reflectors in the event of prolonged stops on the 

roadway as follows: 
 

(a) One at a distance of approximately 100 feet in front and one 
approximately 100 feet in back of the disabled vehicle in the center 
of the traffic lane occupied by the disabled vehicle. 

 
(b) One at the traffic side of the disabled vehicle, not less than 10 feet 

from the front or rear. 
 
(c) If the vehicle is disabled within 500 feet of a curve, crest of a hill, or 

other obstruction to view, the driver shall place the warning device 
in that direction to afford ample warning. The warning device must 
in no case be less than 100 feet or more than 500 feet from the 
disabled vehicle. 

 
(6) The hazard mode warning lights shall be used when necessary to stop 

on the shoulder or the traveled portion of the roadway if the bus is 
temporarily disabled or it is necessary to stop for any reason other than 
loading and unloading operations. Hazard mode warning lights shall also 
be used when the speed of the bus is less than one half of the posted 
speed limit.  

 
(7) No item that will block the aisle or exits shall be permitted on the bus.  
 
(8) In transporting musical instruments, shop projects, or other school 

projects, the following shall apply: 
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(a) No item shall occupy needed seating space. 
 
(b) No item shall be placed in the driver's compartment. 
 
(c) All items carried by students shall be under their control at all times 

and carried on their laps or between seats. The aisle and exits shall 
not be blocked. 

 
(9) The emergency door and/or windows shall not be fastened or wired in 

any fashion as to prevent opening from the inside or outside while the 
vehicle is in operation.  

 
(10) Loose items such as tools or brooms, etc. shall be securely stored or 

fastened if carried inside the bus.  
 
(11) Trailers shall not be attached to a school bus at any time.  

 
 

6.41.4.13 INSTRUCTIONAL PROGRAMS FOR SCHOOL BUS 
DRIVERS 

 
(E) Qualifications of School Activity Vehicle/Bus Drivers:  *Activity bus 

drivers operating a school bus shall meet all school bus driver qualifications 
and licensing requirements.  *Activity Vehicle Drivers are not required to 
obtain a Commercial Drivers License unless they operate any vehicle that is 
designed to carry ten or more passengers including the driver. 

 
(F) Activity Vehicle Driver operating a school owned vehicle for planned 

school sponsored activities shall comply with the following:  
 

� Drivers SHALL be employees of a school district.  
 
� Before operating a school owned vehicle, the driver SHALL comply 

with the requirements of section 6.41.4.9.J. (1) (a,b,c,d) NMAC,  
 
� A physical examination in accordance with section 6.41.4.11.D. NMAC, 

and  
 
� SHALL meet the requirements of the Controlled Substances and 

Alcohol Use and Testing in accordance with 49 CFR Part 382.  
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(1) A new driver who has not been previously employed or certified shall be 

required to successfully complete a minimum of 12 hours of training.  
 
(2) The following PRE-SERVICE TRAINING shall be completed:  

A SCHOOL BUS DRIVER INSTRUCTOR, certified by the State School 
Transportation Director shall conduct the 4-hour classroom instruction. 

 
(a) Classroom:  4 hours (1 hour shall be on familiarization with the 

vehicle and equipment).  Classroom instruction shall include: 
 
(i) A review of the Standards for Providing Transportation 

Services to Eligible Students. 
 
(ii) District and/or employer safety policies and regulations. 
 
(iii) General motor vehicle operating procedures,  
 
(iv) Passenger management. 
 
(v) School Bus Driver Security Training Program  

 
(b) Completion of minimum training within the first year of driving a 

school owned vehicle, unless documentation is provided for 
previous completion: 

 
(i) Nationally recognized or state approved First Aid Course 

including CPR. 
 
(ii) Nationally recognized or state approved Defensive Driving 

Course. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Be sure to explain that compliance with Controlled 
Substance and Alcohol Use Testing pursuant to 49 CFR part 382 includes: 

1. A pre-employment Controlled Substance Use Test. 
2. Driver is placed in a Random Selection Testing Pool (Separate from School 

Bus Driver pool). 
3. May be required to undergo Reasonable Suspicion Testing. 
4. May be required to undergo Post Accident Testing. 
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GUIDELINES FOR TRAINING ON: 
 

Vehicle Pre/Post Trip Inspection Requirements and 
General Motor Vehicle Operating Procedures 
 

� Trainees should be taken outside, and made familiar with the different 
types of vehicles that may be required to drive. 

 
� Instruct trainees on the proper method of doing a pre/post trip vehicle 

inspection. Also explain the form to be used to document the pre/post 
trip. 

 
� Show trainees where the vehicle controls are on the vehicles and how 

they operate. 
 
� Explain to trainees any peculiar characteristics that might pertain to 

certain types of motor vehicles. 
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NEW MEXICO STATUTES AND CODES 
Section 66-7-369 - Child passenger restraint; enforcement. 

 
 
 
66-7-369. Child passenger restraint; enforcement. 
 
A. A person shall not operate a passenger car, van or pickup truck in this state, except for an 
authorized emergency vehicle, public transportation or a school bus, unless all passengers 
less than eighteen years of age are properly restrained.  
 
