Skip to Content
PAEMST 2021-02-10T13:44:15-07:00


The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th-grade mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education. Since 1983, more than 4,100 teachers have been recognized for their contributions to mathematics and science education. Up to 108 teachers are recognized each year. Presidential Awardees receive a citation signed by the President of the United States, a trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities, and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

Congratulations to the recent State Finalists!

The New Mexico Public Education Department announced on December 4, 2020, four educators who were selected as PAEMST state finalists for New Mexico. State finalists represent outstanding teachers New Mexico has to offer and serve as both a model and an inspiration to students and fellow teachers.

Hope Cahill
Santa Fe Public Schools
K–6 Science

Jacqueline Cook
Albuquerque Public Schools
K–6 Mathematics (Computer Science)

Amanda Pacheco-Suazo
Albuquerque Public Schools
K–6 Science

Silvia Miranda
Clovis Municipal Schools
K–6 Mathematics

Congratulations to the recent National Awardees!

The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), with the National Science Foundation (NSF), announced on August 3, 2020, that more than 140 individuals and organizations were honored as national presidential awardees for their excellence in teaching or mentoring in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

New Mexico had two recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching:

Jessica Esquibel
Albuquerque Public Schools
7–12 Mathematics

Melody Hagaman
Las Cruces Public Schools
7–12 Science (Computer Science)

Call for Nominations

The PAEMST Awards honor mathematics, science, engineering, technology and computer science teachers.

This year’s cycle is open to Grade 7–12 educators. To NOMINATE OR APPLY, VISIT the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching website. 

Nominations close on March 1, 2021. Applications must be completed by April 1, 2021.

The National Science Foundation administers Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Office Hours

Join New Mexico’s State Coordinators of Mathematics and Science and past PAEMST winners on January 19th from 4:00–5:00pm for the first of many office hours on the following topics: learn about the PAEMST award and how to apply.

The state coordinators will be holding weekly office hours every Tuesday from 4:00–5:00 pm January 19th to March 16th to support applicants on completing the PAEMST application. For additional information please reach out to Shafiq Chaudhary for Mathematics at and Christy Krenek for Science at

Register for the Office Hours:

February 16 – Narrative Component Dimensions 1 and 2

February 23 – Narrative Component Dimensions 3 and 4

March 2 – Narrative Component Dimension 5 and Supplemental Materials

March 9 – Dimension 1–5 support and Application Submission

March 16 – Application Submission Process


For more information, contact:

Christy Krenek, Science PAEMST Coordinator at

Shafiq Chaudhary, Math PAEMST Coordinator at

Page last updated February 10, 2021