Skip to Content

DLM Resources

DLM Resources 2024-04-10T12:18:01-06:00

Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM) | Grades 3-8, 11 ELA/Math | Grades 5, 8, 11 Science | Formative/Interim/Summative

Dynamic Learning Maps alternate assessments are designed for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities for whom, even with accommodations, general state assessments are not appropriate. DLM assessments offer these students a way to show what they know and can do in mathematics, English language arts, and science.

  • Students in grades 3-8 and 11 must be administered the DLM in math and English
  • Students in grades 5, 8, and 11 must also be administered the DLM in science

DLM measures student proficiency on the Essential Elements for English Language Arts, Math, and Science. EEs are the state-adopted alternate standards linked with the Common Core State Standards and Next Generation Science Standards, although at less-complex skill levels. Please visit the state content standards page to view all EEs for all DLM assessed subjects.

All students who complete in the DLM receive a scale score and a corresponding performance level in each subject in which they test. Below are the state-adopted performance-level descriptors for each content area. These descriptors provide educators and families with an idea of the knowledge, skills, and abilities a student has demonstrated on the assessment.

DLM Fact Sheet

DLM Fact Sheet (Español)

KITE Educator Portal (Train/Enroll/Roster)

DLM Accessibility and Accommodation Manual



Page last updated April 10, 2024