B. Each person less than eighteen years of age shall be properly secured in a child passenger 
restraint device or by a safety belt, unless all seating positions equipped with safety belts are 
occupied, as follows:  
 
(1) children less than one year of age shall be properly secured in a rear-facing child 
passenger restraint device that meets federal standards, in the rear seat of a vehicle that is 
equipped with a rear seat.If the vehicle is not equipped with a rear seat, the child may ride in 
the front seat of the vehicle if the passenger-side air bag is deactivated or if the vehicle is not 
equipped with a deactivation switch for the passenger-side air bag;  
 
(2) children one year of age through four years of age, regardless of weight, or children who 
weigh less than forty pounds, regardless of age, shall be properly secured in a child passenger 
restraint device that meets federal standards;  
 
(3) children five years of age through six years of age, regardless of weight, or children who 
weigh less than sixty pounds, regardless of age, shall be properly secured in either a child 
booster seat or an appropriate child passenger restraint device that meets federal standards; 
and  
 
(4) children seven years of age through twelve years of age shall be properly secured in a 
child passenger restraint device or by a seat belt.  
 
C. A child is properly secured in an adult seat belt when the lap belt properly fits across the 
child's thighs and hips and not the abdomen.The shoulder strap shall cross the center of the 
child's chest and not the neck, allowing the child to sit all the way back against the vehicle 
seat with knees bent over the seat edge.  
 
D. Failure to be secured by a child passenger restraint device, by a child booster seat or by a 
safety belt as required by this section shall not in any instance constitute fault or negligence 
and shall not limit or apportion damages.  
 

(This information was found online at New Mexico  
Motor Vehicle Department – Motor Vehicle Laws) 



State of New Mexico Public Education Department 
School Bus Driver Pre-Service Training Curriculum 

Instructor Manual Publication # STB 1.3 
May 1, 2014 

 
 

 

 

172 

 
 
 
DISTRICT POLICIES AND PROCEDURES: 
 

� Review School District Policies and Procedures 
 
Suggestions: 
 

� Physical Examinations  
� Activity Trips  
� Operating Policies and Procedures  
� District Accident Procedures 
� What is required of activity vehicle drivers 
� Activity vehicle driver duties and responsibilities 

 
 
PASSENGER MANAGEMENT: 
 
Cover basic techniques for passenger management as recommended 
by your school district. 
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MUST USE A
DEFENSIVE DRIVING PROGRAM

THAT IS STATE APPROVED.

IT SHOULD BE PROVIDED BY 
YOUR EMPLOYER.

ONCE THE COURSE HAS BEEN COMPLETED, 
PROVIDE A COPY OF THE CERTIFICATE FOR THE 

DRIVER’S FILE.

The STB recommends

Coaching the Experienced Driver by Coaching 
Systems, LLC
http://coachingsystems.com/product/coaching-the-
experienced-driver-3

Other state approved programs are:

National Safety Council 
at http://www.nsc.org/pages/home.aspx

POMS & Associates – contact through employer 

www.drivinguniversity.com
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Classroom & Hands-On 
Instruction
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Section 1 – INSTRUCTOR INFORMATION 
 
 
Bus Assistants in training shall receive the following training: 
 

1. Classroom Instruction (minimum of 2 hours) 
 
2. Hands On Instruction (minimum of 2 hours) 
 
3.  First Aid/CPR Training 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Section 2 – REGULATIONS AND LAWS 
 
 
6.41.4.13 INSTRUCTIONAL PROGRAMS FOR SCHOOL BUS 

DRIVERS 
 

(D) Bus Assistants 
 

(1) A bus assistant shall be provided on buses equipped with a wheel chair 
lift, when necessary and/or required by law or regulation. 

 
(2) Bus assistant shall complete a course on providing Transportation as a 

related service to students with disabilities and an approved First 
Aid/CPR course. 

 
(3) Bus assistants shall have a valid First Aid/CPR certification. 
 
(4) Bus assistants shall complete 16 hours of in-service each year. 

 
 
Section 3 – TERMS, DEFINITIONS, AND MEDICAL CONDITIONS 
 
 
ACRONYMS 

 
The following are acronyms that are frequently used in Pupil Transportation. 
 
AAP American Academy of Pediatrics 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Give trainee a copy of the NM Public Education Department 
School Transportation Bureau 6.41.4 NMAC 
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ADA Americans with Disabilities Act 
 
DOJ Department of Justice 
 
DOT Department of Transportation 
 
EHA Education of the Handicapped Act 
 
FAPE Free Appropriate Public Education 
 
FERPA Federal Education Rights and Privacy Act 
 
FHWA Federal Highway Administration 
 
FMCSR  Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
 
FMVSS  Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards 
 
IDEA Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 
 
IEP Individualized Education Program 
 
IFSP Individual Family Service Plan 
 
LRE Least Restrictive Environment 
 
MDC Multidisciplinary Plan 
 
MTD Motor Transportation Department 
 
NAPT National Association of Pupil Transportation 
 
NASDPTS National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation 
 
NHSTA  National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
 
OCR Office of Civil Rights 
 
OSERS  Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services 
 
OSEP Office of Special Education Programs 
 
OSHA Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
 
PL  Public Law 
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PTSI Pupil Transportation Safety Institute 

 
 

6.41.4.7 DEFINITIONS 
 

ELIGIBLE STUDENT: Students eligible for transportation services under Federal 
and State Statutes. 
 
INDIVIDUALIZED EDUCATION PROGRAM (IEP):  A written statement for a 
student with a disability that is developed and implemented in accordance with 
Federal and State Laws and Regulations regarding individuals with disabilities and 
with the section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act. 
The IEP serves as a communication vehicle between parents and the entire 
educational team and enables them as equal participants to decide jointly what the 
student's needs are, what services shall be provided to meet those needs, what 
the anticipated outcomes may be, and how the students progress toward meeting 
the projected outcomes shall be evaluated. 
 
INDIVIDUALIZED SERVICES: transportation modifications recommended by the 
IEP committee to provide for the individual needs of students. 
 
