Skip to Content
Reading 2021-01-22T03:06:21-07:00

24- Licensure Code

All reading courses with RDG prefix, coursework for teaching of reading or any literacy courses that are reading methods coursework. This includes the teaching of writing.

Beginning Teacher Pathway 

Beginning teachers adding the endorsement to an initial license must satisfy the requirements for the license which include 24-36 semester hours in reading, and

Teacher with Existing License Pathway 

Teachers seeking to add the endorsement to an existing NM teaching license of any level can either:

  • Earn 24-36 semester hours of credit in reading (12 of the hours must be upper division credit if adding the endorsement to a secondary or pre k-12 specialty license); or
  • Pass the Content Knowledge Assessment (CKA) in Teaching Reading: K-12  from PRAXIS or
  • Be certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards in reading.


Printer Friendly Checklist

Page last updated January 22, 2021