

## **New Mexico Childcare/Pre-School/School Entry Immunization Requirements**

2024-25 school year

New Mexico School Nurses are granted Public Health authority by the NM Secretary of Health for collecting and submitting immunization information

Vaccine	Minimum # of vaccine doses by childcare and pre-school age levels								Vaccine doses by school grade level													Notes	
14001110	by 4 mo.	by 6 mo.	by 12 mo.	by 15 mo.	by 47 mo.	by 54 mo.	≥ 60 mo.	K	1 <sup>st</sup>	2 <sup>nd</sup>	3rd	4 <sup>th</sup>	5 <sup>th</sup>	6 <sup>th</sup>	7 <sup>th</sup>	8 <sup>th</sup>	9th	10 <sup>t</sup>	th 111	th	12 <sup>th</sup>		
Diphtheria/ Tetanus/ Pertussis (DTaP/DT/Td)*	1	2	3	3	3	4	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4	5 5 (4	•)	5 (4)	One dose required on/after 4 <sup>th</sup> birthday. Four doses are sufficient if last dose given on/after 4 <sup>th</sup> birthday, with at least 6 months between the last two doses. Five doses are preferred for optimal protection.	
Tetanus/ Diphtheria/ Pertussis (Tdap)															1	1	1	1	1 1		1	1 dose req'd for gr. 7-12 entry. Tdap should be given at age 11-12 but can be given at 10. Doses before age 10 are not valid for 7th grade entry.	
Polio (IPV)* (OPV <sup>‡</sup> )	1	2	2	2	3	4 (3)	4 (3)	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	4 4		4	Students in K-12 <sup>th</sup> grades final dose required on or after 4 <sup>th</sup> birthday. Three doses suffice if CDC's catch-up schedule used AND last dose was given on/after 4 <sup>th</sup> birthday with at least 6 months between the last two doses.	
Measles/ Mumps/ Rubella (MMR)				1	1	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2 2		2	Min. age for valid 1 <sup>st</sup> dose is 12 months. Live vaccines (MMR, Varicella) must be given on the same day; if not, they must be administered a min. of 28 days apart.§	
Haemophilus Influenzae type B (Hib)*	1	2	2	2	3/2/1	3/2/1	3/2/1																
Hepatitis B (HepB)	1	2	3 see belov	3	3	3	3	3	3	3	3	3	3	3 (2)	3 (2)	3 (2)	3 (2)	(2	3 (2)	2)	3 (2)	Two doses adult Recombivax HB also valid if administered at age 11-15 & if dose 2 rec'd no sooner than 16 wks. after dose 1.	
Pneumococcal (PCV)*	2	3	3	4/3/ 2/1	4/3/2 /1	4/3/2 /1	4/3/2/ 1/0																
Varicella (VAR)			'	1	1	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2 2	:	2	Min. age for 1st dose is 12 mos. Dose 2 should ideally be given at age>= 4, see note on page 2. Live vaccines (MMR, Varicella) must be given on the same day; if not, they must be administered a minimum of 28 days apart.§	
Hepatitis A (HepA)				1	1	2	2	2	2	2	2											Hep A vaccine is recommended for catch up in grades 4-12. Minimum age for valid Hep A is 12 months.	
Meningococcal Men ACWY															1	1	1	1	1 1		2	1 dose required for 7 <sup>th</sup> -11 <sup>th</sup> grade entry. 2 doses required by grade 12 and recommended at age 16. Detailed vaccine schedule on page 2.	

### \*Minimum age 6 weeks

**Recommended vaccines:** These vaccines are recommended but not required for school entry at this time.

**Influenza** (flu): Age-appropriate vaccination is recommended every year.

**HPV:** This cancer-preventing vaccine is strongly recommended at age 11-12, and can be given as early as age 9.

**COVID-19:** Age-appropriate vaccinations for 6 months through 18 years are recommended. Refer to the NM Dept. of Health COVID-19 website for the latest guidance: <a href="https://cv.nmhealth.org/covid-vaccine/">https://cv.nmhealth.org/covid-vaccine/</a>

Recommended # doses for adult students 19+ in secondary school							
Vaccine	# Doses						
Tetanus/Diphtheria/Pertussis (Tdap)	1						
Measles/Mumps/Rubella (MMR)	2						
Varicella (VAR)	2						

# **New Mexico Childcare/Pre-School/School Entry Immunization Requirements**

2024-25 school year

Additional guidance for: Intervals, catch-up schedule, proof of immunity

Diphtheria/Tetanus/Pertussis: If child (4 months-6 years) is behind schedule, follow the CDC's catch-up schedule.