LEAST RESTRICTIVE ENVIRONMENT (LRE): to the maximum extent 
appropriate, students with disabilities, including those in public institutions or 
placed or referred by public agencies to private institutions or other care facilities, 
are educated with students who are not disabled with in the most inclusive 
environment.  Special classes, separate schooling, or other removal of students 
with disabilities shall occur only when nature or severity of the disability is such that 
education in regular classes or other natural environments with use of 
supplementary aids and services cannot be achieved satisfactorily.  
 
SCHOOL BUS:   any motor vehicle with a rated seating capacity of 10 or more 
occupants operating under jurisdiction of the State Board of Education which is 
used to transport children, students, or teachers to and from school or to and from 
a school sponsored activity, as defined in the Motor Vehicle Code. 
SCHOOL BUS DRIVER:  an individual who is employed by a school district or 
private contractor assigned to drive an approved route who has completed all 
certifications and training for New Mexico bus drivers. 
 
SCHOOL BUS ASSISTANT:  an individual who is employed by a school district or 
private contractor assigned to an approved route, who is not the driver, to help the 
driver and students. 
 
TRANSPORTATION AS A RELATED SERVICE:  transportation modifications 
and/or supportive services specified in the IEP as required to assist the student 



State of New Mexico Public Education Department 
School Bus Driver Pre-Service Training Curriculum 

Instructor Manual Publication # STB 1.3 
May 1, 2014 

 
 

 

 

179 

with disabilities to benefit from educational services in the least restrictive 
environment.  If modifications and/or supportive services are not required, 
transportation is not a related service.  When the student's needs do not require 
modifications, transportation is provided as a regular service if the student is 
eligible.  
 
 

DEFINITIONS OF DISABILITIES 
 

ACTING OUT –  overt expression of strong feelings, the nature of which is not 
always understood by the child. 
 
AGGRESSION – a forceful action, usually directed toward another, often 
unprovoked, and out of proportion to the situation. 
 
ANTISOCIAL – behavior that is hostile to the well-being of society. 
 
ANXIETY – a feeling of apprehension, the source of which is frequently 
unrecognized. 
 
APHASIA – a defect of loss of power of expression by speech, writing, or signs, or of 
comprehending spoken or written language, due to injury or disease of the brain 
centers. 
 
ATTENTION DEFICIT DISORDER (ADD) 
ATTENTION DEFICIT HYPERACTIVITY DISORDER (ADHD) – a term used to 
describe a group of students who share several common problems caused by a 
dysfunction in the central nervous system.  Many will exhibit behavior characteristics 
such as poor memory problems, disorganization, hyperactivity and short attention 
spans. 
 
AUTISM – a developmental disability significantly affecting verbal and nonverbal 
communication and social interaction, generally evident before age 3, which 
adversely affects a child's educational performance.  Irregularities with 
communication, engagement in repetitive activities, and stereo type movements, 
resistive to environmental change or change in routines and unusual responses to 
sensory experiences. 
  
BIRTH INJURIES – injuries occurring in the child at birth.  The central nervous 
system is more commonly affected, but bones and joints may be involved. 
 
BLIND – see visual impairments. 
 
BRAIN INJURED CHILD (STRAUSS SYNDROME) – a child who before, during or 
after birth has received injury to or suffered infection of the brain.  As a result of such 
organic impairment there may or may not be defects of the neuro-motor system but 
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this child may show disturbance in perception, thinking, and emotional behavior.  
These disturbances may occur alone or in combination. 
 
C.N.S. – Central Nervous System 
 
CEREBRAL PALSY – a condition resulting from neurological damage occurring 
before, at, or shortly after birth, which interferes with normal control of the motor 
system. 
 
CHRONICALLY ILL – a term for temporary or permanent health conditions which 
are otherwise not categorized but which make it impractical for the student to receive 
adequate education through the regular school program.  Conditions include 
tuberculosis, epilepsy, cardiac conditions, leukemia, asthma, malnutrition, 
pregnancy, and other disabilities. 
 
CONVULSION – violent involuntary contraction of muscles. 
 
DEAFNESS – see hearing impairment. 
 
DISTRACTIBILITY – abnormal variation of attention.  Inability to fix attention on any 
one subject for an appropriate amount of time, due to central nervous system 
impairment that prohibits necessary monitoring of stimuli. 
 
DOWN SYNDROME (MONGOLISM) – this is the largest single syndrome that is 
accompanied by severe retardation.  It occurs in all levels of society.  It is caused by 
a genetic malformation at conception.  Downs' children are usually short with a 
small, wide face and slated, almond shaped eyes that give them a slightly oriental 
appearance that led to the no longer used term "Mongoloid."  The down's child has a 
special reputation for being much happier, friendlier, and more easily managed than 
other retarded children.  
 
DULL-NORMAL CHILD – an individual at the lower end of the average range of 
intelligence.  Can function as majority of children except in academic subjects.  
Usually 1 - 2 years retarded according to age grade level. 
 
DYSLEXIA – impairment in one's ability to read. 
 
EDUCABLE MENTALLY RETARDED – mentally retarded children whose 
retardation ranges from mild to moderate.  Usually have IQ scores between 50 - 75.  
Most of these children can be taught useful reading and number skills and some 
academic content.  Usually will not achieve beyond 4th or 5th grade academically.  
Capable of integration in society and becoming at least partially self-sustaining. 
 
EMOTIONAL DISORDER (ED) – students whose behavior is dangerous to 
themselves or others, or which seriously interferes with their learning are classified 
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as E.D.  The causes may be genetic, biological, learned behavior, or a combination 
of factors.  Two to three percent of a school's population may be E.D. 
 
