Skip to Content

School Nurse (Pre K-12)

School Nurse (Pre K-12) 2021-06-07T15:21:05-06:00

A school nurse license authorizes a qualified individual to provide services defined in the New Mexico guidelines, regulations, and statutes governing nursing and school health, as well as local school district policy.

Initial License

  • $150 (non-refundable) fee; and
  • Initial Application via NMPED Online Licensure Portal; and
    • Associate School Nurse (701)
      • Official sealed transcripts with Associate’s degree conferred from a regionally accredited college or university or from an institution accredited by the National League of Nursing or a diploma program in nursing accredited by the National League of Nursing or compact license; and
      • A copy of a current RN license issued by the New Mexico Nursing Board.
    • Professional School Nurse (702)
      • Official sealed Transcripts with a Bachelor’s degree conferred from a regionally accredited college or university or from an institution accredited by the National League of Nursing; and
      • A copy of a current RN license issued by the New Mexico Nursing Board or compact license.
    • Supervisory School Nurse (703)
      • Official sealed transcripts with a Master’s degree conferred from a regionally accredited college or university or from an institution accredited by the National League of Nursing; and
      • A copy of a current RN license issued by the New Mexico Nursing Board or compact license.
  • Register for background/fingerprints for “Teacher Licensure”.

School Nurse NMAC Code

Renewal License

  • $120 (non-refundable) fee will be valid for a one year grace period for level 2 or 3 (from time of expiration). If the expiration date exceeds the grace period a $150.00 would apply; and
  • Renewal Application via NMPED Online Licensure Portal; and
  • Superintendent ‘s Recommendation for Continuing Licensure (Must be on School District Letterhead); and
  • A copy of a current RN license issued by the New Mexico Nursing Board or compact license.
    • Note: A School Nurse can renew after completing 160 days as an instructional service provider.
    • The Associate School Nurse and Professional School Nurse can only advance up to Level 2 (Level 3 does not exist).
    • If educator does not have additional valid licenses on file, then must register for background/fingerprints for “Teacher Licensure”.

Superintendent Recommendation form

School Nurse NMAC Code


Delay of application:

  • Your application is lacking supporting documents listed in the above check list.
  • If your license(s) has expired (and you do not have additional valid licenses on file), and your background was completed 24 months or more, you will need to complete a new background.

NM PED Correspondence with Educators:

  • Consultants correspond by email; please check your spam/junk folder.


NM PED Licensure Transcripts Information

  • Official Transcripts: Transcripts must be sealed and addressed to 300 Don Gaspar, Santa Fe, NM 87501 OR eScrips can be sent by the university(s) to the attention of NMPED at the following email address licensureunit@state.nm.us.
  • Official Foreign Transcripts Evaluations: Transcripts must be sealed and addressed to 300 Don Gaspar, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (we only accept mailed foreign transcripts evaluation).
    • All foreign transcripts need to have a course-by-course evaluation completed. Click Here for a list of evaluators who are members of the Foreign Transcript Evaluation Services (NCAES). The Public Education Department does not require nor recommend NACES listed service members be used. There is no “official” organization or regulatory body for foreign credential interpretation or evaluation methodology in the US. It is based on commonly-developed and agreed standards of good practice.

All fees submitted are non-refundable

 

 

Page last updated June 7, 2021