**Tetanus/Diphtheria/Pertussis:** 7<sup>th</sup>-12<sup>th</sup> graders require proof of 1 dose of Tdap regardless of when the last Td-containing vaccine was given. Catch-up: Children 7-18 years who are not fully immunized with the childhood DTaP series should be vaccinated according to the CDC's catch-up schedule, with Tdap as the 1st dose followed by Td if needed. A 3-dose series is sufficient if initiated after age 7, in which one dose must be Tdap, followed by 2 doses of Td. Children age 7-9 who receive 1 dose Tdap as part of the catch-up series require 1 additional dose at 11-12 for 7<sup>th</sup> grade entry.

**Polio:** A minimum of 4 weeks between doses required with 6 months between last two doses. **‡OPV:** Only trivalent OPV counts as valid. Monovalent or bivalent OPV are not valid. All OPV doses given after 4/1/16 are assumed to be mono or bivalent.

MMR: Required 2<sup>nd</sup> dose should be given on/after 4<sup>th</sup> birthday. However, dose 2 may be given earlier with at least 4 weeks between dose 1 and 2.

**Hib:** If series started <12 months of age, 3 doses required with at least 1 dose on/after 1<sup>st</sup> birthday. Two doses required if dose 1 received at 12-14 months. One dose of Hib vaccine administered between age 16-59 months is sufficient. Not recommended ≥60 months of age.

**Hep B:** Dose 2 a minimum of 4 weeks after dose 1; dose 3 at least 16 weeks after dose 1 and at least 8 weeks after dose 2. For Infants currently receiving the primary series, the final dose must be administered no earlier than 24 weeks.

**PCV:** Administer a series of PCV13 vaccine at ages 2, 4, 6 months with a booster at age 12-15 months. Catch-up: Administer one dose of PCV13 to all healthy children 12-59 months who are not completely vaccinated for their age; children >60 months, no doses required.

**Varicella:** For children ages 12 months to 12 years, the minimum interval between the two doses is 3 months. However, if dose 2 was administered ≥28 days after dose 1, dose 2 is considered valid and need not be repeated. For children ≥13 years, the recommended minimum interval is 4 wks. Required for proof of varicella immunity:

- For K-9th graders: Receipt of vaccine; titer or laboratory confirmed diagnosis is required as proof of prior disease.
- For 10<sup>th</sup>-12<sup>th</sup> graders: Receipt of vaccine, written proof of immunity by a physician/health care provider or laboratory titer is required.
- For all newly diagnosed varicella cases: Lab confirmation of disease is required.

**Hep A:** One dose required by 15 months; 2 doses required at 48 mos. with at least 6 months between doses.

**MenACWY:** All adolescents should receive a dose of MenACWY at age 11-12. A 2nd (booster) dose is recommended at age 16 and required by grade 12. Booster dose given before age 16 is not considered valid. Adolescents who receive the 1<sup>st</sup> dose at age 13 -15 should receive a booster dose at age 16. The minimum interval between MenACWY doses is 8 weeks. Adolescents who receive the 1st dose after their 16th birthday do not need a booster dose. Doses of MenACWY given to children age 9 or younger do not count for the school requirements and must be repeated at age 11-12 and boosted at age 16.

**4-Day Grace Period:** Any vaccine administered ≤4 days prior to minimum interval or age is valid.

§However, the 4-day "grace period" should not be applied to the 28-day interval between live parenteral vaccines not administered at the same visit (MMR and Varicella).

#### Notes

- All students enrolled in designated grades are expected to meet requirements.
- Changes from last year's requirements are highlighted for ease of use.

### Resources

CDC Immunization Schedule has detailed footnotes and catch-up schedule <a href="https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/child-adolescent.html">https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/child-adolescent.html</a>

**NM Immunization Protocol** 

https://nmhealth.org/publication/view/regulation/531/

**NMSIIS** 

https://nmsiis.health.state.nm.us

NM School Health Manual https://www.nmhealth.org/about/phd/pchb/osah/shm/ Page 2 of 2 • Updated 12/11/23