ENCEPHALITIS – inflammation of the brain.  There are many types, most of which 
are due to virus infections and which can damage one or many parts of the brain.  It 
is a frequent cause of learning and behavior disorder of the resultant brain 
dysfunction. 
 
EPILEPSY – a chronic functional nervous disorder, characterized by attacks of 
unconsciousness or convulsions or both. 
 
EXCEPTIONAL CHILD – term refers to a child who is different from the average 
child.  A child showing abnormality either physical or mental could be considered in 
this category.  Sometimes the term "exceptional" is used to designate a child of 
more than usual ability.  May include the handicapped and gifted who deviate from 
the average to such an extent that they require specialized treatment. 
 
GUILLAIN-BARRE – extreme muscular weakness which may progress to paralysis. 
 
HEARING IMPAIRMENT – sensory neuro loss resulting in slight to profound hearing 
loss and learning difficulties.  The hearing loss is often associated with language 
retardation and speech difficulties. 
 
HYDROCEPHALUS (A CLINICAL TYPE) – an enlarged cranium is a clinical sign of 
this condition which involves an accumulation of cerebro-spinal fluid, within the 
ventricles of the brain.  Degree of mental defect depends upon degree of cortical 
destruction, not size of skull.  May be caused by genetic factors, accidents, or 
infection. 
 
HYPERACTIVE (HYPERKINESIS) – a characteristic of brain injured children.  
Abnormally increased motor activity. 
 
INTELLIGENCE QUOTIENT (IQ) – expressed mental development in relation to 
chronological age; obtained by dividing mental age by the chronological age and 
multiplying by 100.  The chronological age is often fixed at a certain maximum, most 
commonly 16 years, when growth of intelligence due to maturation has been 
assured to cease; this may vary in different tests, however, from 14 to 18 years. 
 
INTELLECTUALLY DISABLED – significantly below average general intellectual 
functioning existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive behavior and manifest 
during the developmental period that adversely affects a child's educational 
performance. 
 
KINESTHETIC – pertaining to the sense by which muscular motion, weight, position, 
space orientation, etc., are perceived. 
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LATERALLY – the tendency, involuntary motor acts, to use preferentially the organs 
(hands, feet, ears, eyes) of the same side. 
 
MENTAL AGE (MA) – the level of a person's mental ability expressed in terms of 
norms based on the median mental age of a group of persons having the same 
chronological age; thus, if a child's mental ability is equal to that of the average nine-
year old, he has a mental age of nine years, regardless of his actual chronological 
age.  In class, the teacher should teach on basis of MA not IQ. 
 
MENTALLY RETARDED – usually considered a general term meaning all degrees 
of mental retardation from profound mental deficiency to borderline mental defect or 
to upper limits of dull normalcy.  Frequently considered a synonym for mentally 
handicapped. 
 
MICROCEPHALY – characterized by a small skull, and small brain.  Severe 
retardation is usually associated with Microcephaly.  Apparently results from either 
inherited cause, prenatal factors, including massive doses of radiation, or injuries at 
birth such as the cut off of oxygen. 
 
MINIMAL BRAIN DYSFUNCTION – this diagnostic category refers to children of 
average or above general intelligence with learning and/or behavior difficulties 
ranging from mild to severe, which are due to subtle deviations arising from genetic 
variations, prenatal brain insults, metabolic imbalances, biochemical irregularities, 
and/or illness and injuries sustained during the years critical for the development and 
maturation of those parts of the central nervous system having to do with perception, 
language, inhibition of impulses and motor control. 
 
MONGOLOID CHILD – (MONGOLIS, a clinical type of feeble-minded person or child 
with Downs Syndrome.) – Physically and mentally defective at birth. 
 
MULTIPLE-DISABLED – a child who has two or more disabilities. 
 
MULTIPLE SCLEROSIS (MS) – a progressive disease of the central nervous 
system.  Wide ranging systems include tremor and shaking of limbs, paralysis and 
poor balance. 
 
MUSCULAR DYSTROPHY (MD) – involves the deterioration and wasting away of 
muscle tissue on the outside of the body frame.  Usually begins in the shoulders and 
hips and progresses out to the hands and feet.  Children usually walk until age 8 or 9 
when weakness forces them into a wheelchair.  For Duchene’s, the most common 
type, the life span is 14 to 18 years. 
 
NYSTAGMUS – an involuntary rapid movement of the eyeball, which may be 
horizontal, vertical, rotary, or mixed, i.e., of two varieties. 
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ORTHOPEDICS – branch of medicine dealing with deformities and diseases of the 
bones and joints. 
 
OSTEOGENESIS IMPERFECTA (Brittle Bone Disease) – may suffer from multiple 
fractures if minor pressure or stress is imposed. 
 
OTHER HEALTH IMPAIRED – having limited strength, vitality, or alertness due to 
chronic or acute health problems such as a heart condition, tuberculosis, rheumatic 
fever, nephritis, asthma, sickle cell anemia, hemophilia, epilepsy, lead poisoning 
leukemia, or diabetes, that adversely affect a child's educational performance. 
 
PERCEPTUAL COMMUNICATIVE DISORDER (PC) – something, perhaps slight 
brain damage, interferes with the individual's learning process.  These people will 
look "normal" but may be aggressive, irritable, hyperactive, very distracting, too silly, 
pushy, etc.  They can learn and sometimes quite well.  Dyslexia is one type of 
learning disorder. 
 
PERCEPTUAL DISTURBANCES – a characteristic of brain injured children who are 
attracted to the details of an object rather than the whole object.  May occur in 
visual-perceptual field, tactual field, and auditory field.  Requires special educational 
procedures. 
 
