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Options for Parents and Families Division

How Does the Options for Parents & Families

Division Support Home Schools?

We help families explore their education options.

We guide families through the home school notification
process.

We provide information to families and schools about
operating a home school in New Mexico.

We verify for schools that parents have notified the state of
their intent to educate their children at home.
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The Purpose of this Guide

Navigating situations where home schools and public schools
intersect can be challenging. What are the relevant statutes,
rules, and procedures for documenting student withdrawals
from public schools, placing students who transfer into public
schools, or verifying home school enrollment? Can home
school students participate in public school sports or
dual-credit classes? Are they eligible for the lottery
scholarship? We created this guide to answer your questions
and to facilitate consistent application of the law throughout

the state.



What the Law Says about Operating a Home School

Definition: "home school" means the operation, by the parent of a school-age person, of a home study program of instruction

that provides a basic academic educational program, including reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies and science
[Section 22-1-2(E) NMSA 1978]

Home School Operators must:

* Be the student’s parent or legal guardian * Maintain records of student disease immunization or a waiver of
[Section 22-1-2(E) NMSA 1978] that requirement [Section 22-1-2.1 NMSA 1978]
* Provide instruction in reading, language arts, * Notify the NMPED within 30 days of establishing the home
mathematics, social studies, and science school [Section 22-1-2.1 NMSA 1978]

[Section 22-1-2(E) NMSA 1978]
* Renew the home school establishment every year on or before

* Provide instruction by a person possessing at least a high August 1st by submitting written or electronic notification to
school diploma or its equivalent the state [Section 22-1-2.1 NMSA 1978]
[Section 22-1-2.1 NMSA 1978]
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What the Law Says about

the Responsibilities of Home School Students

« Home school students are required to attend school until at least 18 years of age unless that school-age

person has graduated or earned a high school equivalency credential. [Section 22-12A-4 NMSA 1978]

*  Home school students who want to participate in public school classes:
must be academically and otherwise eligible to enroll in those classes [Section 22-8-23.9 NMSA 1978]

must be immunized or meet the rules for exemption from immunization [6.12.2.8 NMAC]
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What the Law Says about the NMPED’s Enforcement Duties

Regarding Home Schools

The New Mexico Public Education Department is charged, among its general duties, to

“ enforce requirements for home schools. Upon finding that a home school is not in compliance with law, the department
may order that a student attend a public school or a private school;”

[Section 22-2-2(H) NMSA 1978]
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What the Law Says about

Home School Students Participating in Public School Activities

(Athletics, Co-Curricular and Extra-Curricular)

Participation:

A home school student is eligible to participate in up to three school district activities at the public school in the attendance
zone in which the student resides, according to the New Mexico Activities Association guidelines. The school district shall verify
each home school student's academic eligibility to participate in school district activities. As used in this section, "activities"
means athletics, co-curricular and extracurricular activities sanctioned by the New Mexico Activities Association.

Reimbursement:

The home school student activities program unit for a school district is determined by multiplying the number of home school
students who are participating in school district activities governed by the New Mexico Activities Association by the cost
differential factor of 0.1. The home school student activities program unit shall be paid to the school district in which it is
generated.

[Section 22-8-23.8 NMSA 1978]
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What the Law Says about

Home School Students Participating in Public School Classes

Participation:

Notwithstanding the provision in Section 22-8-2 NMSA 1978 defining a qualified student as one who is regularly enrolled in one-half or
more of the minimum course requirements approved by the department for public school students, home school students may take one or
more classes at public schools and, if so, shall generate program units as provided in Section 22-2-8-23.9 NMSA 1978. A home school
student is eligible to enroll in a public school in the attendance zone in which the student resides or in another public school outside the
attendance zone as provided in Section 22-1-4 NMSA 1978. The school district shall verify each home school student's academic and other
eligibility to enroll in the class.

Reimbursement:

The home school student program unit for a school district is determined by multiplying the number of home school students who are
enrolled in one or more classes by the cost differential factor 0.25 per class per home school student up to the enrollment required for the
home school student to meet the definition of "qualified student". The home school student program units shall be paid to the school

district in which they are generated.

