Skip to Content

Public Education Commission

//Public Education Commission
Public Education Commission 2018-02-12T14:02:35+00:00

Photo of PEC meeting location in Mabry Hall

Welcome to the New Mexico Public Education Commission!

The Public Education Commission consists of ten elected Commissioners to serve for staggered terms of four years as provided by law. Commission members are residents of the Public Education Commission district from which they are elected. The Commission is the authorizer for all state chartered charter schools in New Mexico.

Charter schools in New Mexico have the option to be authorized through the school district in which they are located or they may apply to be authorized by the Public Education Commission.  Currently there are 55 state chartered charter schools that have been authorized by the Commission.

Meet the commissioners!

2018 Public Education Commission Meeting Calendar

2017 Public Education Commission Meeting Calendar


Page last updated February 12, 2018