PERSEVERATION – a perceptual disturbance occurring in brain injured children 
may be present when child continually repeats what he/she has done, like repeating 
the same word, letter, action, or number over and over again.  Requires specific 
educational procedures to aid child. 
 
SENSE TRAINING – games, exercises, and materials to develop those senses 
relating to sight, hearing, muscular coordination, taste, touch, and smell. 
 
SERIOUSLY EMOTIONALLY/BEHAVIORALLY DISTURBED (SE/BD) – a condition 
exhibiting one or more of the following characteristics over a long period of time and 
to a marked degree that adversely affects a child's educational performance. 
 

1. An inability to learn that cannot be explained by intellectual, sensory, or health 
problems. 

 
2. An inability to build or maintain satisfactory interpersonal relationships with 

peers or teachers. 
 
3. Inappropriate types of behavior or feelings under normal circumstances, such 

as general evasive mood of happiness or depression. 
 
4. A tendency to develop physical symptoms or fears associated with personal 

or school problems. The term includes schizophrenia.  The term does not 
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apply to children who are maladjusted, unless it is determined that they have 
a serious emotional disturbance. 

 
SIGNIFICANTLY LIMITED INTELLECTUAL CAPABILITY (SLIC) – these students 
are not classified as mentally retarded, but most have an IQ of 50-79 or even lower.  
They lack the ability to live independently and\or are very slow learners in the 
classroom.  Their mental size does not match their physical size. 
 
SPECIAL CLASSES (HOMOGENEOUS) – a segregated class in a regular grade 
school organized according to a range of chronological age and mental age abilities. 
 
SPECIFIC LEARNING DISABLED (SLD) – a disorder in one or more of the basic 
psychological processes involved in understanding or in using language spoken or 
written, that may manifest itself in an imperfect ability to listen, think, speak, write, 
spell, or to do mathematical calculations.  The term includes such conditions as 
perceptual disabilities, brain injury, minimal brain dysfunction, dyslexia and 
developmental aphasia. 
 
SPEECH\LANGUAGE IMPAIRMENT – a communication disorder such as stuttering, 
impaired articulation, a language impairment, or a voice impairment that adversely 
affects a child's educational performance. 
 
SPINA BIFIDA – a genetic condition present at birth.  The infant is born with a spinal 
lesion, or an opening in the spine.  Though the lesion can be closed, there is little or 
no feeling below the opening. 
 
STRABISMUS – deviation of the eye which the individual cannot overcome.  The 
visual axes assume a position relative to each other different from that required by 
the psychological conditions.  Squint or crossed eyes. 
 
TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY – an acquired injury to the brain caused by an external 
physical force, resulting in total or partial functional disability or psychosocial 
impairment, or both, that adversely affects a child's educational performance. 
 
VISUALLY DEFECTIVE – one whose sight is imperfect. 
 
 
EMERGENCY MEDICAL CONDITIONS 
 
The Following Conditions Require Immediate Medical Attention 
 
ANAPHYLACTIC SHOCK – this is a major medical emergency.  Extreme allergic 
reaction to bee stings, medicines, etc.  The smooth muscles in the respiratory 
system close off so the victim is not able to get air in and out of lungs. 
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ASTHMA – can be serious medical emergency.  An asthma attack can sometimes 
be brought on by excitement.  Passenger needs good ventilation while in transit. 
 
CYSTIC FIBROSIS – these people may have breathing and heart problems.  If they 
sweat a lot, they will suffer serious salt depletion which is a medical emergency. 
 
DIABETES – an insulin reaction is a serious medical emergency.  Symptoms are 
anxiety, headache, blurred vision, hunger, abdominal pains, profuse perspiration, 
tremulousness, disorientation, slurred speech, and seizures.  If the person appears 
to be going into insulin shock, some form of easily digestible sugar should be given, 
for example, sugar orange juice, soda pop or candy. 
 
HEART, CONGENITAL MALFORMATION – plan for emergency transit or 
assistance if heart fails.  Impaired walls or valves of heart cause malfunction and 
progressive damage. 
 
HEMOPHILIA – disease of the blood where it fails to clot and abnormal bleeding 
occurs.  When a head or neck injury is sustained, this becomes a top medical 
priority.  Passenger may stop breathing or rapidly sustain brain damage. 
 
JUVENILE ARTHRITIS – will not have good protective reflexes when they fall.  
Slower blood clotting time as well as possible heart failure. 
 
KIDNEY & URINARY TRACT DISEASES – if the passenger is on dialysis they 
should be not be given any fluids and may be on a special diet.  Be aware of shunt 
drainage tubes that may not be exposed. 
 
LEUKEMIA – may have tendency to vomit while on chemotherapy.  Tend to be 
anemic and bleed easily.  Bones may be more fragile. 
 
SHUNT – a tube in the head, neck or other part of the body that drains excess fluid.  
Serious medical problems may arise if shunt is bumped or pressure applied to area.  
 
TRACHEOTOMY (TRACH) – if the tube becomes plugged, person will not be able to 
breath.  Try to get them to cough up.  If possible, keep passenger away from area 
where there is likely to be a lot of dust or debris in air.  If artificial respiration is 
required, breathe into the tracheal tube and close mouth and nose. 
 
 
Section 4 – DO NOT RESUSCITATE (DNR) 
 
Instructor Notes: 
 
Insert District/Contractor Policies and Procedures for Do Not Resuscitate orders. 
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Section 5 – CONFIDENTIALITY 
 
Instructor Notes: Insert District/Contractor Policy and Procedures on confidentiality. 
 
Discussion of students should be carefully monitored and avoided outside the work 
area.  Students name and phone numbers should not be repeated over any two-way 
radio. 
 
