Skip to Content

Language and Culture Division Staff

///Language and Culture Division Staff
Language and Culture Division Staff 2021-07-29T15:04:16-06:00
NamePhoneEmailTitleDuties
Valtierrez, Mayra(505) 231-1140Mayra.Valtierrez@state.nm.usDirectorLanguage and Culture Policy;
Indian Education Division Liaison;
Hispanic Education Advisory Liaison;
State Bilingual Advisory Liaison
Laine, Kirsi(505) 467-9985Kirsi.Laine@state.nm.usDeputy DirectorLCD operations; WIDA contact; identifying and serving English learners with disabilities
El-Atwani, Kadriye PhD(505) 412-4270Kadriye.El-Atwani@state.nm.usMulticultural Education SpecialistCulturally and Linguistically Responsive Instruction;
State Seal of Bilingualism-Biliteracy;
World Language Instruction
Jimenez, Leah(505) 570-7787Leah.Jimenez@state.nm.usProgram Management SpecialistGeneral Inquiries;
Fiscal Lead;
Title III Request for Reimbursement;
Data Management and Analysis;
Desktop Publishing
Hernandez, Melissa(505) 819-9621Melissa.Hernandez2@state.nm.usTitle III SpecialistTitle III supplemental funding including local plans, preapprovals and amendments
Block, Catalina(505) 819-9005Catalina.Block@state.nm.usBusiness Operations SpecialistClerical and administrative support
Valdez, Elena(505) 670-2608Elena.Valdez@state.nm.usHispanic Education SpecialistImplementing the Hispanic Education Act
VacantBMEP SpecialistImplementing effective Bilingual Multicultural Education Programs (BMEPs); technical assistance to districts and schools
VacantEnglish Learner SpecialistIdentifying, serving, and monitoring English Learners(ELs); technical assistance to EL Programs
Page last updated July 29, 2021