Skip to Content

Hispanic Education Advisory Council

Hispanic Education Advisory Council 2022-12-01T23:43:53-07:00
Apply to Serve on the HEAC

A. The “Hispanic education advisory council” is created as an advisory council to the secretary. The council shall advise the secretary on matters related to improving public school education for Hispanic students, increasing parent involvement and community engagement in the education of Hispanic students and increasing the number of Hispanic high school graduates who succeed in post-secondary academic, professional or vocational education.

B. The secretary shall appoint no more than twenty-three members to the council who are knowledgeable about and interested in the education of Hispanic students, including representatives of public schools; post-secondary education and teacher preparation programs; parents; Hispanic cultural, community and business organizations; other community and business organizations; and other interested persons. The secretary shall give due regard to geographic representation. Members shall serve at the pleasure of the secretary.

C. The council shall elect a chairperson and such other officers as it deems necessary.

D. The council shall meet as necessary, but at least twice each year.

E. The council shall advise the secretary on matters related to Hispanic education in New Mexico.

F. Members of the council shall not receive per diem and mileage or other compensation for their services.

22-23B-5.A.-F. NMSA 1978


HEAC Bylaws & Advisement Structure


Hispanic Advisory Council MemberEmail Address
Adam Garcia Amador, Ph.D (Chair)dragamador@gmail.com
Dr. Jennifer Gomez-Chavez (Co-Chair)jengomez@unm.edu
Gigette Nieto (Secretary)moniquent037@gmail.com
Abenicio E. Baldonadoabe@nmoga.org
Alisa Cooper de Uribealisa.NMTOY@gmail.com
Dr. Vanessa De Leondrvanessadeleon@educationlawdoctor.com
Diane Leondleon@questa.k12.nm.us
Rose Marie A. Lopezrlopez@lcps.net
Dr. Marlene Melendezmmelendez@burrell.edu
Hope Moraleshmorales@teachplus.org
Fred Montalvofmontalvo@lcps.net
Cindy Navacindy@transformeducationnm.org
Monica Nuñeznunezmoni33@gmail.com
Ivonne Orozcoorozco.ivonne91@gmail.com
Dr. Thomasinia Ortiz-Gallegosthomasinia.ortizgall@sfcc.edu
Julia Rivera-Tapiajulia.rivera-tapia@jpaultayloracademy.org
Gloria Ruizgloria87552@yahoo.com
Veronica M. Vigilmsveronicavigil@gmail.com

Hispanic Education Advisory Council Meetings 2022

Work SessionWork SessionWork SessionMeeting
Location: VirtualLocation: VirtualLocation: VirtualLocation: Virtual
Date: 10/8/22Date: 10/19/22Date: 11/5/22Meeting rescheduled, details coming soon.
Time: 10:00am – 12:00pmTime: 5:30PM – 7:30PMTime: 10:00AM – 12:00PM
Purpose: A work session to prepare advisement(s) and/or updates for the Secretary of Education.Purpose: A work session to prepare advisement(s) and/or updates for the Secretary of Education.Purpose: A work session to prepare advisement(s) and/or updates for the Secretary of Education.Purpose: To present advisement(s) and/or updates to Secretary of Education as required by statute.
AgendaAgendaAgendaAgenda
Public NoticePublic NoticePublic NoticePublic Notice
RegistrationRegistrationRegistrationRegistration

Minutes from work sessions and meetings

6/11/22 Minutes

Advisements

HEAC Advisement Package 2020-2021

HEAC Advisement Package 2017-2018

HEAC Advisement Package 2016-2017

HEAC Advisement Package 2015-2016

Page last updated December 1, 2022