Students receiving Transportation as a Related Service will have IEP paperwork on 
file in the district office (Student Services).  The Transportation Office will also have 
some type of paperwork (medical card, transportation form, etc.) on file in their 
office.  School bus drivers and assistants should have some type of paperwork kept 
on the bus. 
 
In addition, any information on medical cards and medical alert cards is confidential 
and should not be given out or openly discussed. 
 
Be careful and considerate of the family’s feelings and the student’s feelings. 
 
 

***ALWAYS REMEMBER*** 
 

“A CHILD IS A CHILD BEFORE 
THEY ARE CHILDREN WITH DISABILITIES” 

 
 
Section 6 – UNIVERSAL PRECAUTIONS  
 
This is an aggressive, standardized approach to infection control. According to the 
concept of Universal Precautions, you should treat all human blood and certain body 
fluids as if they are known to contain HIV, HBV, or other blood borne pathogens. 
 
MATERIALS THAT REQUIRE UNIVERSAL PRECAUTIONS 

* BLOOD  
* SEMEN 
* VAGINAL SECRETIONS 
* CEREBROSPINAL FLUID 
* SYNOVIAL FLUID 
* PLEURAL FLUID 
* ANY BODY FLUID WITH VISIBLE BLOOD 
* ANY UNIDENTIFIABLE BODY FLUID 
* SALIVA FROM DENTAL PROCEDURES 
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Instructor Notes: 
 

A. Wear protective gloves, mask, and gown when cleaning up spills. 
 
B. Receive Hepatitis B immunization 
 
C. Use BIOHAZARD bags and/or containers. 
 
D. Wash hands!!!!!  Immediately following contact with possible blood borne 

pathogens, even if gloves were used. All buses will be equipped with body 
fluid kits. Disposable towels should be used when possible. 

 
E. Two pathogens of significance are Hepatitis B Virus (HBV) and Human 

Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV). 
 
F. A number of blood borne diseases other than HIV and HBV exist, such as 

Hepatitis C, Hepatitis D, and syphilis. 
 
COMMUNICABLE DISEASES – A course of illness which is transmittable to others. 
 
Always remember to wash your hands. 
 
Be careful, knowledgeable, and be prepared concerning the handling of students 
who may have infectious diseases. 
 
Examples: Strep throat, Pink eye, Impetigo, Ring worm, Lice, Scabies, Mononucleosis  

 
Section 7 – VEHICLE INSPECTION 
 
Instructor Notes: INSERT REQUIREMENTS FROM YOUR DISTRICT/ 
CONTRACTOR 
 
Straighten Seat Belts 
 
Check Child Safety Seats 
 
Assist driver with checking brake lights, turn signals, reverse lights, etc. 
 
 
Section 8 – OPERATION AND CARE OF SPECIALIZED EQUIPMENT 
 
 
WHEELCHAIRS TYPES 
 

A. MANUAL – Pushed by self or others. 
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B. ELECTRIC – Battery powered wheelchairs in which the batteries project 

above the level of the seat, and which are not securely connected to the 
wheelchair frame. 

 
WHEELCHAIR LIFTS 
 

A. Line bus lift door up with sidewalk, driveway, walkway 
 
B. Team effort--1 inside/1outside--work together  
 
C. Greet family and student 
 
D. Load chair onto lift according to lift manufacturer recommendations – 

(student facing toward the bus or student’s back toward bus)   
 

E. Turn off power on electric chairs.  Engage brakes. 
 

F. Communicate with student. (Are you okay? Going up. Going down, etc.) 
 

G. Hold the armrest of chair. 
 
H. Give the student reassurance, show the family you are a professional who 

knows how to do the job. 
 

1. Once inside, help student place the chair and give oral directions. 
Tape marks on the floor to let students know where to stop. 
 

2. Wheelchairs shall be forward facing. 
 

3. Turn off the power on electric chairs. 
 

4. Always use a 4 point tie down system. 
 

I. Both the front and rear tie down sites should be just below the seat at 
welded sites.  Tie down sites must not be on removable parts of the 
wheelchair such as armrests, leg rests, and removable wheels. 

 
WHEELCHAIRS – PLACEMENT AND SECUREMENT 
 

A. Tie down sites must not be on the crossbar; that allows most wheelchairs 
to collapse. Axles are not the first choice, and should only be used if 
hardened steel bolts are present. 

 
Note: most chairs are equipped with removable axles-which are hollow. 
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B. Straps should be at a 45 degree angle from the floor. 
 
C. Headrests should be utilized to minimize risk of neck injury. 
 
D. Remove lap trays and store them securely on the bus.  
 
E. Tie down straps should never be crossed or twisted. 
 
F. Keep tie down straps in matched sets.  Do not mix and match. 

 

 
 
OCCUPANT RESTRAINT TYPES 
 

A. INTEGRATED RESTRAINT SYSTEM – One which anchors the occupant 
restraint to either the wheelchair or the wheelchair tie down system. 

 
B. INDEPENDENT RESTRAINT SYSTEM – One which is anchored to the 

vehicle separately from the wheelchair. 
 

1. The lap belt should be positioned across the pelvic bone, not across 
the abdomen. 

 
2. The shoulder strap should be positioned directly over the shoulder, 

and the length of the strap should be minimized. 
 
3. Lap belt should be at 45 degree angle across the occupant's pelvis. 

When using an integrated system, the rear tie down site must be 
selected with this in mind. 

 
4. No sense in securing the wheelchair to the bus if you don't secure 

the student to wheelchair. 
 
