# Mark Chisholm, Chair

Director, Academic Policy NM Higher Education Department

Office: 505-231-6754

Mark.Chisholm@state.nm.us

## Dr. Elaine Perea

Director, College and Career Readiness Bureau NM Public Education Department Office: 505-827-6715

elaine.perea@state.nm.us

#### **David Mathews**

General Counsel NM Public Education Department

Office: 505-469-2395

david.mathews@state.nm.us

#### John Sena

Director of Policy, Innovation and Measurement NM Higher Education Department

Office: 505 570-7816

John.Sena@state.nm.us

### **Thomas Schawel**

Education Administrator – Policy NM Higher Education Department

Office: 505-476-8416

thomas.schawel@state.nm.us

## **Jaime Cherry**

Education Administrator NM Public Education Department

Office: 505-469-6744

Jaime.Cherry@state.nm.us

The Cabinet Secretaries of the New Mexico Higher Education Department (NMHED) and New Mexico Public Education Department (NMPED) each appoint individuals to the Dual Credit Council (DCC) as per rule 6.30.7 NMAC. The DCC chair alternates between the departments every two years.

The Council issues recommendations to the Cabinet Secretaries on issues not addressed in the rule. The Council administers an appeals process for Local Education Agencies (LEAs) and Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). The NMHED and NMPED Cabinet Secretaries act jointly upon council recommendations.