Skip to Content

Language and Culture Division Staff

///Language and Culture Division Staff
Language and Culture Division Staff 2023-01-12T06:56:26-07:00
NamePhoneEmailTitleDuties
Valtierrez, Mayra(505) 231-1140Mayra.Valtierrez@ped.nm.govDirectorLanguage and Culture Policy;
Indian Education Division Liaison;
Hispanic Education Advisory Liaison;
State Bilingual Advisory Liaison
Laine, Kirsi(505) 467-9985Kirsi.Laine@ped.nm.govDeputy DirectorLCD operations; WIDA contact; identifying and serving English learners with disabilities
El-Atwani, Kadriye PhD(505) 412-0248Kadriye.El-Atwani@ped.nm.govMulticultural Education SpecialistCulturally and Linguistically Responsive Instruction;
World Language Instruction
Jimenez, Leah(505) 570-7787Leah.Jimenez@ped.nm.govProgram Management SpecialistGeneral Inquiries;
Fiscal Lead;
Title III Request for Reimbursement;
Data Management and Analysis;
Desktop Publishing
Hernandez, Melissa(505) 819-9621Melissa.Hernandez2@ped.nm.govTitle III SpecialistTitle III supplemental funding including local plans, preapprovals and amendments
VacantBusiness Operations SpecialistClerical and administrative support
Valdez, Elena(505) 670-2608Elena.Valdez@ped.nm.govBilingual Seal SpecialistState Seal of Bilingualism-Biliteracy
Avila, Carlos(505) 470-6475Carlos.Avila@ped.nm.govBMEP SpecialistImplementing effective Bilingual Multicultural Education Programs (BMEPs); technical assistance to districts and schools
Vander Galien, Vanessa(505) 467-9874Vanessa.VanderGalien@ped.nm.govEnglish Learner SpecialistIdentifying, serving, and monitoring English Learners(ELs); technical assistance to EL Programs
Page last updated January 12, 2023