 

Special note:  Placing the rear securement points above the wheel chair center of 
gravity leads to a backward rotation of the wheelchair and occupant during a frontal 
crash.  Locating the rear securement points at the same level as the center of gravity 
provides the most controlled crash response.  Locating the rear securement points 
below the center of gravity produces a forward rotation of the wheelchair and 
occupant. 
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CHILD SAFETY SEATS TYPES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A. INFANT SEAT 
 
B. CONVERTIBLE OR INFANT/TODDLER SEAT 
 
C. HIGH BACK BOOSTER 
 
D. BOOSTER SEAT 
 
E. BUILT IN OR INTEGRATED SEAT 
 
F. HARNESS/SAFETY VEST 
 
G. SPELL CAST 
 
H. TRAVELING BED 

 
 
CHILD SAFETY SEAT GUIDELINES 

 
A. Child safety seats should never be placed in any automobile seat that is 

equipped with an air bag. 
 
B. Children with tracheotomies should avoid using safety seats with a 

harness/tray shield combination or an armrest.  These could clog trach 
tube. 

 
C. Children with poor neck/head control should use a safety seat that reclines 

slightly in the forward facing position.  Soft padding can be used to help 
with alignment of head. 

 
D. Lateral support may be provided with rolled blankets or towels. 

*Cleaning and care for all tie downs, occupant restraints, and lifts are essential to 
keep them in working order. Follow the manufacturer directions on how to care for 
these items. 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: A student’s IEP will dictate when a student is to be secured 
in a child safety seat. Pursuant to state law, school buses and public transportation 
are exempt from the law requiring children to be transported in child safety seats. 
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(h) Place reflectors appropriately to warn traffic. 
 
(i) Obtain information such as names, license numbers, registration 

numbers, location, time, road and weather conditions, and a listing 
of all passengers including their seating locations. 

 
(j) Make no admission of liability or assume responsibility for the 

accident. 
 
(k) Comply with local policy and procedure in reporting the accident. 
 
(l) Adhere to any vital emergency medical information provided. 
 

6.41.4.9 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION RESPONSIBILITIES 
 

(C) Plan of Action for emergencies 
 

(1) Each school district, local transportation provider, and driver shall have a 
plan of action in case of an emergency covering: 

 
(a) Vehicle trouble requiring evacuation. 
 
(b) Vehicle trouble not requiring evacuation. 

 
(c) Passenger trouble requiring transportation personnel intervention. 

 
(d) Passenger trouble requiring police intervention. 

 
(e) Passenger trouble requiring medical intervention. 

 
(2) Student emergency drills or adequate alternate instruction shall be 

conducted twice a year for school buses.  Types of drills are: 
 

(a) Everyone exits through the rear emergency door. 
 
(b) Everyone exits through the front service door. 
 
(c) Students sitting in the front half of the bus exit through the front 

service door and students sitting in the back half of the bus exit 
through the rear emergency door. 

 
(d) If emergency doors are located mid-bus, students exit through the 

closest door. 
 
(e) On buses with roof hatches, instruction in their proper use. 
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LIFTING TECHNIQUES 

 
The purpose of lifting properly is to keep from causing injury to the student or 
yourself when faced with having to move a student. 
 

A. Basic Rules 
 

1. Tell the student what you are going to do. 
 
2. Estimate the weight of the student. NEVER lift a person or student by 

yourself who weighs more than half your weight. 
 
3. Ask for help if your have any doubts about your ability to lift the student. 
 
4. Plan ahead.  How you will lift the student and where you will go? 
 
5. For good balance, stand with both feet firmly planted about shoulder 

width apart with one foot slightly in front of the other. 
 
6. Always bend from the knees, not the back, use your thigh muscles rather 

than your back muscles to do the lifting. 
 
7. When lifting and carrying, keep the student close to your own body. 
 
8. Shift the position of your feet to move. Do not twist your body. Take 

small steps to turn. 
 

B. Single Person Lift 
 

1. Follow the Basic Rules 1-8.  Most strains, fatigue, and back injuries are 
caused by lifting using the wrong muscles.   

 
2. Keep equal weight on both feet and lower yourself to the level of the 

student by bending your knees before lifting. 
 
3. Once in position, put one arm around the upper back and the other 

under both knees. 
 
4. Hold the student close to your body, bend at the knees and lift with your 

leg muscles. 
 

INSTRUCTOR NOTE: Student emergency drill or adequate alternate instruction 
shall be conducted prior to departure on school-owned vehicles used for activity 
trips. 
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C. Two Person Lift 
 

1. Follow the Basic Rules 1 - 8. 
 
2. To lift from a wheelchair: 

 
a. To save time and congestion, leave the chair where it is secured 

and carry the student to the exit. 
 
b. One person stands in front of the student.  The other person stands 

at the back to the side of the student. 
 
c. The person in back removes the arm rest (if easily detachable.) 
 
d. The person in front folds up the footrest and removes the seatbelt 

and any other positioning device. 
 
e. The person in front, bending from the knees, lowers him/herself to 

place his/her arms under the students' knees. 
 
f. The person in back places his/her arms under the student’s 

armpits, reaching forward to grasp both of the student’s wrists, 
firmly.  Your right hand to the student’s right wrist and your left hand 
to the students left wrist. 

 
g. Lift together on the count of three; remember to use your legs to lift. 
 
h. Walk to the area where the student is to be placed and lower 

him/her on the count of three.  Remember to bend from your knees. 
 

D. To Lift From a Bus Seat 
 

1. Use the same procedures as above, but first, slide the student to the 
edge of the bus seat near the aisle before lifting. 

 
2. The weight of the student will determine whether a one or two person lift 

is used.  
 