[Section 22-8-23.9 NMSA 1978]
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Placing Home School Students

Who Transfer into Public Schools

The Options for Parents and Families Division encourages home school parents/guardians to keep thorough education records in case the
student someday transfers to a traditional school or the student applies for post-secondary education or training. Good records help
schools more easily and accurately place home school students in the appropriate grade level.

“In adopting and promulgating rules concerning the enrollment of students transferring from a home school or private school to the
public schools, the local school board shall provide that the grade level at which the transferring student is placed is appropriate to the
age of the student or to the student's score on a student achievement test administered according to the statewide assessment and
accountability system.” [Section 22-1-4(D) NMSA 1978]

If your district does not have placement procedures, they may consider using some or all of the following tools:

e Standardized Test Scores
® Placement Tests

e Student Interviews

e Portfolio of Student Work

e Home School Records
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What the Law Says about

Home School Students and Special Education

For information about special education services for home school students, please see the NMPED Office of Special
Education Laws, Rules & Guidance. Scroll down to the Home School section.

Investing for tomorrow, delivering today. 10


https://webnew.ped.state.nm.us/bureaus/special-education/laws-rules-guidance/

What the Law Says about

Home School Students with Disabilities

Public Agency Responsibilities

Each New Mexico public agency, within the scope of its authority, shall develop and implement appropriate policies, procedures, programs, and
services to ensure that all children with disabilities who reside within the public agency’s educational jurisdiction, including children who are
enrolled in private schools or facilities such as residential treatment centers, day treatment centers, hospitals, mental health institutions, or are
schooled at home, are identified and evaluated and have access to a free appropriate public education (FAPE) in compliance with all applicable
requirements of state and federal laws and rules. [6.31.2.9 NMAC]

Identification, Evaluation, and Eligibility Determination

Each public agency shall adopt and implement policies and procedures to ensure that all children with disabilities who reside within the public
agency’s educational jurisdiction, including children with disabilities attending private schools or facilities such as residential treatment centers, day
treatment centers, hospitals, mental health institutions, detention and correctional facilities, children who are schooled at home, highly mobile
children, children who reside on Indian reservations, and children who are advancing from grade to grade, regardless of the severity of their
disability, and who are in need of special education and related services, are located, evaluated, and identified in compliance with all applicable
requirements of 34 CFR Secs. 300.111, 300.131, 300.301 through 300.306, and these or other department rules and standards. [6.31.2.10 NMAC]

Each Local Education Agency (LEA) shall locate, evaluate, and determine the eligibility of children with disabilities who are schooled at home
pursuant to Subsection H of Section 22-2-2 NMSA 1978. [6.31.2.11 NMAC]

Please see the NMPED Office of Special Education Laws, Rules & Guidance for more information.
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What the Law Says about

Home School Students and Dual Credit Courses

Definitions:

"dual credit course" means a post-secondary course that may be academic or career-technical but not remedial or

developmental and ... for which a student simultaneously earns credit toward high school graduation and a post-secondary
degree or certificate;

"dual credit program" means a program offered by a public post-secondary educational institution or tribal college that allows
high school students to enroll in dual credit courses; [NMSA 1978 21-1-1.2]

Note: New Mexico law pertaining to dual credit courses is too long to include in this guide. For more information, visit:

* New Mexico Statutes Annotated 1978, Chapter 21, Section 1
* Dual Credit — NMPED website

* Dual Credit — Higher Education Department website (The HED site includes a link to their Dual Credit manual.)
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What the Law Says about

Home School Students and Colleges

Non-Discrimination Regarding Home School Student Admission to

Public, Post-Secondary Education Institutions in New Mexico
In determining the standard of requirements for admission to any public post-secondary educational institution, the board of regents,
governing board or community college board shall not require a student to obtain or submit proof of having obtained a high school
equivalency credential, if the student has completed requirements for a home-based or nonpublic school educational program, and
has submitted test scores that otherwise qualify the student for admission to that institution.

In determining requirements for admission, the board of regents, governing board or community college board shall evaluate and
treat applicants from home-based or nonpublic educational programs fairly and in a nondiscriminatory manner.

[Section 21-1-1.1 NMSA 1978]
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What the HED Says about

Home School Students and the Lottery Scholarship

Participation:

A home school student who meets the eligibility criteria may apply for the NM Legislative Lottery Scholarship. In addition to the
usual eligibility criteria, New Mexico home school students must have completed the requirements as a home school student
registered with the New Mexico Public Education Department.