E. Blanket Drag 
 

1. Fold a blanket in half, place on floor as close to the child as possible. 
 
2. Follow the basic rules 1 - 8 then lower the student to the blanket. 
 
3. For one person lift, place the students head toward the direction of the 

exit, lift the blanket from the head end and slide to safety. 
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F. No Blanket Drag – If a blanket is not available, jackets or coats may be used. 

 
1. The person doing the drag should position themselves at the student’s 

head, squat down, and place hands, palm up, under student’s arms. 
 
2. Put elbows together so that the student’s head can rest against 

forearms. 
 
3. Gently drag the student to the nearest exit. 

 
 
Section 10 – EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT 
 
FIRE EXTINGUISHERS 

 
Classifications of Fires 
Accepted standard practices separate fires into three general classes.   
 
Class A:  fires of ordinary combustible material where the “quenching” and “cooling” 
effects of quantities of water, or of solutions containing large quantities of water, is of 
importance. Examples:  fires in wood, textiles, fabrics, rubbish, etc. 
 
Class B:  fires in flammable liquids, petroleum products, etc., where the blanketing or 
extinguishing agent is of first importance.  Examples:  fires in gasoline, oils and 
greases in tanks or containers, open vats or running freely on floors or ground. 
 
Class C:  fires involving electrical equipment where the use of a “non-conductor” 
extinguisher is of first importance.  Examples; fires involving electrical switchboards, 
motors, or wiring. 
 
Dry-powder Extinguisher (CO-2 Pressurized) 
The dry-powder type of extinguisher consists of a charge of specially prepared dry 
powdered sodium bicarbonate with a cartridge of inert gas, such as carbon dioxide, 
to provide the expelling force.  Discharge is in the form of a cloud of powder together 
with gas. 
 
The range of the cloud may extend up to 25 feet horizontally depending on size of 
extinguisher and type of nozzle.  In contact with fire, the powder gives off additional 
carbon dioxide gas with its smothering effect.  Discharge should be directed at the 
base of the flames.  On flammable liquid fires, best results are obtained when the 
discharge is directed in a sweeping motion as with carbon dioxide extinguisher. 
 
Dry chemical extinguishers are effective on small fires of Class B, on electrical fires 
of Class C, and may be effective on small surface fires of Class A.  Again, it is best 
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to be upwind whenever possible so as to get greater coverage and protection for the 
operator. 
 
Getting Fire Extinguishers Serviced 
 
Fire extinguishers should be serviced each year preferably before school starts.  The 
servicing must be done by a properly licensed person. 
 
OPERATING DIRECTIONS 
 
DRY-POWDER EXTINGUISHER 
(CO-2 PRESSURIZED) 
 
1. Remove from bracket. 
 
2. Approach fire upwind. 
 
3. Hold extinguisher in UPRIGHT position. Due to construction of cylinder, 

extinguisher should not be laid on side to operate. 
 
4. Remove safety lock pin by breaking seal. 
 
5. Push lever down to break seal in cartridge. 
 
6. Squeeze handle.  Direct flow of chemical towards the base of the fire. 
 
7. Use at will and release and squeeze handle as needed. 
 
8. Replace safety pin. 
 
9. Replace or recharge immediately after use. 
 
 
FIRST AID KITS 
The bus shall have a removable moisture-proof and dust-proof first aid kit in an 
accessible place near the driver.  It shall be properly mounted and identified as a 
first aid kit.  The location of the first aid kit shall be marked. Contents of the first aid 
kit shall be in compliance with the following standards. 
 

2 - 1 Inch X 2 1/2 Yards Adhesive Tape 

24 - Sterile Gauze Pads 3” X 3" 

100 - 3/4" X 3" Adhesive Bandages 

12 -  2" Bandage Compress 

12 -  3" Bandage Compress 
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2 -  2" X 6 Yards Sterile Gauze Roller Bandages 

2 -  Non-Sterile Triangular Bandages 40" X 36" X 54" With 2 Safety Pins 

3 -  Sterile Gauze Pads 36" X 36" 

3 -  Sterile Eye Pads 

1 -  Rounded End Scissors 

1 -  Pair Latex Gloves 

1 -  Mouth To Mouth Barrier 

 
 
BODY FLUID CLEAN-UP KITS 
 
Each bus shall have a removable moisture-proof body fluid clean-up kit accessible to 
the driver.  It shall be properly mounted and identified as the body fluid clean-up kit.  
Contents of the body fluid clean-up kit shall include: 
 

1 Disposable Bag 

1 Scoop 

1 Scraper 

1 Disinfectant (Lysol® type wipes) 

1 Pair of medical examination gloves (minimum) 

1 Tie 
  

WARNING DEVICES  

 
Triangular Reflector Placement; 

Two Lane Traffic In Both Directions (Non-Divided Highway) 
Front of Vehicle 100 Feet 
Rear of Vehicle 10 Feet 
Rear of Vehicle 100 Feet or up to 500 Feet for a curve/hill. 

 
One-Way Traffic (Divided Highway) 

Front Of Vehicle None 
Rear of Vehicle 10 Feet 
Rear of Vehicle 100 Feet 
Rear of Vehicle 100 Feet or up to 500 Feet for a curve/hill. 
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REFLECTOR PLACEMENT 
 

 
Figure 1:  Proper placement of the triangles when parked on level ground. 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Figure 2:  Proper placing of the triangles when parked on a hill. 

 
 
 
 
 

 
Figure 3: Proper placing of triangles on a blind curve. 
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Section 11 – BEHAVIOR MANAGEMENT 
 
(INSERT YOUR DISTRICT’S/CONTRACTOR’S POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 
HERE) 
 

 

NOTES:           

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

             
