Qualifications:
To qualify for the Lottery Scholarship, a home school student

* must be a full-time student who completed the requirements of a home-based educational program in the state and who either
(1) within sixteen months of completion of the requirements of a home-based education program, was accepted for entrance
to and attended a public post-secondary educational institution, or (2) within four months of graduation from a public school in
this state or completion of the requirements of a home-based educational program, began service in the United States armed
forces and within sixteen months of completion of honorable service or medical discharge from the service, attended a public
post-secondary educational institution; and

* must have successfully completed the first semester at a public post-secondary educational institution with a grade point
average of 2.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale during the first semester of full-time enrollment.

[Section 21-21N-2(H) NMSA 1978]
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Two Ways to Notify the NMPED of

Intent to Operate a Home School

* Register online using the Home School System

A 5-digit registration number is generated for each child for each school year.

A Parent Notification Report is available for each child for each school year.

® Fill out and send a paper notification form by postal service

Data from the notification form is entered into the online Home School System by NMPED personnel.

The Home School System generates a 5-digit registration number for each child. (Note: Because this data is entered by hand,
the registration number is not immediately available.)
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Sample Verification Email and Parent Notification Report

From: Home Schooling System <webmaster@newmexico.gov>
Date: December 8, 2023 at 2:20:58 PM MST

To:

Subject: Home School Registration

Congratulations on successfully submitting Notification of your home school to the Public Education
Department. In order to receive your home school confirmation number along with other pertinent
information regarding your student(s), please log into the Home School account you recently created.

Please keep in mind that through the Public Education Department’s home school platform you will be
able to update and monitor your child(ren)’s home school information 24 / 7, submit your required
annual notification, see prior year home school enrollments and much more.

Please review the PED’s Home School page to find answers to parents most frequently asked questions
prior to contacting the PED Home School Bureau.

(https://webnew.ped.state.nm.us/bureaus/options-parents-families/home-schools/)

Website URL: http://homeschool.ped.state.nm.us/

Registered Successfully!!

Student Name: Best Student

Registration ID: 65899

Please email at info.homeschool@state.nm.us for any further questions.

Pont

Registration ID/Enroliment IO
First Name

Middle Name

Last Name

Student DOB

State Student ID/STARS 1D

Address

School Year
Enroliment Date
Grade
Disenroliment Date

Initials

ST
‘ ™ s 5
State of Naw Mexico
Public Education Depariment

Home School - Parent Notification Report

(113 1]

NEW ”_— MEXICO
Homa School Divisson
Options for Parents
NM Pytnc Caucetion Department 500 Don Gaspar Ave

Room 301.8 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501.2786  Phone# {509) B27.6800
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The 5-Digit Registration Number

What the Number is For

Students enrolled in the NMPED’s online Home School System
are assigned a unique 5-digit number for each year they are

registered.

This number is proof of notification that parents can keep in

their files.

The number is a datapoint that helps the NMPED staff to

quickly locate a child’s records in the Home School System.
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What the Number is Not For

Because the 5-digit number is associated with a student’s
personal identifying information, parents may, but are not

required to, share the number with schools.

Schools and other organizations should not require the number

for proof of home schooling or require it on a form.

Neither schools, districts, nor the NMPED should share this

5-digit number with other people, organizations, or agencies.
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Verifying a Home School to Determine

Correct Nova Withdrawal Code

Ask home school (x)
2nd Time Not Verified
operator

(parent/guardian) for
proof of notification.

1 would
rather not share that
information with
you.

Call or email the Homeschool

(5-digit number, Parent Administrator for verification.

Notification Report, ora
confirmation letter from
NMPED)

1st Time Not Verified

(See contact info at end of
presentation)

Sure! Here it is.

AR RN R R RN
| o DM I LA
EEEEE. -

aEEEE

EEEN
j

Verified =111 Wait 30 days after parents
[ withdraw student.

(Home school operators have 30
days to notify the state of their
intent.)

N
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PED Contact for Home School Administration

Revised September 16, 2024

We appreciate all you do for the children of
New Mexico.

Please contact the Options for Parents and Families Division
for assistance.

Kelli Renken, Homeschool Administrator
505-469-2817

Info.HomeSchool@ped.nm.gov
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